Post by Khal » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:59 am

My checkout page has started to display two additional blocks. As shown on the screenshot below, the top two Account blocks should not be there. The Checkout and Cart page should begin where the Heading title Checkout is.

I have not made any changes to the Checkout layout or added any new modules, and it was working fine until a few days ago. It's very strange, I can see the extra code when I use Inspect element on Chrome, but when I check the Cart and Checkout templates, that code is not there. So I do not know where it is coming from or how to remove it. I would be very grateful if anyone has any suggestions about how to resolve this issue.
Thank you
OC 2.0.1.1

Attachments

Capture.JPG

Capture.JPG (37.76 KiB) Viewed 783 times

Last edited by Khal on Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 24, 2012 9:24 pm
Location - Teesside, UK

Post by straightlight » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:20 am

Revert back to the default theme and see if this issue can be replicated.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Khal » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:49 pm

Thanks for the reply.
I am already using the default theme. I have just removed some of the borders and made some other style changes to the css, but it is the default OC 2.0.1.1
My Checkout odule is a custom extension, so I did try reverting to the default Checkout module, but the same thing happens on that too.

I noticed that the same thing is happening for some other pages too: I have links on my homepage for two other extensions (a blog and Customer Reviews module). The same two Account blocks are showing on them too.

I tried to make changes to the layout of the Checkout page, using the Layout option. I tried to add modules, but they do not show on the Front End, so the layout is being over-ridden by something.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 24, 2012 9:24 pm
Location - Teesside, UK

Post by straightlight » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:39 pm

Default theme has been modified. Custom theme must be used.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Khal » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:44 pm

I'm sorry I don't understand?
Under my Settings, the default theme is selected. I only changed a few style elements in the stylesheet.css. All other templates are the default. How can I revert to the default theme?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 24, 2012 9:24 pm
Location - Teesside, UK

Post by straightlight » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:46 pm

Since you claim on already using the default theme on the first post, you cannot revert to something you are already using currently. Which is why, the default theme should never be modified but rather use a custom theme.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Khal » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:52 pm

Ok I see. Yes when I made changes I should have saved them as a new theme. But as they were only styling changes, eg removing borders, changing colours, I thought it was too much hassle to save as a new theme. But those changes were made 1-2 years ago and the site has been working fine since the changes. This issue has only just started happening a few days ago,

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 24, 2012 9:24 pm
Location - Teesside, UK

Post by straightlight » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:54 pm

Nevertheless, the default theme should never be used other than for switching / testing purposes.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Khal » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:57 pm

Oh ok, I didn't realize that. When I update to OC3 I'll remember that, thanks.
Any idea on why I have started to get this issue with the Checkout and some other pages displaying the extra code for the Account module?
Thanks
Last edited by Khal on Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 24, 2012 9:24 pm
Location - Teesside, UK

Post by straightlight » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:09 pm

Most of the time, it's based on an installed and untested extension.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.

F. Rules:

- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200480
- viewtopic.php?f=176&t=200804


Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests