Post by zzzzzz2 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:24 pm

hi all
opencart 2.1 www.themeatshack.shop

this has been working fine for nearly two years but i need to keep clearing down the error log.
i assume its just a warning but it doesnt seem to be doing any harm...
i would like to know how to switch it off or fix it... here is a snippet

any help would be welcome

george

2019-06-19 9:07:23 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: text_itemsno in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/catalog/view/theme/netbiz/template/common/cart.tpl on line 3
2019-06-19 9:07:23 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: text_itemstxt in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/catalog/view/theme/netbiz/template/common/cart.tpl on line 3
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: services in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/catalog/view/theme/netbiz/template/common/column_left.tpl on line 8
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: text_itemsno in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/catalog/view/theme/netbiz/template/common/cart.tpl on line 3
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: text_itemstxt in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/catalog/view/theme/netbiz/template/common/cart.tpl on line 3
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: icon in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_netbiz_template_common_header.tpl on line 21
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: google_analytics in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_netbiz_template_common_header.tpl on line 70
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: text_contact in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_netbiz_template_common_header.tpl on line 160
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: text_wishlistno in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_netbiz_template_common_header.tpl on line 165
Last edited by zzzzzz2 on Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by OSWorX » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:15 pm

Simply by adding these missing variables (text and others) where they belong.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by straightlight » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:44 pm

Caused by an installed VQMod extension.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by zzzzzz2 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:05 pm

thank you for your suggestions...

however...

since

the site is functioning correcly for users and my customer I am loathe to make any change which is even vaguely risky and

I am not the original developer, I know nothing about plugins which were installed by the previous developer who (a) has not documented his work nor (b) willing to share that with me (understandably in some respects) nor do I have sufficien knowledge to attempt to correctly reinstall the plugins nor have any php knowledge to know where to set variables or how to set them...

so sadly i was looking for perhaps a way of preventing these being rported in the error log.
maybe you cannot.

george

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by wrick0 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:10 pm

add this to your catalog/language/en-gb/en-gb.php

Code: Select all

$_['text_itemsno']              = 'itemsno';
$_['text_itemstxt']              = 'itemstxt';
$_['services']              = 'services';
$_['icon']              = 'icon';
and see if that gets rid of the warnings ?

you can change the text to your liking, its a hacky workaround if you just want to get rid of the warnings

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:00 pm
Location - 127.0.0.1 @ The Netherlands

Post by OSWorX » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:38 pm

And for others like google_analytics you could simply edit the controller.
It seems you are using some old files.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by zzzzzz2 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:08 pm

OSWorX wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:38 pm
And for others like google_analytics you could simply edit the controller.
It seems you are using some old files.
can you be more specific please... and how do you obtain newer files?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by OSWorX » Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:46 pm

zzzzzz2 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:08 pm
OSWorX wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:38 pm
And for others like google_analytics you could simply edit the controller.
It seems you are using some old files.
can you be more specific please... and how do you obtain newer files?
Do not know from where do you have the template.
The variable google_analytics exists since OpenCart 1.5.x - therefore really old.
But you have:
2019-06-19 9:07:30 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: google_analytics in /var/sites/t/themeatingjoint.shop/public_html/tmjb/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_netbiz_template_common_header.tpl on line 70
Which means this varibale/value is not defined inside the controller, but the template is trying to use it.

Why this variable is not defined in the controller - I do not know.
But it should be.
As written - edit the controller for this.

Newer files?
Was just an assumption.
The whole issue looks to me not very professional.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by zzzzzz2 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:29 pm

osworx

thank you for the clarification..

as i explained i took over the site from developers who made hardcode changes to core files as well as the template.... so its not ny template but i cannot change it nor use anothenr template ... it breaks their site... so im going t try the hack the previous poster let... see if it makes any difference on my test site....

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by OSWorX » Thu Jun 20, 2019 12:11 am

zzzzzz2 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:29 pm
.. so its not ny template but i cannot change it nor use anothenr template ..
Why can't you change it?
If you are not comfortable in editing files, hire some professional.
But this small tasks do not require any high paid pro.
No matter if it's yours or anothers template.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by zzzzzz2 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:22 am

it is not a small job - i already have had two teams seperately check it and comment that core files and the template files have been extensively hacked...

simple changes are having unexpected effects elsewhere... besides the customer has no budget for ANY change except if the site is broken.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by straightlight » Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:55 am

Which is why core files must never be modified in the first place.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by zzzzzz2 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:58 am

correct.... I may not have done much... but i have learnt what not to do!!

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by zzzzzz2 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:01 am

wrick0 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:10 pm
add this to your catalog/language/en-gb/en-gb.php

Code: Select all

$_['text_itemsno']              = 'itemsno';
$_['text_itemstxt']              = 'itemstxt';
$_['services']              = 'services';
$_['icon']              = 'icon';
and see if that gets rid of the warnings ?

you can change the text to your liking, its a hacky workaround if you just want to get rid of the warnings
... the language file is englishphp ... i added it at end of file but not made any difference i, afraid.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by OSWorX » Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:03 am

zzzzzz2 wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:22 am
it is not a small job - i already have had two teams seperately check it and comment that core files and the template files have been extensively hacked...

simple changes are having unexpected effects elsewhere... besides the customer has no budget for ANY change except if the site is broken.
Sorry, but this thread is about that few log entries.
And this IS a small job fixing them, maybe 7-12 minutes - not more.
If these two teams are not able to fix that few lousy entries, they are not worth the money!
Because they do not understand how OpenCart works.

And (!!) as straightlight already mentioned: never touch a core file!
If any of the forum readers here will ever meet a developer doing so, fire him as quick as possible!

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by OSWorX » Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:08 am

zzzzzz2 wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:01 am
... the language file is englishphp ... i added it at end of file but not made any difference i, afraid.
Have you edited admin or catalog file?
Nevertheless, I recommend to hire some of the real OpenCart pros here.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by zzzzzz2 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:42 am

OSWorX wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:08 am
zzzzzz2 wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:01 am
... the language file is englishphp ... i added it at end of file but not made any difference i, afraid.
Have you edited admin or catalog file?
Nevertheless, I recommend to hire some of the real OpenCart pros here.
i am working for free ... there is NO budget.... NO money ... hope you understand... no money to pay anybody...

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by straightlight » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:43 am

zzzzzz2 wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:42 am
OSWorX wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:08 am
zzzzzz2 wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:01 am
... the language file is englishphp ... i added it at end of file but not made any difference i, afraid.
Have you edited admin or catalog file?
Nevertheless, I recommend to hire some of the real OpenCart pros here.
i am working for free ... there is NO budget.... NO money ... hope you understand... no money to pay anybody...
If no investment are involved with your planning and support projects for your clients, then you should not consider to use an ECommerce platform to sale products and services online without a pre-determined budget to reach your goals. By using an ECommerce platform, product licensing are involved with service providers which means if you're able to spend your monthly charge via your service providers, then you are already not working for free at this point.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by xxvirusxx » Thu Jun 20, 2019 8:17 pm

zzzzzz2 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:24 pm
hi all
opencart 2.1 www.themeatshack.shop
Errors in another website themeatingjoint.shop

Upgrade Service | OC 2.3.0.2 PHP 8 | My Custom OC 3.0.3.8 | Buy me a beer


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:35 pm
Location - România

Post by zzzzzz2 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:52 pm

Straightlight
you are being pedantic but I will respond to your points...
the client had budget for development but business circumstances have changed (he has started a prison sentance.. ) his wife is running the business with heavy legal costs to deal with.
themeatingshack.shop is my test site for the business.
Yes there are costs which I have reminded her she will incur but there is absolutely no budget to pay for my time or a developers time or anything else.
I was loathe to describe this detail let alone any further detail, but I do feel an obligation to help as best as I can without incurring costs (they are fundamentally decent people) but I need to explain where I am with this project.

I do have a vested interest in using my experience with these guys to develop an enhanced product for a niche market ... but that will be at my cost.

hopefully that clarifies.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 86 guests