Post by sb12759 » Fri May 25, 2012 4:53 am

I'm new to opencart and not a programmer so please bear with me.
I just started a new website. Installed (via simplescripts thru my webhost cpanel) the latest (a couple days ago - 1.5.2.1)
I haven't done much to the site yet, so I wanted to go ahead and do this update to make sure I can do it and to stay up to date! Some questions to clarify:

1 - When you post a new version (like 1.5.3) should I wait a while because there might be some bug issues or is it good to go?
2 - To make sure I understand the upgrade steps, I take the files out of the "upload" folder, remove "config.php" and "admin/config.php" and take those files and upload them to the main directory (that is the directory with the admin, catalog, download folders etc.). So it will be replacing what is there right? Will it ask if I want to replace the old files? - Then Browse to http://<yourstore.com>/install Replacing <yourstore.com> with your actual site then click on "upgrade" - - - Is this correct?
3 - Then I should delete the "install" folder?
4 - I have a folder called "installbak" showing up, should I delete this? (was that probably from my initial installation?)
5- This brings up a questions about images. I noticed that you would be overwritting images folder. I understand if you did a custom theme you would have another images folder, but if you use just the default theme and you have uploaded more product photos, don't those get lost? How do you deal with that?

Thanks

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri May 18, 2012 4:58 am

Post by bigchili » Fri May 25, 2012 5:03 am

sb12759 wrote:1 - When you post a new version (like 1.5.3) should I wait a while because there might be some bug issues or is it good to go?
There will always be bugs with new versions, but as the 1.5.x series matures there are less and less bugs in each new point release. I haven't really come across any bugs in 1.5.3 except a few VERY minor ones. Nothing that affects usability though.
sb12759 wrote:2 - To make sure I understand the upgrade steps, I take the files out of the "upload" folder, remove "config.php" and "admin/config.php" and take those files and upload them to the main directory (that is the directory with the admin, catalog, download folders etc.). So it will be replacing what is there right? Will it ask if I want to replace the old files? - Then Browse to http://<yourstore.com>/install Replacing <yourstore.com> with your actual site then click on "upgrade" - - - Is this correct?
That's the gist of it yeah. Upload everything except the config and admin/config.php files and then run the upgrade script. Make sure you do a backup of your database and files though before you upgrade, in the event your website spontaneously combusts.
sb12759 wrote:3 - Then I should delete the "install" folder?
Yes
sb12759 wrote:4 - I have a folder called "installbak" showing up, should I delete this? (was that probably from my initial installation?)
It's just a backup file. You can delete it.
sb12759 wrote:5- This brings up a questions about images. I noticed that you would be overwritting images folder. I understand if you did a custom theme you would have another images folder, but if you use just the default theme and you have uploaded more product photos, don't those get lost? How do you deal with that?
If you added images with their own file names then it won't delete them. It would only Overwrite them if the file names were the same. But if you want to feel safe just don't upload the image folder.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 16, 2012 3:00 am


Post by techhelp » Fri May 25, 2012 11:12 am

Have followed all steps however the upgrade does go ahead and reaches the front screen and admin screen however when you click on admin it reverts back to the install screen for upgrade. Backed up install folder then deleted and it then shows 404 not found. have deleted cache etc... I then uncompress back up of install folder and get the upgrade install back but not able to move past admin login as stated..

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:52 am

Post by affordable » Sun May 27, 2012 5:34 am

Hi,
I have same problem, upgrade complete no errors but unable to login to admin.

Thanks

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:53 pm
Location - Ireland
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests