Post by psytanium » Fri Jan 18, 2019 3:55 am

Hello,

I have an extension (Quick Update) when installed it overwrite the original product editing page in Admin, and another extension to export products to csv. Im not able to combine the 2 extensions on the same template.

Im using Opencart 2.3.0.2

I want to duplicate the product page, this way Ill have the export csv on 1 page, and Quick Update on another.

Step 1

I duplicated the file admin/conteroller/catalog/product.php

Changed its name to product1.php
Changed the class name to ControllerCatalogProduct1
Changed every catalog/product to catalog/product1

Step 2

I duplicated the file admin/language/en-gb/catalog/product.php

Changed its name to product1.php
I don't know if this is a necessary step

Step 3

I duplicated the file admin/model/catalog/product.php

Changed its name to product1.php
Changed the class name to ModelCatalogProduct1

Step 4

I duplicated the file admin/view/template/catalog/product.tpl

Changed its name to product1.tpl
Changed

From

var url = 'index.php?route=catalog/product&token=<?php echo $token; ?>';

To

var url = 'index.php?route=catalog/product1&token=<?php echo $token; ?>';

Step 5

Now I added the new product template to the left column menu and gave permission to the user group.

When I open the page, it's blank. Any help ? Thanks :)

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:07 am

Post by straightlight » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:30 pm

Rather than going through all these steps, better to create a new module file aside so not to modify product template files from the admin core. ;)

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by psytanium » Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:31 am

straightlight wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:30 pm
Rather than going through all these steps, better to create a new module file aside so not to modify product template files from the admin core. ;)
This is what I'm trying to do, i didn't modified the files in admin, but duplicate it. After I duplicate catalog/product controller and model and template. I have blank page.

is the procedure I'm doing fine ? Usually how do you duplicate / create new template.

Thanks :)

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:07 am

Post by DigitCart » Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:06 pm

Hi
in this file:
admin\controller\catalog\product1.php

Find all:

Code: Select all

model_catalog_product
Replace with:

Code: Select all

model_catalog_product1

My Extensions / DigitCart


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:32 pm


Post by psytanium » Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:24 pm

DigitCart wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:06 pm
Hi
in this file:
admin\controller\catalog\product1.php

Find all:

Code: Select all

model_catalog_product
Replace with:

Code: Select all

model_catalog_product1
It worked, but with some errors, now i can work around. Big thanks anyway, btw you thibnk I should duplicate product_form.tpl ?

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:07 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests