Post by matt1982 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:25 am

Hi I was wanting to setup a multi-store setup on the same domain differentiating between the different stores by using the following:

www.example.com/en-us/
www.example.com/en-gb/
www.example.com/fr/
www.example.com/de/

I was reading this: http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot. ... sites.html
and it appeared to be the best way for what I am trying to achieve with my store.

I was wondering why opencart is unable to be setup like this as when I went into the admin to add another store I see this message:

"* Store URL:
Include the full URL to your store. Make sure to add '/' at the end. Example: http://www.yourdomain.com/path/
Don't use directories to create a new store. You should always point another domain or sub domain to your hosting."

Is there any way around this could I modify it so that it would work? Im not 100% sure why it makes a different if it is a different domain or dir as I have not looked at the code.

I am using the latest version of opencart 1.5..1.3 with no mods.

Any ideas would be really great. Thanks in advance.

Matthew

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:52 pm

Post by florinsith » Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:36 pm

You could create subdomains like this: fr.example.com, gb.example.com . But opencart allready is multilanguage, so why do you need multistore for different languages?

Image
My Extensions - SuperTheme - Opencart templates - Opencart modules


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri May 14, 2010 2:36 am


Post by matt1982 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:52 am

Hi florinsith thanks for the reply.

The reason why I wanted it to be done that way with the folders was for better geo targetting and SEO.

I know a lot of larger stores operate this way. I don't simply want to use the multi-language within one site and would prefer not to use subdomains if at all possible.

Can anyone explain why it can be done on a sub domain but not on a folder? As a sub-domain would be created within a different folder to the main surely it makes no difference if the folder is within the main domain? Could it be purely a htaccess issue?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:52 pm

Post by florinsith » Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:17 am

because when you make that subdomains , you point them to the same main folder , which is impossible if there are subfolders, and there is also the url problem. But you can set up multiple different stores in subfolders, you wont have the same admin , but I think they will still share the cart and others.

Image
My Extensions - SuperTheme - Opencart templates - Opencart modules


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri May 14, 2010 2:36 am


Post by matt1982 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:55 am

I guess that makes sense I guess florinsith I understand more that really it just checks the domain to see what store is wanting to be loaded. I must have got it mixed up with another multi store cart where I thought you copied the catalog part of the site over to the new folder be it a domain, sub-domain or sub folder. Maybe that was Magento or some other cart software.

Would I then be correct in thinking that the current multi-store system needs to be on the same server to access the document root of the main site?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:52 pm

Post by matt1982 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:58 am

As a side note I would have also thought that if it were in sub-folders a single SSL could be used for the entire site.

It maybe worth me rolling up my sleeves :D

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:52 pm

Post by matt1982 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:18 am

Ok So I have had a quick play and created a folder on my server "de"

So i have example.com for the US in dollars and also example.com/de/ for the Deutsch in Euro.

I copied the config.php, index.php and also the catalog folder. I then updated the config.php changing the following settings to have "de" at the end:

HTTP_SERVER
HTTPS_SERVER
DIR_APPLICATION
DIR_LANGUAGE
DIR_TEMPLATE

I may need to change more or less not 100% yet.

I then went into the admin and added the new store with the example.com/de/ at the end. I also set the currency etc for the store here.

I cleared my cache and the two stores appear correctly. I had to assign a couple of products in the admin area for the "de" store but so far so good. I'm sure there is a stumbling block somewhere but as of yet i am yet to find it.

I will report further testing tomorrow when I am not as tired :D

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:52 pm

Post by JonathanR » Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:58 pm

Hi matt,

How is this going? I am setting up a cut-down version of OpenCart to be used basically as a search facility, with all the buying and pricing facilities etc etc removed.

I currently have my main domain http://www.example.co.uk which is a static website, and then there are links provided to the OpenCart search pages as http://www.example.co.uk/search1 and http://www.example.co.uk/search2.

I was going down the route of a fresh installation of OpenCart in each /search sub-folder, as well as separate databases, but then found the multi-store setting and looked further and then found your post.

The way you are looking at things seems to be suited perfectly to how I want things to work - one admin, one database, with products flagged to appear in search1, search2, search 3 etc etc.

One concern I have is how are you finding SEO with the OpenCart installation in sub-folders? Does Google still find everything OK across all sub-folders? Or perhaps sub-domains are the way to go.

As a side issue, I think many of these OS cart systems, of which I feel OpenCart is the best by some margin, that a trick is being missed in not making it easy for people to uninstall all shopping features in the back office ie: pricing, delivery, add to cart etc etc. but keeping everything searchable and viewable.

Be good to hear how you are finding things anyway, matt.

Jonathan

New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:34 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests