Post by clizzio » Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:10 pm

Hello
I have searched the forums and found answers to how to change my domain name by going into both the config.php and admin/config.php files and changing the http & https . I have gone in and changed all the lines in both files to the new site name I want (someone originally created my store and named it "newsite"). But after I changed everything and open up the link for my opencart admin site, it brings up my web page instead.
I have tried for over a month now to get this to work...can anyone help me I am about to launch my new store but do not want the name "newsite"
PS...I am not well versed in "code language" so simple terms and instructions are best!!! :laugh:

Thanks
Cheryl

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 27, 2015 10:29 am

Post by rph » Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:38 pm

Edit the config file and update HTTP_CATALOG to the new site.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by clizzio » Sat Apr 04, 2015 12:15 am

I did change all of those....
I want to change the name "newsite" to "gokartsandgokartparts"

I changed it to that name in all the lines in both the config.php file and the admin/config.php file

When I try to go to my open cart site admin page it takes me to my regular webpage and in the address it still shows the old name "newsite"

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 27, 2015 10:29 am

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Apr 04, 2015 1:14 am

Do you possibly have anything in your .htaccess file, redirecting the URL?
Below, Sample admin config:
make sure LINKS/PATHS direct to the correct Server URL/Server-Path.

Code: Select all

// HTTP
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/admin/');
define('HTTP_CATALOG', 'http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/');
define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/image/');
// HTTPS
define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/admin/');
define('HTTPS_CATALOG', 'http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/');
define('HTTPS_IMAGE', 'http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/image/');
// DIR
define('DIR_APPLICATION', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/admin/');
define('DIR_SYSTEM', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/system/');
define('DIR_DATABASE', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/system/database/');
define('DIR_LANGUAGE', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/admin/language/');
define('DIR_TEMPLATE', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/admin/view/template/');
define('DIR_CONFIG', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/system/config/');
define('DIR_IMAGE', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/image/');
define('DIR_CACHE', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/system/cache/');
define('DIR_DOWNLOAD', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/download/');
define('DIR_LOGS', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/system/logs/');
define('DIR_CATALOG', '/home/jacob/server/www/bigmax/shop/catalog/');
Good Luck
Ernie

I don't use the Forum Mailer, to reach me, contact: jti@jacob.ch
-
Demoversions:
OpenCart LIGHT v.1.5.6.5 http://www.bigmax.ch/
OpenCart V-PRO v.1.5.6.5 http://www.ebikes.li/shop/
-
1'700+ FREE OC Extensions - from OC v.1.5.x up,
on the world's largest OC-related Github Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
-
Image


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by rph » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:25 am

What version of OpenCart are you using? Are you using multistore? Does System > Settings display the correct store URL? Did you make sure to purge your /system/cache/* files?

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests