Post by Purebeads » Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:35 pm

I haven't read through the entire thread to see if the Wish List feature has been discussed. Just in case the Wish List feature hasn't been written for version 1.5, I had some thoughts.

In lieu of a true Wish List feature, this would work for me: A checkbox for each item in the Cart that says "Save for future order" or "Purchase later". Any item checked would not be included in the current order, but would remain in the cart after checkout was completed. I've never seen anything like this, but it seems to me that it would be easier to program such a feature than to create a separate Wish List.

If you decide to go with a true Wish List, you'll need to provide a way to transfer items from the Wish List to the cart, and from the cart to the Wish List. Thus, each item will need a button, or will need a checkbox with a button at the top to transfer all checked items (in the same way that items are now deleted from the cart).

I'm not surprised that 1.5 isn't released yet. The changes seem to be enormous.

By the way, although I have had "Notify me when a reply is posted" checked, I haven't been receiving notifications.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:07 pm

Post by Daniel » Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:37 pm

alex1 wrote:
dbstr wrote:I'd still like to see the code ;-)
It was promised by the end of the month which is two more days... just give it a bit.
I think its going to be another week. I didn't remember that there are only 28 days in feb.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by opencartrulez » Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:13 pm

Hi Daniel,

Ive not been using opencart for long but I have to say having worked with many ecommerce platforms this is the very best I have seen and very well written and very easy to entirely customise frontend, thankyou so much for your hard work and for offering this as opensource.

The 1.5 alpha looks amazing with loads of great features.

I have a request I think would be useful, although im sure you are sick of hearing these and also the when's it released requests...

Regards SEO would you be so kind as to add in the ability to optionally override all auto generated page titles for products/cats and also add optional override to set the title/desc and keywords meta for information pages?

Sorry if you have already done this and I missed it in the alpha, ive not had a look for a while and I know it wil have changed considerably.

Hopefully this is something which will be easy to add? I think this could be massively beneficial or those who would go to the effort to do custom seo for each product, category and page. As you will know page ranking can still be very heavily infuenced by the page titles, so I think this is important.

No problem if you cannot or do not wish to i might have a go myself, but would rather have this in the core rather than hack yor code if possible.

Thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:51 pm

Post by philbydevil » Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:43 pm

Agreed, OpenCart is the bomb!
opencartrulez wrote:Regards SEO would you be so kind as to add in the ability to optionally override all auto generated page titles for products/cats and also add optional override to set the title/desc and keywords meta for information pages?
Two vQmods that might help you:
If you look at how these mods were done, it would be quite simple to change them slightly to do whatever you want with titles, keywords, meta descriptions, etc.

I do agree that it would be good to have these as standard, but they can (and have) been easily added.

I heart cmd-f, cmd-c, cmd-v, cmd-z + vQmod.
My favourite page...
v1.5.4.1


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:20 am

Post by opencartrulez » Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:48 pm

Thanks for the info and mods, looks like just what I need :)

I like the sounds of the virtual Q mod. Really innovative idea that from Q, might develop my next opencart site like that. I like the fact that no core files are altered.

I think that definately the additional fields for the extra meta should be there in the core, no harm in adding them that I can see apart from changing database structure (maybe this may break some extensions or core functions?) but i guess a lot will have changed anyway regards db structure in the new version.

Excited about the upcoming new release, opencart is by far the best cart out there, coded well, massively simple to customise and its default look is very nice and clean and professional (new template even cleaner, nice mega menu option btw), plus there is a great and helpful community, plus it just works, no hours spent debugging, or forums with unanswered replies, as a designer who does some dev work it is perfect for me. Love it!!

Kudos to the main devs and people contributing, this is some system.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:51 pm

Post by celadore » Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:09 am

So another week until 1.5?

I have recently discovered OpenCart and am excited about the upcoming release of 1.5.
I have already started using 1.4.9.3 and am making some changes to the database and templates for my project. I'm a little worried that 1.5 database will be different to the existing one as this appears to be a major overhaul of the system.

Should I continue to update product info into the database, or is worth waiting? (Have added 2 extra fields into the database for product descriptions)
What about templating? Is templating going to be the same as the current version, or is it going to be completely different?

Would be good to know so I don't waste time.
Thanks and keep up the amazing work Daniel et al.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:20 am

Post by Xsecrets » Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:48 pm

both templating and the db will be substantially different.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Daniel » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:04 pm

Xsecrets wrote:both templating and the db will be substantially different.
I have never said to anyone that the db will be substantially different. a few minor changes and a few new tables.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:12 pm

Daniel wrote:
Xsecrets wrote:both templating and the db will be substantially different.
I have never said to anyone that the db will be substantially different. a few minor changes and a few new tables.
you are moving to global options. I would call that a substantial change. Basically if you use product options there will be no easy way to move the data so yeah I'd call it substantial.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Daniel » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:57 pm

sorry! yes you are right thats going to be a pain to do.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by celadore » Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:50 pm

I have only introduced 1 extra field to the product_description table (so far).
It was fairly easy to hack the admin files to allow this to be edited in the back end.
I also was able to edit the catalog and template files to show the extra field on the product page.

I have to assume that this will be simple to do with 1.5 as well, as long as the original database tables are not altered as it will not interefere with new tables.
Although I am not sure what difference global options will have.

Hoping to see the 1.5 BETA soon to be able to figure it out as got a few hundred products to move over from my current ecommerce software.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:20 am

Post by Xsecrets » Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:49 am

celadore wrote:I have only introduced 1 extra field to the product_description table (so far).
It was fairly easy to hack the admin files to allow this to be edited in the back end.
I also was able to edit the catalog and template files to show the extra field on the product page.

I have to assume that this will be simple to do with 1.5 as well, as long as the original database tables are not altered as it will not interefere with new tables.
Although I am not sure what difference global options will have.

Hoping to see the 1.5 BETA soon to be able to figure it out as got a few hundred products to move over from my current ecommerce software.
The global options wouldn't affect your changes, however if you are using options on your products it will have severe consequences. Also the extra field you added will actually be easier in 1.5 as it has attributes which will essentially allow you to add new fields to the products without having to make any code changes at all.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by twiggy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:01 am

Guys I wouldn't get hung up on this so much and I certainly will not and highly encourage you to not use 1.5 for a live store for at least a few months after release until 1.5.2/1.5.3

But it is exciting waiting.

Q I'm guessing someone has changed the admin password, any chance you can change it back?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:43 am


Post by Chones » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:45 am

Q's response to that a few pages back was
disabled it because you monkeys keep deleting it all and putting up porn

http://scarletandjones.com/
http://sharpdressedman.co.uk/
http://coffincompany.co.uk/
http://horsesculptures.co.uk/
If I've helped you out, why not buy me a beer? http://craigmurray.me.uk


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location - London

Post by twiggy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:12 am

ooo sorry didn't read every page.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:43 am


Post by Johnathan » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:18 am

Those porn monkeys are always causing trouble...

Image
Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:08 am


Post by SapporoGuy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:32 pm

Well it is a cart and ...
porn sells :laugh:

930sc ... because it is fun!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:29 pm

Post by msmith » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:08 pm

Daniel wrote:sorry! yes you are right thats going to be a pain to do.
Daniel/Q, what many of us might want to know is:

Will all 1.5.X versions be compatible between them? In other words when you publish 1.5.0 Beta or RC or whatever the name of the first version's going to be, if I start setting it up (meaning templating it, uploading all the products, etc) will I be able to transfer this easily to the next 1.5.X versions?

I'm not in a great hurry to launch my sites, but I would like to start uploading the products, and if 1.4.9.X and 1.5.X will be so different I prefer setting up a buggy 1.5.X and update until it is a steady version, and then publish instead of setting up a 1.4.9.X version that doesn't totally fulfill my needs and will end up dying....

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:57 pm

Post by twiggy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:30 pm

msmith wrote:
Daniel wrote:sorry! yes you are right thats going to be a pain to do.
Daniel/Q, what many of us might want to know is:

Will all 1.5.X versions be compatible between them? In other words when you publish 1.5.0 Beta or RC or whatever the name of the first version's going to be, if I start setting it up (meaning templating it, uploading all the products, etc) will I be able to transfer this easily to the next 1.5.X versions?

I'm not in a great hurry to launch my sites, but I would like to start uploading the products, and if 1.4.9.X and 1.5.X will be so different I prefer setting up a buggy 1.5.X and update until it is a steady version, and then publish instead of setting up a 1.4.9.X version that doesn't totally fulfill my needs and will end up dying....
They are called Alpha and Beta for a reason ;) A whole host of things could change depending on feedback, they may place something in the Beta or do something a certain way only to find its not the best thing to do or best way to do it. I wouldn't use the first release for a live shop never mind a Beta version.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:43 am


Post by msmith » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:44 pm

I'm sorry if you misunderstood me... I wasn't speaking about a live shop, I was speaking about uploading articles into the DB and not being worried about having to though away my work from one 1.5.X version to another..... Anyway, when gmail was a Beta version I used it to send and receive e-mails, and those e-mails are still there when the Beta was removed...

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:57 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests