Post by losttheplot » Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:00 am

Hi,

I'm new to opencart but not web applications or servers. I've just finished a long process of theming and kitting out two 1.5.6 shops with bespoke branding and lots of extensions etc. and was about to put them both live, when I noticed that the latest version of opencart is 1.5.6.3. I kinda assumed that opencart would either have a point-and-click upgrade manager, or that upgrade patch files would be issued as necessary, but from what I can see that is not the case. As my office 'pooter is a Mac (which will not do an automatic selective file replacement by drag-and-drop) I have had to painstakingly upload every extension file by hand for each shop.

Have i really got to do the same for each incremental update of opencart? Please tell me I haven't got to upload all the new files, then manually install every extension from scratch each time (plus my theme) ... please tell me I'm missing something ...PLEASE! :choke: :choke: :choke:

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:44 pm

Post by tacobandito » Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:30 am

You just need to upload the new OC version and go to your store's URL + /install... so yourstore.com/install. It'll handle it from there, shouldn't need to do any real work past that. Also, 1.5.6 to 1.5.6.3 are just non-security related bug fixes, so if you don't use OpenBay or PayPal Express, I don't think you need to upgrade. That said, I still would...you can read the changelog here.

[module] PayPal Pro w/Recurring Profiles FREE
[module] 1 Click "Amazon Style" Checkout w/PayPal Pro FREE
[module] Adjustable PayPal Pro Fee FREE
[module] Add Sample To Cart LITE FREE
The guide to fixing just about everything wrong with OpenCart FREE!
Add INFINITE SCROLL to your homepage for FREE!
Live update product price for FREE!
Dynamic generation of Opencart coupon, FREE!
Hire me


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:27 am
Location - Springfield, MA

Post by losttheplot » Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:56 am

Thanks for replying :) This is the bit I'm not ofay with. I have always assumed that one directory would simply override another (as on a Mac) but it seems that this is a basic misunderstanding that has stayed with me for many years! It seems from what you're saying that the contents of a directory will only replace a file of the same name no matter how deeply structured, not replace directories per se. Thanks - one learns something new every day!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:44 pm

Post by tacobandito » Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:34 am

Uploading the new version of OC will only replace the FILES that are identically named, it won't wipe out other stuff in the folder.

I'm not a mac user, so I have no idea if that's how it works on mac, but since mac is unix based just like linux is, I would have assumed it wouldn't work that way on mac either...

[module] PayPal Pro w/Recurring Profiles FREE
[module] 1 Click "Amazon Style" Checkout w/PayPal Pro FREE
[module] Adjustable PayPal Pro Fee FREE
[module] Add Sample To Cart LITE FREE
The guide to fixing just about everything wrong with OpenCart FREE!
Add INFINITE SCROLL to your homepage for FREE!
Live update product price for FREE!
Dynamic generation of Opencart coupon, FREE!
Hire me


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:27 am
Location - Springfield, MA

Post by losttheplot » Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:59 am

I've used Macs since the 80s and love them to bits (no pun intended) but alas this is one OS action that is a flaw IMHO. This is why, in all these years, I did not realise that my RHEL servers acted in any other way until now.

http://www.456bereastreet.com/archive/2 ... _mac_os_x/

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:44 pm

Post by TedTshirtGuy » Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:30 am

Relatively new to OC, but generally speaking know my way around the puter, cpanel, sites and such. To learn how to upgrade, I watched a couple of videos, read the read me files that comes with OC 1.5.6.3, and thought I uploaded correctly, but my site still shows 1.5.6.1 as installed. After the upload, I went to www.mysite/install and got a 404 error message, so obviously I am doing something wrong.

Following the instructions in the read me file and the videos, I unzipped the OC 1.5.6.3 file I downloaded, then trashed the config-dist.php files in the first folder and then in the admin folder inside that. That left all other folders/files except for those two. By the way, the read me file says to not upload the two "config.php" files. The files I saw and trashed are actually titles "config-dist.php". That mismatch of terms sort of makes a OC newbie wonder if he is missing something.

Anyway, I then uploaded all the contents of the upload folder, minus the two mentioned .php folders, via an FTP client to my root holding my OC installation. In admin, the site is still showing as 1.5.6.1. I did then go to my site.com/install, but that is when I got the 404 error. Should I have rezipped the upload file after I removed the two .php files and then uploaded the zip file instead of the contents? Thanks for any help.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:09 am

Post by TedTshirtGuy » Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:34 am

I see a couple of typos in the post I just made. I went to http://mysite.com/install after the upload. Of course, I used the actual name of my site, not the word "my site". Thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:09 am

Post by rph » Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:15 am

It's likely you the files weren't uploaded to the right location. If your site structure looks like:

/admin
/catalog
/download
/image
/system
/upload

or:

/admin
/bin
/catalog
/download
/etc
/logs
/image
/public_ftp
/public_html
/system

the upload wasn't completed properly. When you upload the files you should get a warning about overwriting them.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:40 am

tacobandito wrote:g the new version of OC will only replace the FILES that are identically named, it won't wipe out other stuff in the folder.
Exactly this is the problem, if someone has modified standard source, it may well be overwritten by the new default file. And this would be, at least in my case, possibly ruin a lot of work. Still, I downloaded some update files for the v1.5.6.3 to my OSv1.7/OCv1.5.6.1 and installed them, so far, eveything runs smoothly.

There is still a discussion regarding the Malfunction of the Standard PayPal Routine, unfortunately, I found nothing on Github about this problem...

Ernie

I don't use Forum Mail, to reach me, contact: jti@jacob.ch
-
Server Q & A Basic Information on Code + Settings
http://www.everyauction.info/serverinfo.html
Demoversion OpenCart LIGHT v.1.5.6.5
http://www.jti.li/shop/
1'400+ FREE OC Extensions - from OC v.1.5.x up,
on the world's largest OC-related Github Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
-
Image


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by rph » Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:46 am

Open an issue with the technical details or make a pull request with the fix.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:01 am

seems to be in Discussion for some time, I cannot judge, since I have not yet tested PP in any form available.
dfumagalli is shouting about it, so, I guess there must be a problem.

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 40#p490699

Ernie

I don't use Forum Mail, to reach me, contact: jti@jacob.ch
-
Server Q & A Basic Information on Code + Settings
http://www.everyauction.info/serverinfo.html
Demoversion OpenCart LIGHT v.1.5.6.5
http://www.jti.li/shop/
1'400+ FREE OC Extensions - from OC v.1.5.x up,
on the world's largest OC-related Github Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
-
Image


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by rph » Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:37 am

There are false reports about bugs all the time. There might be some edge case where there's an issue with PayPal but it's unlikely the most popular payment method for OpenCart has been fundamentally broken for years and no one noticed.

Bugs need concrete details in order to be addressed. Otherwise you can waste hours on a programming snipe hunt.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests