Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:25 am

I've had a search for this, but not come up with anything.

I asked my host and the apache module mod-rewrite is enabled. My htaccess.txt is renamed to .htaccess

I enabled SEO URL and my products no longer appear, just a 404 error.

What am I doing wrong?

Sorry if this is an oft-asked question but I'm a bit stuck as to what I am doing wrong.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:32 am

are you using a subdirectory for your shop? like "shop" ?
edit the htaccess.txt file and change it to .htaccess and for
RewriteBase /
change to
RewriteBase /shop/

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:34 am

I was originally, but reinstalled the shop to operate straight from http://mydomain.com

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Wed Apr 21, 2010 5:31 am

did you rename the .htaccess.txt to .htaccess ?

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 5:46 am

I will double check but I think it is.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:40 pm

it appears as just .htaccess in my dreamweaver file list. no .txt at the end

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:40 pm

this is what is in that file:

# -FrontPage-

IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*

<Limit GET POST>
order deny,allow
deny from all
allow from all
</Limit>
<Limit PUT DELETE>
order deny,allow
deny from all
</Limit>

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:05 pm

that is not the htaccess.txt that came with opencart. You need to merge the 2 into a single .htaccess

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:10 pm

can i download opencart again and overwrite the file, whilst changing the name to .htaccess?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:50 pm

hmm, that's not going to work is it as I'd have to re-install everything.

can someone post what code should be in the .htaccess file?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:20 pm

Code: Select all

# 1.To use URL Alias you need to be running apache with mod_rewrite enabled. 

# 2. In your opencart directory rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess.

# For any support issues please visit: http://www.opencart.com

Options +FollowSymlinks

RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase / 
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)\?*$ index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:21 pm

thanks, I managed to find that.

I had to insert a # before the options symlink line.

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm

Post by Qphoria » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:35 pm

chriszammett wrote:hmm, that's not going to work is it as I'd have to re-install everything.

can someone post what code should be in the .htaccess file?
Why can't you just download the zip and open it and copy one file?

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by chriszammett » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:42 pm

Qphoria wrote:
chriszammett wrote:hmm, that's not going to work is it as I'd have to re-install everything.

can someone post what code should be in the .htaccess file?
Why can't you just download the zip and open it and copy one file?
I could actually see that file on it's own when I downloaded and unzipped (maybe because I'm on a mac?)

In any case, copied the code from elsewhere and included the # and it works fine now.

Thanks for those that helped!

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:17 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests