Post by wayneborean » Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:45 am

I've got an issue. I know it is something small - but right now I'm just not getting it. During the configuration I get to the third page. This is what it says:

DB Driver: MySQLi
Hostname: example.com
Username: sales
Password: **********
Database: sales
Prefix: example_

Username: admin
Password: password
E-Mail: sales@example.com

I'm an old line programmer - I always do everything in lower case, so that's not the issue. The database is set up. The users are set up for the database.

The way it looks to me, I've got one thing not quite right. I've tried changing the passwords, made a new database, and a bunch of other things. Nothing works.

I'm missing something, but I can't see what, so I thought I'd ask. Might as well pass the headache along after all...

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by i2Paq » Sun Oct 12, 2014 2:49 pm

Please post the exact error.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:47 am

I did, but here it is again:

Error: Could not connect to the database please make sure the database server, username and password is correct!

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by cwswebdesign » Mon Oct 13, 2014 6:45 am

wayneborean wrote:I did, but here it is again:

Error: Could not connect to the database please make sure the database server, username and password is correct!

Wayne
Your hostname is probably wrong. Try 'localhost'

This account is inactive. Look for us under the name 'EvolveWebHosting' and contact us under that username.

Thanks!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:26 am
Location - USA

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:52 am

Should have mentioned that I tried 'localhost', 'Localhost', and 'LOCALHOST' with the same response.

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by cwswebdesign » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:02 am

Your example doesn't give much information but if you're using cPanel, you'll need to have cpanelaccountname_dbname and cpanelaccountname_dbusername

This account is inactive. Look for us under the name 'EvolveWebHosting' and contact us under that username.

Thanks!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:26 am
Location - USA

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:10 am

example_sales
example_admin

Copied from what MySQLi told me to do. Unless I've fed them in wrong, which is possible. That's why I listed them in the original post, in case someone saw something that wasn't quite right.

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by cwswebdesign » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:54 am

wayneborean wrote:example_sales
example_admin

Copied from what MySQLi told me to do. Unless I've fed them in wrong, which is possible. That's why I listed them in the original post, in case someone saw something that wasn't quite right.

Wayne
Are you using cPanel or a different hosting control panel? I don't understand how you're trying to apply this 'example_sales' and 'example_admin' part.

This account is inactive. Look for us under the name 'EvolveWebHosting' and contact us under that username.

Thanks!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:26 am
Location - USA

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:02 am

CPanel. It turns example.com into example_ for a MySQLi database name, and you then add the account names on the end, in my case example_sales and example_admin for the admin account.

Note that I used example.com in the post because the website I am working on is not up as yet. That's waiting on my getting opencart running.

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by cwswebdesign » Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:54 am

wayneborean wrote:CPanel. It turns example.com into example_ for a MySQLi database name, and you then add the account names on the end, in my case example_sales and example_admin for the admin account.

Note that I used example.com in the post because the website I am working on is not up as yet. That's waiting on my getting opencart running.

Wayne
So.... you're not creating an 'admin account' in the DB connection file. You simply need to connect with the database name, database username and password to take care of this step. Admin account logins are then created and saved in the database.

Go back into your cPanel and grab the values under 'mysql databases' for this database name and username. Hopefully you remember this specific password or you'll have to reset it.

This account is inactive. Look for us under the name 'EvolveWebHosting' and contact us under that username.

Thanks!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:26 am
Location - USA

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 10:42 am

Database - authorca_db 0.00 MB
User - authorca_admin Delete User
User - authorca_sales Delete User

But I have that in the CPanel. Above is exactly what CPanel says is there.

Rather than using example.com, I'll give you the full thing, except the passwords :)

DB Driver: MySQLi
Hostname: authorcarloslanza.com
Username: authorca_sales
Password: ********
Database: authorca_db
Prefix: authorca_

Username: admin
Password: ********
E-Mail: wborean@gmail.com

Now it says the issue is in the 'database server, username and password' so obviously I've got something wrong, but I don't have a clue what. I've changed the password several times, and made sure that caps lock was not on. That didn't help. So I'm guessing that I've got either the User Name or the Database name wrong, but they match what is in CPanel.

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by cwswebdesign » Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:21 pm

2 things:

1) Hostname should be 'localhost' (all lower case)

2) Make sure you've added the user to the database within cPanel with full permissions.

This account is inactive. Look for us under the name 'EvolveWebHosting' and contact us under that username.

Thanks!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:26 am
Location - USA

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:30 pm

1) Hostname should be 'localhost' (all lower case)

2) Make sure you've added the user to the database within cPanel with full permissions.
Changed Hostname to 'localhost' all lower case, no change in error report.

Both users were added to the database through cPanel, with full permissions. I figured that if I didn't need full permissions, I could always change it before we went live.

I'm really getting puzzled with this. It has to be something simple, but I can't for the life of me work out what.

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by i2Paq » Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:43 pm

Delete the current db and username/password.

Create a new db and use/password.

Try NOT to use admin in your db name because for hackers that is obvious.

Do NOT use spaces in any of the names or passwords.

Do NOT use %&* in your names or passwords.

Use UPPER/lower or 12345 in combination in your names and passwords instead.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by wayneborean » Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:57 pm

Delete the current db and username/password.
Done.
Create a new db and use/password.
Done.
Try NOT to use admin in your db name because for hackers that is obvious.
Done.
Do NOT use spaces in any of the names or passwords.

Do NOT use %&* in your names or passwords.

Use UPPER/lower or 12345 in combination in your names and passwords instead.
Did that, came back with the same error code. This is just so wrong.

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by i2Paq » Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:39 pm

wayneborean wrote:
Did that, came back with the same error code. This is just so wrong.

Wayne
Contact your hoster, looks like an access issue.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by wayneborean » Tue Oct 14, 2014 3:27 am

For some reason WordPress runs fine, so I don't know that's the issue.

Problem is, I used the hosting site configuration script to install WordPress, and don't know the base settings. Didn't think I needed to, I've installed WordPress mechanically many times before.

I wanted to understand OpenCart as well. I've now installed it using the script, and I'm going to pray like hell it doesn't fail (of course I'm going to download all of the files, and see what it thinks it is doing!)

Thanks for all of the help. I'll dig through the config files, and post the answer here tomorrow, it may be of use for someone else.

Regards

Wayne

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:34 am

Post by kwton » Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:02 am

looks like you are doing it wrong, I think there is a "Mysql database wizard" > in Cpanle ? did you try to follow it ?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:52 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests