Post by moshair » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:39 am

Hello,

I think the integrated Google Sitemap module in OC3 should be improved.

I tried it on an open-cart store with more than a 1100 product I got: 'Internal Server Error '. The most reason for that is exceeding the server memory or cpu. I tried it on the local server first I got memory insufficient error; I increased the memory limit in php.ini to 32MB to make it work. I found the module generates a copy of the product image with dimensions 500x500 in the image/cache folder. There is no shared server can do this with a large number or products.. I'm still thinking what to do. I might generate the images locally and upload them to the cache folder or modify the google_sitemap.php to use the product image url without resize. Any idea!!!

Also the site map should be divided into pages like in blogger because it has no query limit.

I noticed the sitemap only produce links for only the default language. I want sitemap for another languages I have. I'm sure there is no duplicate content, each link has a different content and different seo url.

Regards,

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:27 pm

Post by OSWorX » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:27 am

The map may have memory problems, but to be honest: wtf has a memory under 64MB?
Second: each product image is bigger than 500 x 500 px, so what you want to tell us?
Third: visit the OpenCart Marketplace > https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... /extension

I am sure you will fin (better) alternatives ..
There are also some with multi languages.

The rest of your ideas .. forget them.

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by moshair » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:24 am

Thanks for reply, but that didn't help. What if you have more than 10000 product and you run the sitemap for the first time even a vps server can't produce the new images there is max execution time. The module is in the script why searching for another module instead of facing the problems that might happen in real action and improve it to make opencart better.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:27 pm

Post by thekrotek » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:07 pm

Default Sitemap extension is completely stupid, indeed. I can recommend you my Smart Sitemap extension instead. It was successfully tested on site with 100K+ products with images. Should work fine on any number of products.

Professional OpenCart extensions, support and custom work.
Contact me via email or Skype by support@thekrotek.com


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:24 am


Post by letxobnav » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:23 pm

New cached images are only created if they do not yet exist or if the original is newer.

So yes, if your entire image cache is empty or you define unique dimensions for your sitemap images and you start the sitemap script it will create those images and you might run out of script time and get a 500 error.
Big deal, start the script again and again until all those images exist and it's fine.

Best is to use the same dimensions as for your product pages and then those images already exist and are not newly created.

Google sitemaps are there for google to read, by machines, so paging is not relevant here.

for multi language, simply use one sitemap per language, also helps with the timing issue.

Default sitemap works just fine, some people just want you to buy their stuff with unnecessary nonsense added to it.

Crystal Light Centrum Taiwan
“Data security is paramount at [...], and we are committed to protecting the privacy of anyone who is associated with our [...]. We’ve made a lot of improvements and will continue to make them.”
When you know your life savings are gone.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:35 pm
Location - Taiwan

Post by moshair » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:06 pm

thekrotek wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:07 pm
Default Sitemap extension is completely stupid, indeed. I can recommend you my Smart Sitemap extension instead. It was successfully tested on site with 100K+ products with images. Should work fine on any number of products.
Thank you.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:27 pm

Post by moshair » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:08 pm

letxobnav wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:23 pm
New cached images are only created if they do not yet exist or if the original is newer.

So yes, if your entire image cache is empty or you define unique dimensions for your sitemap images and you start the sitemap script it will create those images and you might run out of script time and get a 500 error.
Big deal, start the script again and again until all those images exist and it's fine.

Best is to use the same dimensions as for your product pages and then those images already exist and are not newly created.

Google sitemaps are there for google to read, by machines, so paging is not relevant here.

for multi language, simply use one sitemap per language, also helps with the timing issue.

Default sitemap works just fine, some people just want you to buy their stuff with unnecessary nonsense added to it.
I created the cached images on the localhost and uploaded them, that solved the problem of internal server error.

That is strange the sitemap module depends on the user interface language, I changed the language and visited the sitemap.xml and saved the generated sitemap and uploaded it as a file to the server. I think multi language open-cart should be improved.

Google supports sitemap index, the bot gives the site a specific time to read the sitemap if it is too big timeout will occur so for large products number it is a better to generate the sitemaps and compress them with gzip format and make sitemap index like this, I will test this later.

Code: Select all

<?php xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
	<sitemapindex xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">
		<sitemap>
			<lastmod>2019-8-13</lastmod>
			<loc>https://domain.com/sitemap.xml.gz</loc>
		</sitemap>	
	        <sitemap>
			<lastmod>2019-8-13</lastmod>
			<loc>https://domain.com/sitemap_fr.xml.gz</loc>
		</sitemap>
	</sitemapindex>

For multi page sitemap please look at this sitemap used in blogger:

Code: Select all

<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?>
<sitemapindex xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">
<sitemap><loc>https://domainname/sitemap.xml?page=1</loc></sitemap>
<sitemap><loc>https://domainname/sitemap.xml?page=2</loc></sitemap>
<sitemap><loc>https://domainname/sitemap.xml?page=3</loc></sitemap>
</sitemapindex>
This way is better than producing large sitemap, links are generated automatically according to blogs number.

Regards,

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:27 pm

Post by letxobnav » Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:41 am

the only problem with the default sitemap is that it lists the products twice.
Once on their own and once with the categories.

But since the canonical link for the product page has no category in it (which is correct) the sitemap product links with category included are duplicate nonsense and will unnecessarily bloat the sitemap as google will ignore those links anyway.

Crystal Light Centrum Taiwan
“Data security is paramount at [...], and we are committed to protecting the privacy of anyone who is associated with our [...]. We’ve made a lot of improvements and will continue to make them.”
When you know your life savings are gone.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:35 pm
Location - Taiwan
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests