Post by Jean » Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:06 pm

Hello to all!

Trying the setup, I get the message: "Warning: allow_url_fopen needs to be enabled!"
I contacted my host, and they just answered: this function is disabled because of an important security fail of PHP.
Is there any other way to do the installation and use the program anyway?

Thanks on before for your help

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:00 pm

Post by Daniel » Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:01 pm

you need to get them to enable it.

they should have the hosting setup so you can modify settings.

fopen is not really a security it just depends on how you code your applications.

how do they expect to parse currency urls etc.. curl?

User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Jean » Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:12 am

That's just what I asked them and what they refuse to do; for security reasons....
If someone could convince them, here's the adress: support@netim.eu

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:00 pm

Post by phpuk » Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:17 am

The majority of problems encountered by OpenCart have to do with servers not being setup in a standard fashion.

The hosing providers seem intent on locking things down to such a degree that the hosting becomes less than useless.

Ask them to tell you what security issues this would cause and as in most cases they will not be able to give you a satisfactory answer simply because they don't know.

One hosting provider I dealt with in the past said he turned off anything he didn't understand or looked dodgy. What a way to run a business!

Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:57 am

Post by lillolollo » Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:59 am

Daniel many hosting service have this problem why you dont use fsockopen?

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 13, 2009 11:12 am

Post by Daniel » Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:10 am

good idea. i will add it to the next release.

User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by Calimo » Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:59 pm

ok ... its possible to use the next upgrade - can i "skip" this version 1.2.9 ??
Because "allow_url_fopen" will not be allow at my provider!

My Shop: Centro Benessere by Intègrèe


New member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 20, 2009 4:16 pm
Location - Italy, Chieti

Post by Calimo » Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:27 pm

curl would be most useful.
This is active by default, and most scripts with external access to parallel to curl.

My Shop: Centro Benessere by Intègrèe


New member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 20, 2009 4:16 pm
Location - Italy, Chieti

Post by Daniel » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:56 pm

curl is blocked just as much as fopen

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by madimar » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:44 pm

Hi guys, I'm moving an Opencart site (1.4.9.6) from one host to another one.
New host has allow_url_fopen set to off. Is this still a real requirement for OC?

Thanks in advance,

M

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
My last mods: Partita IVA e CF | Pro EU VAT Number | Sales Agents | Pricelist Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 24, 2009 6:27 pm


Post by Qphoria » Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:13 pm

Yes. any good host should have no problem with curl and allow_url_fopen to be enabled.

I hope someday, webhosts get some sort of standards. "GoPHP5" was a success... now we need "GoLearnHowtoBeAProperWebHostAndNotABunchOfMorons" to be in effect. Most online scripts spend at least 10% of support on webhost problems.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by madimar » Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:25 pm

Hi Q, thank you for your feedback. My host says they can change the setting but they disencourage it because there are risks of website defacement and there other safer ways to be used instead of url fopen in the code.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
My last mods: Partita IVA e CF | Pro EU VAT Number | Sales Agents | Pricelist Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 24, 2009 6:27 pm


Post by Qphoria » Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:00 am

madimar wrote:Hi Q, thank you for your feedback. My host says they can change the setting but they disencourage it because there are risks of website defacement and there other safer ways to be used instead of url fopen in the code.
Enable it and tell them to mind their own business :P

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests