Post by al3xandr1a » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:00 pm

Hello great people!

I have installed OC version 1.5.4.1 and Im having problem with the affiliate tracking code not working on the homepage URL.

For example:
http://website.com/index.php?route=comm ... 0101010101
- does NOT associate a sale to the affiliate :'(

However on a product page:
http://website.com/product-page?tracking=0101010101
- works, associates sale to the affiliate :-*

And, on information page:
http://website.com/information-page?tracking=0101010101
- works, associates sale to the affiliate :-*

What I have done to troubleshoot so far, but problem still persist:
- uninstalled modules/extensions
- uninstalled vqmod xml's
- checked the htaccess file for possible problem
- checked the index.php file for possible problem
- checked error logs

Have any ideas where the problem is coming from?
Last edited by al3xandr1a on Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:26 pm, edited 3 times in total.

~al3xandr1a
Newbie / Student


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:27 pm

Post by soundzgood-nz » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:13 pm

What r u tracking from the affiliate code?
Actual completed sales to a checkout success page or something else?

Simon

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:15 pm
Location - New Zealand

Post by al3xandr1a » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:15 pm

Hi Simon,
Basically as per the subject, tracking code does not work on Homepage URL.

~al3xandr1a
Newbie / Student


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:27 pm

Post by soundzgood-nz » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:20 pm

So my question ... why does it need to? If its just being used for sales wudnt u only need it to register on a checkout success page?

Anyway, hv u tried replacing the second ? with an & ?


Simon

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:15 pm
Location - New Zealand

Post by al3xandr1a » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:25 pm

Hi again Simon,

I wanted the affiliates to be able to promote the website using the home page URL, because it is going to be more straightforward and easier for marketing purposes. It works with my other opencart website with same version so im just implementing the same function for my affiliates.

And yes, I just mistyped and now corrected it with &, thank you.

So can you now point me to where I should look at to resolve my problem? Cheers..!

~al3xandr1a
Newbie / Student


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:27 pm

Post by soundzgood-nz » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:03 pm

So next question ... are you using seo urls and the homepage url isn't being rewritten?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:15 pm
Location - New Zealand
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests