Post by the dude » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:15 pm

Hello guys

For a week now i'm using opencart and it's realy nice.
Now here's my problem ... i installed Opencart 1.5.4 - because of language.
Installed some addons for the store ... but as i went deeper to Opencart i noticed something ...
SEO URLs ... the problem is i can't change it.
For example - i have renamed htcacsess.txt to .htcacsess as it said in manual and changed in server for SEO links.
I have 4 categorys and turdload of products written ... i forgot to put in SEO name in each one of them before, now when i try to change it - in category or product - it gives me error 404. Is there any way to change SEO without rewriting the categories and products?
PS: i installed auto SEO vqmod - too late i guess

Tnx for the help
Last edited by the dude on Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Post by the dude » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:49 pm

Anyone?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Post by the dude » Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:12 pm

Rly still nobody??!!

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:13 pm

just to give you some feedback, this place seems, at least partially, to run on low fuel...

Generally spoken:

installing a .htaccess (not .htcacsess) File on your Server does not mean that everything works as planned, depending on your Hoster's Server-Setup, it may not even work or then it will have rather unpleasant effects. It can easy take your Site off Air, make it even unreachable for you by http and/or ftp...

Some Hosters will limit OPTIONS/CHANGES done by .htaccess in order to prevent damage to their servers, because a .htaccess file is a very POTENT thing, so they make sure not all possibilities given trough the use of .HTACCESS are allowed to be changed by a Customer.

Also, first, make sure to contact your Hoster and let him check if your .htaccess file complies with the Standard used and all References given by the File are accepted and >translated< by the Server. Then, you may go deeper into details.

Further, not all server are equal, some commands will just be ignored, but if written a little differently, they are handled the correct way.

I am not an english person, therefore, excuse my way of trying to interprete this into a foreign language.

Ernie

PS. MAKE SURE to upload the File as ASCII File, NOT not in Binary Mode, or it will not function!

ipc.li/cart/

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
4'900 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by labeshops » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:49 pm

Did you remember to enable seo urls in settings?

Also make sure all categories, products, etc have the seo url field filled in properly with dashes-between-key-words or underlines_between_keywords and no spaces.

AND make sure your hosts have apache rewrite enabled.

Running Opencart v3.0.3.2 with multi-stores and the default template from https://www.labeshops.com which has links to all my stores.


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:41 am
Location - Florida, USA

Post by the dude » Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:45 pm

Tnx for the answers.

@ IP_CAM - i wrote .htcacsess wrong sorry :D. The host provider has given me fulll control of the site i can do everything i want. Read/write/delete/rename al all enabled.
Is it posible because the opncart is in subfolder?

@labeshops - Yup i have checked that but i was to late bacuse i frist made categories and a couple of articles and after a day or so i rebembered to put SEO on ... the problem was when i started to fill in the SEO word in categorie or article it would gave me error 404 - not found .... The SEO function is still enabled in opencart setings.

Is there any way to enable SEO without to write the whole categories and articles?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Post by labeshops » Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:58 am

You can enable it any time. Just any you don't have keywords set for will give you the 404 error I think.

Running Opencart v3.0.3.2 with multi-stores and the default template from https://www.labeshops.com which has links to all my stores.


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:41 am
Location - Florida, USA

Post by the dude » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:08 pm

labeshops wrote:You can enable it any time. Just any you don't have keywords set for will give you the 404 error I think.
It's enabled but as i put SEO word in categorie it gives me this 404 - Category not found
Or product linked to category 404 - Category not found ...

What to do now?

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Post by the dude » Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:57 pm

up :-\

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Post by inveostore.com » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:06 pm

IP_CAM wrote:PS. MAKE SURE to upload the File as ASCII File, NOT not in Binary Mode, or it will not function!
Hope you meant Binary mode. ASCII mode is always way to the hell.
the dude wrote:It's enabled but as i put SEO word in categorie it gives me this 404 - Category not found
Or product linked to category 404 - Category not found ...

What to do now?
Send us your store URL.

The Ultimate OpenCart SEO which brings your site up on Google (Magic SEO URLs for OpenCart thread).


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:48 am


Post by IP_CAM » Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:53 pm

inveostore.com wrote:Hope you meant Binary mode. ASCII mode is always way to the hell.
.htaccess / text files uploaded in binary mode? This is contrary to everything I have been learning and doing for the past 15+ Years. No offense...

Ernie

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
4'900 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by inveostore.com » Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:12 pm

Then you've been doing it for years terribly wrong man :) Only binary mode gives you guarantee that what you've uploaded equal to your local file. ASCII mode is deprecated and nowadays there is no reason for using it.

The Ultimate OpenCart SEO which brings your site up on Google (Magic SEO URLs for OpenCart thread).


New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:48 am


Post by IP_CAM » Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:59 am

inveostore.com wrote:Then you've been doing it for years terribly wrong man :) ....
well, I am talking about files beeing uploaded by some FTP-Client. Nothing else, I was not talking about prepacked stuff, beeing unzipped at the server. I open every file before uploading it, because there are some empty last lines in one out of 8 Pages opened. Then, I save them as ANSI as UTF-8 coded file, and load it up in ASCII Textformat. This is Programmers standard way of doing such things...

Beeing around Perl since the mid-90's, and writing some 100'000 lines of Code by hand, I guess I am aware what can happen if a file is uploaded in the wrong format, therefore, I know what I'm doing.

I agree, today's 'Web-Players' do not use 14 Years of Age old FTP Clients and other stuff, neither do they need to have the knowledge on how to set up the tools before using them, everything is implemented to function automatically in todays world. But I recall a lot of problems by fellows, then not setting their FTP-Clients to ASCII, because they did not know about, and all they needed, was that little info to make them use their tools the right way.

I even created a Page in order to let those guys know:

http://everyauction.info/serverinfo.html

I don't want to start an argument about it, it's just an explanation on how to correctly UPLOAD single files by FTP. And this has nothing to do with Perl Code, PHP is in NO WAY any different in that point. Any (VISIBLY) empty End-Lines should be avoided, invisible END OF LINE Coding is to be avoided!

Read about it, it's available at the Web!

Ernie
Last edited by IP_CAM on Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
4'900 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by victorj » Sun Apr 13, 2014 8:48 pm

the dude wrote:Tnx for the answers.

@ IP_CAM - i wrote .htcacsess wrong sorry :D. The host provider has given me fulll control of the site i can do everything i want. Read/write/delete/rename al all enabled.
Is it posible because the opncart is in subfolder?
there is your problem.
read .htaccess and you will see you will have to ad the subfolder in order to make seo urls work.

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
# If your opencart installation does not run on the main web folder make sure you folder it does run in ie. / becomes /shop/

next line is

RewriteBase /

here is where you set your folder name where oc lives

Koeltechnische deurrubbers eenvoudig online op maat bestellen.
Alle niet stekplichtige onderdelen zoals scharnieren, sloten, randverwarming en verlichting voor alle typen koelingen en vriezers.
https://koelcel-onderdelen.com


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:09 am
Location - Alkmaar Holland

Post by darkdrops » Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:02 pm

in file manager in cpanel its look like this!
the ones markt in red is your folders
for me it be like this in htaccess file: RewriteBase /home/darkdrop
very easy!!!!


/home/darkdrop
logs
public_html
ssl
tmp

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:13 pm

Post by the dude » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:35 pm

Phew it worked :D

Thank you a thousand times guys!

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests