Post by opencartisalright » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:51 am

Here's a thorough guide on how to set up Multi-Store

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?t=27538

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 21, 2011 4:09 am

Post by craig100 » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:09 am

That's a great explanation mystifier, thank you.

One last thing, I can't see any way of providing a link that would be http://shop.greatours.com in the controller. All I seem to be able to do is create a link http://greattours.com/shop with the line:-

$this->data['shop'] = HTTP_SERVER . 'shop';

Then there is the .htaccess code to redirect the menu link of http://greattours/shop to http://greattours which is what I think you're saying. Or MUST I create the link in the form of http://shop.greattours.com. If so, how and what would be the .htaccess code?

Craig

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:50 pm

Post by craig100 » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:25 am

A quick try like this didn't work:(

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([^?]*) index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^greattours/shop$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://greattours/index.php?_route_=common/home [L,QSA]

It results in:-

Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /shop/ on this server.
Apache/2.2.16 (Ubuntu) Server at greattours Port 80

Any advice appreciated

Craig

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:50 pm

Post by Kengun » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:52 am

Sounds great, but there is just something I dont get: If you have two (or more) subdomains, i.e. tours.yourstore.com and merchandise.yourstore.com, I suppose you need to have a redirect file in those two "folders" on your site, right? - Because if you visit tours.yourstore.com there are no files in that "folder"; when all the files lies in the www.yourstore.com folder; and same goes for merchandise.yourstore.com. Or am I totally wrong here?

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:28 am
Location - Norway

Post by mystifier » Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:07 pm

Yes, you still haven't grasped it ;D

There is only one Opencart installation with no special files. You set each subdomain to point at the root folder.

When you create a New Store in Admin, it will create a new Settings (available from a store dropdown). All you need to do is set the subdomain as the store address in each relevant shop. That's it!

Throughout Admin now, for example, Categories, Products, Information, there will be an array of checkboxes for each store to allow you to specify which store(s) content should appear in.

Free v1.4.9 Extensions: Default Specials | Improved Search | Customer Activity Report | Customer Groups | Royal Mail With Handling | Improved Product Page | Random Products | Stock Report | All Products


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 18, 2010 5:15 pm

Post by craig100 » Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:30 am

The penny dropped and I've got it working:) Even managing to serve up differences from the controllers by using a check on the HTTP_HOST:-

If (stristr($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'],'shop') === false) {
$this->data['home'] = HTTP_SERVER . 'index.php?route=common/home';
} else {
$this->data['home'] = 'http://greattours';
}

It's working well locally;)

Thanks for your help and a that of a couple of others on this forum:)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:50 pm

Post by melinda4u » Sun Mar 20, 2011 12:21 am

I am after providing customers with free digital download instantly and another under payment.
Can I have both options within same store?
I tried but it seems that the option under settings for downloads goes once for the whole store.
What shall I do?

If i make another complete opencart databse then how do i link both?
I have no idea. am confused and tried many ways. no luck
pls help
thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:12 pm

Post by craig100 » Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:48 pm

I'm finding that the main and sub-stores share order histories. Have I missed something in the set up or is this "as designed"? Main store address like http://www.greattours.com, sub-store address like shop.greattours.com.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:50 pm

Post by Ljubo » Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:51 am

I was not successfull in setting up the multistore before, but now also.
Could it be the reason for the fact that I want to set up the stores on a subdomain levels?

For example, I have my web presentation at: www.web.com
My primary store is on address: primary.web.com (and is working like a charm)
my wanna be secondary store was planned to be on: secondary.web.com - but I can not set it up.

Is it obligatory for the main store to be on www.web.com, so that secondaries could be on sub domains?

thank you!

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:07 pm
Location - Serbia

Post by Daz1847 » Tue May 24, 2011 3:17 am

Ok
I have after some time figured out how to create a new store it all works as planned but for one thing I can only change the basic setting for the extra new store ie like with the system settings but can not do anything else with the new store like add products, Manufacturers, change store email, or any ather changes so basicly I have a main store that works great and another store that has no stock or anything?

Any help on how to switch between stores to fully edit them within the one admin area.

Thanks...

Unlimited Everything Hosting + Anytime Money Back Guarantee
Only£1.95pm - Limited Time Offer
- http://shortlink.info/?cda56b00


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:33 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests