Post by zzzzzz2 » Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:44 am

i have googled and googled using different phrases looking at each detail and just dont get it...
book i read taks about a route ...
let me try and explain what i need to understand...
oc 2.3.0.2
is settings>store>general default layout the landing page which is used by the site?
look at the store i am working on http://mybutcher.shop/h
I cannot understand where the landing page i see bears any resemblance to the default layout i have done a screenshot of in the attachment while editing it...
for example i see no menu in the defult layout

can anyone please help me understand these...
i would really love using examples how something as simple as a menu of categories and products in the categories... as the landing page ... please please please help

george

Attachments

defaultlayout.PNG

defaultlayout.PNG (100.18 KiB) Viewed 680 times


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by grgr » Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:56 pm

Looking at your site, I would guess that the home page layout is actually controlled by the theme and in the admin you probably have a theme administration module/page.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:08 pm
Location - UK

Post by Johnathan » Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:31 pm

The layout you set in System > Settings for your default is the one that is used for any pages that do NOT have their own layout. If you're using a standard OpenCart installation, the "Home" layout is the one that controls the home page.

You can check which pages a layout controls by looking at the route that is assigned to it. "common/home" is the one for the home page, "product/product" is the one for the product page, etc. If you want to create a new layout for a particular page, look at its route on the front-end, and then add that route to an existing layout (or create a new layout).

Image
Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:08 am


Post by straightlight » Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:37 pm

To find more information about layouts, you can also visit your admin - > design - > layouts page. A whole list of routes are provided in order to associate your modules and layouts to their appropriate targets on your store.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by zzzzzz2 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:53 pm

thanks everyone... Im slowly grasping routes...
looking at my site the top or landing page using routes and url displayed looks like home
i have gone into admin design layouts and screengrabbed the home layout
a few questions:
colum left modal column ight top row all have account module
what does this mean? is it some data from account core data? how do you determine what data click on edit and you get simply the module....

if someone cn explain this one line i might begin to see the light...

also where do my top menus come from ??

any clues would help

thanks

george

Attachments

homelayout.PNG

homelayout.PNG (75.39 KiB) Viewed 610 times


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by straightlight » Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:33 pm


The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by zzzzzz2 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:16 am

Thanks for the links good video but only explains how to add modules to existing layouts..

My specific question above is trying to understand what data is used in each of the account module in the three positions on the home layout... It simply makes no sense...

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am

Post by Johnathan » Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:41 am

Those modules aren't actually added. The ones that are ACTUALLY added are the ones that have a red minus button next to them. I agree, it's confusing, but once you know that then it should make sense.

Image
Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:08 am


Post by zzzzzz2 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 1:50 am

ahhhhhhhhhhha...

thanks very much that makes SO MUCH more sense.... excellent... penny dropping rapidly...
presumably no red sign means position is left blank and of course the Account module is the first in the list....
getting there...

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:28 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests