Post by Len77 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:56 pm

Hello,

I'd like to ask whether you can help me please fix this problem below.

I can' access products and categories when I click on them from my home page.

I'm getting this message:
"The requested URL /Organic-Loose-Leaf-Teas was not found on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."


Thank you very much in advance for your kind help.

Regards,
Len

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:21 pm

Post by labeshops » Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:57 pm

The most common error that causes this is forgetting to add a trailing / at the end of your url in settings, so I would check that first. Make sure you have http://www.yourdomain.com/ and NOT http://www.yourdomain.com

Running Opencart v3.0.3.2 with multi-stores from https://www.labeshops.com which has links to all my stores.

Image


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:41 am
Location - Florida, USA

Post by fido-x » Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:55 pm

Have you renamed the .htaccess.txt file that came with your OpenCart package to .htaccess?

Do you have the same issue with SEO URLs turned off?

Image
Modules for OpenCart 2.3.0.2
Homepage Module [Free - since OpenCart 0.7.7]
Multistore Extensions
Store Manager Multi-Vendor/Multi-Store management tool

If you're not living on the edge ... you're taking up too much space!


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:09 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by Len77 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:44 pm

Hello,

In my admin settings I have URL as follows:
http://bioaorganic.com/
It's without the "www". May that be kept like that?

I checked for the .htaccess.txt in FTP. I have the file changed to .htaccess. In my admin it was set to "SEO URLS turned ON". I turned it off. Now the "404 not found error" isn't there anymore.
I'd like to ask whether I have to keep the settings this way, or I have to change the .htaccess file back to .htaccess.txt file? Also, I'd like to keep SEO URL on the site. Would you kindly recommend how I could keep the SEO URL and not have the 404 error if possible?

Thank you very much.

Regards,
Len

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:21 pm

Post by StormDesigner » Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:24 am

Before I go to far into monkeying around with this I'm hoping the forum can help. I'm hosting a client within a reseller shared environment on Bluehost (meh) and the SEO URL's aren't working. I verified with tech support that mod-rewrite is enabled. I also saw something on on a post for OC v1.5.x indicating updating code in the htaccess. file.

What I've done so far is
1. changed the setting in oc admin
2. changed the name of the ".htaccess.txt" to ".htaccess."

The cart is built in a subdirectory called "/tacklebox" as opposed to root, not sure if that plays a part.
My guess is that I need to make a modify to the .htaccess. file. Anyone know for sure?

StormDesigns, Inc. Website Design and Web Application Development - plus graphic design and print media.

www.StormDesigns.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:53 am


Post by OSWorX » Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:36 am

Hopefully NOT

Code: Select all

.htaccess.
Because it should be .htaccess only

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by StormDesigner » Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:24 am

Thanks OSXworx, that helped but now instead of a 404 error it is displaying the home page content of the root site without graphics or the css file linked? Wondering if there is something in the htaccess file (now correctly named as ".htaccess" which would more correctly route the page by seo-name to the ID#?
NEVERMIND!!I figured it out, went to .htaccess and edited line #31.

Code: Select all

Was: RewriteRule ^([^?]*) index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]
Changed to: RewriteRule ^([^?]*) SUBDIRECTORY/index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]
Just added "the sub-directory name" we're using ahead of the index.php so it knows where to look.
Like a charm! Thanks for info on renaming the file, I hope this helps some folks. Good luck.
While at it let's charge this for SEO "How come SEO URL Names aren't working in OpenCart 2.0?"

StormDesigns, Inc. Website Design and Web Application Development - plus graphic design and print media.

www.StormDesigns.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:53 am


Post by OSWorX » Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:17 pm

Instead of adding some subdirectories you should change the line above.
Standard is:

Code: Select all

RewriteBase /
So, if you shop is located in a subdirectory, this line should be:

Code: Select all

RewriteBase /subdirectory/
where subdirectory the name of your subdirectory is ..

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by StormDesigner » Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:54 pm

Interesting, so changing line #24 would also have fixed this also, how is that better than the modification to line #30?

StormDesigns, Inc. Website Design and Web Application Development - plus graphic design and print media.

www.StormDesigns.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:53 am


Post by OSWorX » Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:46 am

StormDesigner wrote:Interesting, so changing line #24 would also have fixed this also, how is that better than the modification to line #30?
Because that is the 'normal' way.
Do not forget, doing it that way, additional services rely on it.
Doing it your way, is not a good idea.
Fact.

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by StormDesigner » Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:42 am

OSWorX wrote: Do not forget, doing it that way, additional services rely on it.
Fact.
That's what I was thinking, my way worked in this context but there could be other areas where my way breaks but I wouldn't know until I got there. Thanks for the good Fact.
GREATLY appreciated.
:ok: Sometimes I prefer not to have to learn the hard way.
And now this (line 22) makes more sense to me:

Code: Select all

# If your opencart installation does not run on the main web folder make sure you folder it does run in ie. / becomes /shop/ 

:rtfm:

StormDesigns, Inc. Website Design and Web Application Development - plus graphic design and print media.

www.StormDesigns.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:53 am


Post by stevedurko » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:46 am

Hi,

I've the almost same issue, 404, access denied errors are increasing everyday. http://awesomescreenshot.com/0ce5ffdt82 can anyone help how to fix?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:58 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests