Post by clittlehales » Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:19 pm

Hello,

I have all seo keywords for all my pages and they all work fine. Done the 'use seo urls' and changed the .htaccess etc etc.
If you look at my website and choose an information page at the bottom, you will see in the address at the top, that the seo keyword will appear. However, the links on the menu 'training' - 'kit list' - 'photo gallery' and 't-shirts', they are all information pages that i have not got shown in the footer as i don't want them to act as information pages, and the seo keywords do not work for them and don't appear in the address at the top. Can anyone tell me how to make the keywords work for these pages?

Website: www.activemountaineering.co.uk

Thanks

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Post by pprmkr » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:17 pm

Make sure the controller building the links is using:

Code: Select all

$this->url->link('information/information', 'information_id=' . $result['information_id'])
And SEO Keyword is set for the pages.

If you hardcoded the menitems, replace :

Code: Select all

http://www.activemountaineering.co.uk/index.php?route=information/information&information_id=8
With:

Code: Select all

http://www.activemountaineering.co.uk/SEO_KEYWORD_FOR_PAGE
Where SEO_KEYWORD_FOR_PAGE is the actual keyword you entered.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:05 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by clittlehales » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:28 pm

Thanks for the reply.

In what file is that first piece of coding in? Or the route to the folder?

Cheers

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Post by pprmkr » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:31 pm

Probably in catalog/controller/common/header, because there the categories are read.
Perhaps you use an vQmod wich adds the other links to the menu?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:05 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by clittlehales » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:47 pm

Cheers.

The theme we have for our site allows us to create custom links for the menu.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Post by clittlehales » Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:52 pm

I cant seem to find the first piece of code you said. I see this, which is similar:

Code: Select all

$this->data['informations'][] = array(
        		'title' => $result['title'],
	    		'href'  => $this->url->link('information/information', 'information_id=' . $result['information_id'])

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Post by pprmkr » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:02 pm

clittlehales wrote:Cheers.

The theme we have for our site allows us to create custom links for the menu.
What values did you enter for the custom links?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:05 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by clittlehales » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:25 pm

I didn't have to enter any values; this is how we do the custom links.

Attachments

links.JPG

links.JPG (89.08 KiB) Viewed 630 times


New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Post by pprmkr » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:41 pm

I am sure you entered the url.

Edit url for example of Link1: Training
When value of url is:
Then change into SEO url and save.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:05 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by clittlehales » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:53 pm

Oh right yeah sorry, didn't know what you meant at first.

That's worked. Thank you very much for all your help! ;D ;D

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 6:03 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests