Post by i2Paq » Sat Nov 24, 2012 3:02 am

JNeuhoff wrote:
ADD Creative wrote:I have updated my collection of fixes I have extracted from GitHub.

Replace the files in 1.5.4.1 with the ones attched. If any of the original files have been modified then the mods will need adding the the patched files. Any vQmods will also need testing.

Warning there may be mistakes in there or files I've missed so test before updating a live store.
Nice work. Would it be possible to create an OpenCart 1.5.4.1 fork on github with all your bugfixes? And maybe keep this bugfix release maintained by the community for a year or two?
I agree and I'm willing to pay for your work as I'm in no position to get this myself.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by Daniel » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:08 pm

don't worry guys i'm going to crack on with getting the next release. i'm going to have to disable some of the unfinished new features so i can get everything ready.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by aaron1988 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:37 pm

Cool Daniel, is there some new features coming in next release then :)

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:03 am

Post by JFOC » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:50 pm

Cool I am waiting for new release with new features

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 29, 2012 12:48 pm


Post by Daniel » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:56 pm

i started adding to many features. there was an auto updater, extension installer, etc..

I think it should be ok with just having product filters, updated category system, updated installer. can't remember what else. I think amazon payments and klarna but that depends if the company that's working on them can finish them before the next release.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by JFOC » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:30 pm

Daniel wrote:i started adding to many features. there was an auto updater, extension installer, etc..

I think it should be ok with just having product filters, updated category system, updated installer. can't remember what else. I think amazon payments and klarna but that depends if the company that's working on them can finish them before the next release.
yes that should be okay, fixing of every current bugs is more important for now

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 29, 2012 12:48 pm


Post by uNeverNo » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:37 pm

Cool, then we can say "please download the recommended stable version 1.5.5" on opencart's website like other open source project does :laugh:

Post in the forum yet no one's willing to help? Contact me for free opencart coding or configuration assistance. Reach me at uneverno1986#gmail.com(replace # with @). But no free extension development request. Sorry about that :( It could take a few days to make a complicated mod.

If you feel I have helped, a donation is optional and appreciated. Image


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:49 am

Post by aaron1988 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:00 am

Cool nice one Daniel looking forward to it

Aaron

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:03 am

Post by Calcite » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:50 am

@Daniel,

For many users I think the best update would be the auto updater ;) It would do more to promote OC than any other update. Most people baulk at doing an update, especially to a live store, so anything that can make updates easier would be great.

It's not about being lazy, but more about getting all of the bug fixes etc. without the complexity of github, and feeling confident that your store has the latest fixes/updates as they are rolled out.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:21 am

Post by JNeuhoff » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:21 pm

Calcite wrote: It's not about being lazy, but more about getting all of the bug fixes etc. without the complexity of github, and feeling confident that your store has the latest fixes/updates as they are rolled out.
I actually agree with your statement about GitHub. I tried several GitHub clients, and none does everything I need, GitHub is simply too user-unfriendly, compared to e.g. VCS. All I want is to quickly create a fork, do some changes, commit these and submit a pull-request. This should only take a few minutes, not so with GitHub.

MHC Web Design
Override Engine * Integrated VQMod * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * TrustPilot Reviews * Google Rich Snippets * Google Tag Manager * Export/Import Tool * Template Switcher PHP/Twig


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by Daniel » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:02 pm

github uses both the web interface and your client. i have foudn it quite good after a week of using it.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:32 pm

Daniel wrote:github uses both the web interface and your client. i have foudn it quite good after a week of using it.
Well, I finally got it working now, took me a few hours, I am using the Git Cola GUI client. I had to manually edit the remote "origin" in the hidden .git/config on my local machine to overcome access issues when using the Push actions.

The web interface works fine, but I was only able to edit 1 file at a time online, and then had to clone the whole lot to copy it on my local machine, too. Hence, I prefer a Git client, which keeps track of all the changes and has proper support for Push, Pull, Fetch, etc.

MHC Web Design
Override Engine * Integrated VQMod * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * TrustPilot Reviews * Google Rich Snippets * Google Tag Manager * Export/Import Tool * Template Switcher PHP/Twig


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by DSGI » Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:10 am

JNeuhoff wrote:Well, I finally got it working now, took me a few hours, I am using the Git Cola GUI client. I had to manually edit the remote "origin" in the hidden .git/config on my local machine to overcome access issues when using the Push actions.

The web interface works fine, but I was only able to edit 1 file at a time online, and then had to clone the whole lot to copy it on my local machine, too. Hence, I prefer a Git client, which keeps track of all the changes and has proper support for Push, Pull, Fetch, etc.
I also prefer a git client, I've never used Git Cola, but I have used - Source Tree (great free git client), Tower App, Github's native client (free and available on PC/Mac), as well as smart git... So I don't think Github is really complex when you use any of those clients they all make forking/branching/merging/pushing/pulling/etc. very easy with a single click.

In regards to an auto updater though, that would be great for 1.5.5!

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:28 pm

Post by Daniel » Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:47 pm

3 things left to finish.

1. all the bugs on github
2. add a better upgrade script.
3. i think i need to add a system so people can add extra fields. i never liked adding the tax_id and company_id fields in there. i think they should be in some separate system.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by JNeuhoff » Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:14 am

Daniel wrote: 3. i think i need to add a system so people can add extra fields. i never liked adding the tax_id and company_id fields in there. i think they should be in some separate system.
This can be quite tricky, as there are a lot of places where additional fields can go. For example, I have about 100 addons written (VQMod, or Override Engine), and most commonly additional fields were added to the DB tables product, product_description, category, category_description, option_value, product_option_value, to name just a few.

Normally I have code in the addons to check for the existence of additional DB fields, and to dynamically create them if not yet there, in e.g. the __construct method of an extended model class.

MHC Web Design
Override Engine * Integrated VQMod * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * TrustPilot Reviews * Google Rich Snippets * Google Tag Manager * Export/Import Tool * Template Switcher PHP/Twig


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by Daniel » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:20 am

the system will not all people to change the db structure.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by virgiltu » Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:49 am

I was really hoping that you guys will fix the database to for the products to have one full query and not 7 separate tables. even additional images could be group under one field just like the setting for modules are done. Same as attributes and categories. I don't understand y they were splint in the first place. you now have to query the db not once but 7 times to get something out of it. On a high traffic website this is a huge issue. I noticed this happen when my db was using more of the resources. I changed them myself for my site but disappointing to see that it was still not fixed in this release.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 28, 2010 9:55 pm

Post by dynamictemplate » Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:33 pm

Cool! Thanks for your works!

Professional OpenCart Themes and OpenCart Templates at Dynamic Template


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:52 pm


Post by ikhlief » Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:13 pm

Daniel in the new version will you fix returning items to stock in admin order editing?
Thanks man

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 24, 2010 9:15 pm

Post by Daniel » Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:59 pm

"will you fix returning items to stock in admin order editing?"

why is it broke? or is this a feature you want me to create for you instead of you paying some one to add it for you!

its not broke! you do it manually! you actually have to have the goods return to the store and inspect them. then you can add the product quantity.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests