Post by Qphoria » Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:17 am

Daniel wrote:
marc_cole wrote:Sorry if I missed it, but does 1.5 allow us to have separate shipping calcs per store in a multi-store setup?

Marc
does it not do this already when you set different locations for each store?
Not with table rates like Flat rate or Weight based. Flat rate has a flat rate across all stores

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by marc_cole » Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:29 am

Daniel wrote:
marc_cole wrote:Sorry if I missed it, but does 1.5 allow us to have separate shipping calcs per store in a multi-store setup?
does it not do this already when you set different locations for each store?
I'm not sure, but if so, where do you put the different formulas?

OpenCart v1.4.9.4
VQMod | Categories Home | Cleaner By Default - 2 Column | Speak Good English


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:26 am
Location - Seattle, WA

Post by philbydevil » Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:02 am

marc_cole wrote:
Daniel wrote:
marc_cole wrote:Sorry if I missed it, but does 1.5 allow us to have separate shipping calcs per store in a multi-store setup?
does it not do this already when you set different locations for each store?
I'm not sure, but if so, where do you put the different formulas?
Yeah, in the shipping modules I use, they ask for my store/origin post code, but this can only be set once in each module (not per store).

I heart cmd-f, cmd-c, cmd-v, cmd-z + vQmod.
My favourite page...
v1.5.4.1


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:20 am

Post by alex1 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:43 am

Qphoria, please check your PM.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:49 am

Post by Daniel » Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:35 pm

what do people think of the template?

is it ok or should i start on a nother one? also is there any graphic designers that can improve the template possibly?

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by d_koev » Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:51 pm

Regarding the new template:

Is there any reason for the horizontal scrollbar in left and right modules?

Also it is good to think about the slider module. It looks strange like this. I think it should be full width above the home section.

I don't really like the product page layout. It is quite unordered now while there are so many options.

Anyway, there is no need to be perfect or many people (including me ;D ) would become jobless. ;)

Also, I think the default megamenu need a bit more styling.

I'll be pleased to help if you need some design assistance.

Уеб дизайн и SEO услуги от metaGraphics Design Studio
Check my ShopperLand Premium theme
Check my ModernStore Premium theme


New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:03 pm

Post by voodoo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:03 pm

Overall it's a great start. Many details to tweak though (styling the affiliate menu list, list/grid tabs to center in the products list, jqueryui tabs that could use another color scheme (BTW why do you use "handmade" tabs and then jqueryui tabs?), etc, too many to list). But I think it's OK enough, granted pros will make their own themes anyhow.

That is unless there is some *serious* designer amongst us willing to do some work. But is there? Or you could spend some money asking for some help. IMHO that would get the whole project to another level.

BTW did you get my PM asking if you needed some developers to help?

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:54 pm

Post by Daniel » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:09 pm

d_koev wrote:Is there any reason for the horizontal scrollbar in left and right modules?.
I'm not sure why thats there. it does not do it on my test server.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Daniel » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:11 pm

voodoo wrote:BTW did you get my PM asking if you needed some developers to help?
I only need graphic designers. i can do all the coding my self. quite a few more things have been finished now such as product comparrison.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by voodoo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:14 pm

Yeah well I meant not help for the 1.5, global help just like QPhoria is (unless I misunderstood, Qphoria is coding too isn't he?)

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:54 pm

Post by marc_cole » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:12 am

Daniel wrote:
d_koev wrote:Is there any reason for the horizontal scrollbar in left and right modules?.
I'm not sure why thats there. it does not do it on my test server.
I also see it on Safari 5.

Overall, I like the look, however unless there's a way to get 1,000 categories/subcategories to work well with a megamenu, I'll be replacing that on our store.

On the product page, I will also be replacing the orange background under the tabs — it stands out like a sore thumb with the rest of the layout. Also, when I click on the reviews tab, the entire layout shifts to the left about 4 pixels.

On the register page, I think you should take advantage of the width of the screen. The page is too long and there's a lot of blank space on the right that could be used for the address fields. Why not make it a 2 column layout like on the login page?

FYI, "voucher" is misspelled in the header links.

In the admin:
Please add the ability to have different calcs, like shipping, minimum fee, etc., for each store in a multi-store setup.

Also, please add a Shipping by Subtotal module with the ability to use percentages as well as fixed amounts.

I'd love to see the "Edit" links removed and the category name, product name, etc. used as the link instead. And as someone mentioned earlier, there's no need for an edit page on some choices with simple options. Just have a toggle switch on that admin page to choose.

I think the breadcrumb trail should include the name of the "area" you're in. Let's say I'm viewing the Modules pages. At present, the breadcrumb trail shows "Home :: Modules", however I think it should show "Home :: Extensions :: Modules".
Last edited by marc_cole on Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

OpenCart v1.4.9.4
VQMod | Categories Home | Cleaner By Default - 2 Column | Speak Good English


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:26 am
Location - Seattle, WA

Post by Daniel » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:40 am

the orange background will not hbe there on the release. i only put it in because Q tought it would be better if we used jquery UI for tabs.

its going to be removed.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:23 am

Daniel wrote:the orange background will not hbe there on the release. i only put it in because Q tought it would be better if we used jquery UI for tabs.

its going to be removed.
yeah it shouldn't be too hard to create a theme for jqueryui that fits in better.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Qphoria » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:21 am

Daniel wrote:the orange background will not hbe there on the release. i only put it in because Q tought it would be better if we used jquery UI for tabs.

its going to be removed.
Yea.. this was my idea.. but I agree.. it didn't turn out right.. at least not with the current theme. The other tabs look better IMO

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by RonA » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:14 am

You're off to great start with the design Daniel... I just checked it again and it's improved immensely since the first time I looked at it.

My two cents though...

THE PRODUCT PAGE... way too much valuable space wasted on the right side of the product image... The review, delivery and email a friend link could all be placed at the top right freeing up room below. The whole idea of tabs is to make it so the user doesn't have to scroll so I recommend bringing it up on the page a little bit.

Also... related products should not be hidden behind a tab. In fact, I'D LOVE TO SEE AN OPTION IN THE ADMIN PANEL WHERE WE CAN CHOOSE BETWEEN TABS AND REGULAR LAYOUT FOR EACH OF THESE SECTIONS.

If we move all the tabs over to the right (see image) we make room for some optional module advertising in the left hand column. (The white space doesn't look bad either.)

Image

PRODUCT THUMBNAILS should appear in the larger image box as the user hovers over them.

REVIEW STAR IMAGE should have a link to the open review tab.

THE SEARCH FUNCTION: Out of the box, all carts should have a search box with ajax search recommendations as the customer types. Customers love this feature and it results in more sales. I know there are mods out there that do this... but it really does belong in the core.

Overall though... very impressed and can't wait to get my hands on it!!!

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:11 pm

Post by alex1 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:55 am

the demo link is broken:

The connection has timed out
The server at unbannable.com is taking too long to respond.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:49 am

Post by Purebeads » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:33 am

There is one filter that I would like to see hard-coded in Admin, and that is the Enabled filter. When my store is fully stocked, there are 1200 items. Over the years, I expect the number of out-of-stock items to reach into the thousands. That means that I'll have to keep the Enabled filter constantly active in order to avoid seeing old stock. However, I often find myself opening the Products page from the drop-down menu, and when that happens, any filter I've selected is no longer active. Over the years, constantly selecting the Enabled filter will amount to a lot of work.

The solution to this would be hard-coded buttons. The Product page could open with only Enabled items showing, and there could be a Disabled button (and possibly also an All button) which would pull up the Disabled items. Or perhaps you could give us an option in settings that would make Enabled the default.

It just occurred to me that the default state can probably be set in the code. Can someone tell me how to do that in the current version, or should I start a new thread?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:07 pm

Post by Xsecrets » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:37 am

Purebeads wrote:There is one filter that I would like to see hard-coded in Admin, and that is the Enabled filter. When my store is fully stocked, there are 1200 items. Over the years, I expect the number of out-of-stock items to reach into the thousands. That means that I'll have to keep the Enabled filter constantly active in order to avoid seeing old stock. However, I often find myself opening the Products page from the drop-down menu, and when that happens, any filter I've selected is no longer active. Over the years, constantly selecting the Enabled filter will amount to a lot of work.

The solution to this would be hard-coded buttons. The Product page could open with only Enabled items showing, and there could be a Disabled button (and possibly also an All button) which would pull up the Disabled items. Or perhaps you could give us an option in settings that would make Enabled the default.

It just occurred to me that the default state can probably be set in the code. Can someone tell me how to do that in the current version, or should I start a new thread?
I would start a new thread for that, and I don't see any reason to put that in the core as your business model sounds like a very strange one. I can't see this being useful for many people.

OpenCart commercial mods and development http://spotonsolutions.net
Layered Navigation
Shipment Tracking
Vehicle Year/Make/Model Filter


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:51 am
Location - FL US

Post by Qphoria » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:56 am

alex1 wrote:the demo link is broken:

The connection has timed out
The server at unbannable.com is taking too long to respond.
Yea that host has gone sour on me..I'm moving to a new server atm

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Purebeads » Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:00 am

Xsecrets wrote:I would start a new thread for that, and I don't see any reason to put that in the core as your business model sounds like a very strange one. I can't see this being useful for many people.
I'll start a new thread, but I don't see anything unusual about my business. Products come and go, and after five or ten years of being in business, a typical merchant will have more out-of-stock items in his cart than in-stock items. If every time he opens his products page, he has to reload the page with the Status set to Enabled, that can be quite an annoyance.

I sell beads, and bead styles come and go. But let's say that you are selling cameras. A typical camera has a product life of 1-2 years, after which they replace it with a new model. So in five years, all of a camera merchant's current stock will be out of stock. Like me, I think that most merchants probably want to see just their current stock on the Products page in Admin. If they want to look at their old stock, they can select the Disabled filter.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:07 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests