Post by Selective555 » Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:19 am

Can I Post One Banner Without It Flashing?

I'm trying to post one banner on the front page of my shop, but it seems that all options to post banners are only set to multiple banners and so my banner won't stop flashing every 5 seconds.

Is there an option to post a banner without the flashing every 5 seconds?
Last edited by Selective555 on Sat Jan 03, 2015 10:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:29 pm

Post by Selective555 » Sun Dec 14, 2014 8:23 am

I used the html option, but I hate how the html option forces that big chunk of space between the category menu and the html section. The banner option was closer to the category menu. :(

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:29 pm

Post by Tobin » Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:13 am

Selective555 wrote:Can I Post One Banner Without It Flashing?

I'm trying to post one banner on the front page of my shop, but it seems that all options to post banners are only set to multiple banners and so my banner won't stop flashing every 5 seconds.

Is there an option to post a banner without the flashing every 5 seconds?


Is there a Solution to this as I am having the same issue .

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:38 am

Post by ManchesterGuy786 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:16 am

Try adding the same banner twice - so that the transition is onto itself.


Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:07 am

Post by Tobin » Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:58 am


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:38 am

Post by ManchesterGuy786 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:32 am

yes a quick fix it to add two of the same banners in the banner section and it should transition onto itself showing only a minimal fade.


Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:07 am

Post by onlinemarketer » Sat Jan 03, 2015 11:25 am

Have you tried adding the same banner twice so it transitions onto itself?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat May 14, 2011 8:21 pm

Post by Selective555 » Sat Jan 03, 2015 10:39 pm

Tobin wrote:
Selective555 wrote:Can I Post One Banner Without It Flashing?

I'm trying to post one banner on the front page of my shop, but it seems that all options to post banners are only set to multiple banners and so my banner won't stop flashing every 5 seconds.

Is there an option to post a banner without the flashing every 5 seconds?


Is there a Solution to this as I am having the same issue .
Sorry for not posting a follow up to this topic.

There is actually a solution.

You see, there are 3 timing sequences. The image itself (how long it sits on the page), and the fade out transition, and again for the fade in transition.

The flash is caused by the fade out and fade in times being preset. So by changing their times to "0", the flash will vanish, and then it doesn't matter if you only have one banner, as it will just repeat the single banner without a flash.

Here is the solution, get this Extension
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=124&t=135788
The Extension works for these three mods (Slideshow / Banners / Carousel)

Then once this Extension is installed and working,
Change both "Slide Speed" and "Pagination Speed" to "0"

Slide Speed = Transition Out
Pagination Speed = Transition In

Auto Play = The Time The Banner Sits On The Page Before Next Image

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:29 pm

Post by Tobin » Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:47 am

The solution to the Blinking Banner has had me going crazy for about a month . Here is the solution

In the banner Template File
catelog > view > theme > default > template > module > banner.tpl

search for

Code: Select all

transitionStyle: 'fade' 
and replace with

Code: Select all

transitionStyle: 'none'

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:38 am

Post by Selective555 » Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:24 am

Tobin wrote:The solution to the Blinking Banner has had me going crazy for about a month . Here is the solution

In the banner Template File
catelog > view > theme > default > template > module > banner.tpl

search for

Code: Select all

transitionStyle: 'fade' 
and replace with

Code: Select all

transitionStyle: 'none'
The only problem with that method, is it will happen with all banners that you create. If you want to create different banners, where some will and others won't, or even some that do it differently, then the extension I posted above is a better solution.

I created a MOD, take a look at it ---> Latest News/Messages Scroll Across Top Of Shop (MOD)


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:29 pm

Post by saleevent » Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:22 pm

This solves the issue with multiple banners vs 1 banner

Code: Select all

<div id="banner<?php echo $module; ?>" class="owl-carousel">
  <?php $bannercount=0; ?>
  <?php foreach ($banners as $banner) { ?>
  <div class="item">
    <?php if ($banner['link']) { ?>
    <?php 
    $bannercount++; 
    $bannertransition="fade";
    ?>
    <a href="<?php echo $banner['link']; ?>"><img src="<?php echo $banner['image']; ?>" alt="<?php echo $banner['title']; ?>" class="img-responsive" /></a>
    <?php } else { ?>
    <img src="<?php echo $banner['image']; ?>" alt="<?php echo $banner['title']; ?>" class="img-responsive" />
    <?php } ?>
  </div>
  <?php } ?>
</div>
<?php if ($bannercount > 1) {
	$bannertransition="fade";
    }else{
    $bannertransition="none";
    }
    ?>
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$('#banner<?php echo $module; ?>').owlCarousel({
	items: 6,
	autoPlay: 3000,
	singleItem: true,
	navigation: false,
	pagination: false,
	transitionStyle: '<?php echo $bannertransition; ?>'
});
--></script>

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:17 pm

Post by Aamu » Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:56 pm

Thanks, saleevent, for your effort. The code above stopped the flashing in a single banner. BUT now multiple banner changes the banner only once and stops to the second (and the last in my case) banner.

What should be coded differently, if I want those two banners to show properly continuously?

Thanks in advance!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:25 pm

Post by shedloads » Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:38 pm

Thanks for this, I used the slideshow with one image, and it didnt flash, but this is very useful and it works very well

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 03, 2014 3:10 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thekrotek and 18 guests