Page 1 of 1

OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:30 pm
by caver911
I lookthrough marketplace and see in many extensions description there is written that VQ mod is needed to be installed. So my question is, does the OC 2.3.0.2 have VQ mod as a standard installation? Or do I need to download it and install it.

Thanks for any reply....

Re: OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:51 pm
by thekrotek
Yes, you need to install either official VQMod or Integrated VQMod. I personally prefer the latter. It should have been added to core OpenCart long time ago.

Re: OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:37 pm
by paulfeakins
vQmod needs to be installed but essentially you just upload a folder and then browse to it.

But OpenCart does now come with OCMod which many extensions now use.

Re: OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:57 pm
by caver911
paulfeakins wrote:vQmod needs to be installed but essentially you just upload a folder and then browse to it.

But OpenCart does now come with OCMod which many extensions now use.
So should I install VQ mod just in case even though OCMod are standard with 2.3.0.2 version ( I assumue it is standard)?

Re: OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:11 pm
by thekrotek
caver911 wrote:So should I install VQ mod just in case even though OCMod are standard with 2.3.0.2 version ( I assumue it is standard)?
Yes, you do. There're lots of developers, who don't use OCMod at all. It supposed to be a standard, when OC 2.0 was first released, but very few people liked it. VQMod is still a standard, not OCMod, which is a weaker version of VQMod with slightly different syntax.

Re: OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:37 pm
by Johnathan
thekrotek wrote:Yes, you need to install either official VQMod or Integrated VQMod. I personally prefer the latter. It should have been added to core OpenCart long time ago.
I prefer the standard version. The "integrated" version loses some of the benefits of the standard vQmod, including keeping all cache files in a single directory (so it's easy to see at-a-glance which files are being modified). It's also not maintained by the actual vQmod developers, so any changes made to vQmod in the future would have a delay in being implemented.

Re: OC 2.3.0.2 does it have VQ mod as default?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:31 am
by thekrotek
Johnathan wrote:I prefer the standard version. The "integrated" version loses some of the benefits of the standard vQmod, including keeping all cache files in a single directory (so it's easy to see at-a-glance which files are being modified). It's also not maintained by the actual vQmod developers, so any changes made to vQmod in the future would have a delay in being implemented.
The biggest advantage of Integrated VQMod is static cache. Official VQMod caches files on every page load, which isn't very good in terms of loading speed. It's not a huge difference, but sill.

The rest is mostly a matter of taste. I don't like official VQMod file naming and having log files in different place is also not the best idea. But in the end it doesn't matter much :-)