Post by tonyjandc » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:27 am

Hi folks
Im still fairly new to opencart so this may sound a daft question


My friend has opencart 1.5.1.3 and Ive built a few themes on 1.5.4.1

now if I upgrade his o.c to the latest what infomation is lost ..

I mean will he loose his images and product descriptions he has 15 pages worth and his database of sales ect..

I would dearly love to try out my theme but am worried info will be lost.

Ive searched around but there is no straight answer . I know vqmods installed may need updating so this isnt a problem its the back of house im worried about.

Can someoene please give a answer before this poor confused idiot (i say that because I may have overlooked something ) gets really confused.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:50 am

Post by webvet » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:58 pm

tonyjandc

Firstly don't worry - it isn't such a daft question!

The download comes with an upgrade.txt file that contains the instructions to follow to upgrade from versions much further back than v1.5.1.3 so you should be fine.

The main things to do:

1. MAKE A FULL BACKUP OF THE STORE
2. Follow the upgrade.txt instructions CAREFULLY and IN ORDER.

Once you have upgraded and checked everything is there,

3. Upgrade to the newest VqMOD (v2.1.7 I think) as this is required for v1.5.4.1

Think that has everything covered... GOOD LUCK

Genuine, Honest Opencart Support @ http://webvetservices.com


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 14, 2009 2:04 am
Location - Shropshire, UK

Post by tonyjandc » Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:45 am

just a heads up to say thankyou its such a simple question i couldnt get an answer to 8)

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:50 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests