Post by OpenCustomer » Fri Jul 29, 2022 9:02 pm

I have a live OC2 website and now I am planning to upgrade it to OC3. Before doing that, I would like to have the new OC3 website installed as fresh to do all the necessary tests and also test the new extensions. My question is; since I have one hosting account, can I install the OC3 as a totally separate store where the live OC2 site resides? And how? I don't want to interfere with the live site at all.

Any help would be appreciated

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:43 am

Post by IP_CAM » Fri Jul 29, 2022 11:15 pm

You can install different OC Versions on the same Server in different Subdirectories, as long as you also use a separate Database for each Version.

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by OpenCustomer » Sat Jul 30, 2022 12:04 am

Thank you for your reply.

I was wondering if subdomain works different than subdirectory. Which is good in my case?

In subdirectory way, I need to create a new folder in public_html, then install the OC3 in there. Am I thinking right?

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:43 am

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Jul 30, 2022 4:20 am

In subdirectory way, I need to create a new folder in public_html, then install the OC3 in there. Am I thinking right?

Correct, if you run your existing Shop in the public_html ROOT Directory, just add a Subdirectory called like oc3/ and upload the OC-3 Software there.
You then also have to modify the OC-3 .HTACCESS File to:

Code: Select all

## SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On 
## If your opencart installation does not run on the main web folder,
## make sure you folder it does run in ie. / becomes /cart/ or /shop/ 
## it's now set to match the SubDirectory: /
RewriteBase /oc3/
to make it work as planed. Good Luck!

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by OpenCustomer » Sat Jul 30, 2022 6:59 pm

Upload is done but no OC-3 installation starts when I typed mysite.com/oc3 in the browser. "Page Not Found" error.

I created a new database and a new user. Connected the new user to the new database. Adjusted all user privileges as required.

By the way, both config files are empty.

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:43 am

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Jul 30, 2022 7:28 pm

........... both config files are empty
Well, you have to use the Install Function first, I assume ... :D
or then, write both config-files manually, to make it work.

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by OpenCustomer » Sat Jul 30, 2022 8:03 pm

Should the install function start automatically when I enter mysite.com/oc3 ? It won't

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:43 am

Post by halfhope » Sat Jul 30, 2022 8:33 pm

OpenCustomer wrote:
Sat Jul 30, 2022 8:03 pm
Should the install function start automatically when I enter mysite.com/oc3 ? It won't
Hi!

In .htaccess remove line that like rewriteCond !-d. It denies access to the /oc3/ folder.

My extensions in marketplace. [ security | flexibility | speedup ]


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:44 pm
Location - San Diego

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Jul 30, 2022 8:34 pm

Should the install function start automatically when I enter mysite.com/oc3 ?
Negative, you'll have to click the index.php file in the INSTALL Directory, I assume, to start the install routine.
Such can be done by calling the Install routine like:
http://yoursite.com/oc3/install/index.php

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by OpenCustomer » Sat Jul 30, 2022 9:57 pm

This is the htaccess. Any idea?

Code: Select all

 # 1.To use URL Alias you need to be running apache with mod_rewrite enabled.

# 2. In your opencart directory rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess.

# For any support issues please visit: http://www.opencart.com

Options +FollowSymlinks

# Prevent Directory listing
Options -Indexes

# Prevent Direct Access to files
<FilesMatch "(?i)((\.tpl|\.twig|\.ini|\.log|(?<!robots)\.txt))">
 Require all denied
## For apache 2.2 and older, replace "Require all denied" with these two lines :
# Order deny,allow
# Deny from all
</FilesMatch>

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
# If your opencart installation does not run on the main web folder make sure you folder it does run in ie. / becomes /shop/

RewriteBase /oc3/
RewriteRule ^sitemap.xml$ index.php?route=extension/feed/google_sitemap [L]
RewriteRule ^googlebase.xml$ index.php?route=extension/feed/google_base [L]
RewriteRule ^system/storage/(.*) index.php?route=error/not_found [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !.*\.(ico|gif|jpg|jpeg|png|js|css)
RewriteRule ^([^?]*) index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

### Additional Settings that may need to be enabled for some servers
### Uncomment the commands by removing the # sign in front of it.
### If you get an "Internal Server Error 500" after enabling any of the following settings, restore the # as this means your host doesn't allow that.

# 1. If your cart only allows you to add one item at a time, it is possible register_globals is on. This may work to disable it:
# php_flag register_globals off

# 2. If your cart has magic quotes enabled, This may work to disable it:
# php_flag magic_quotes_gpc Off

# 3. Set max upload file size. Most hosts will limit this and not allow it to be overridden but you can try
# php_value upload_max_filesize 999M

# 4. set max post size. uncomment this line if you have a lot of product options or are getting errors where forms are not saving all fields
# php_value post_max_size 999M

# 5. set max time script can take. uncomment this line if you have a lot of product options or are getting errors where forms are not saving all fields
# php_value max_execution_time 200

# 6. set max time for input to be recieved. Uncomment this line if you have a lot of product options or are getting errors where forms are not saving all fields
# php_value max_input_time 200

# 7. disable open_basedir limitations
# php_admin_value open_basedir none

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:43 am

Post by halfhope » Sat Jul 30, 2022 11:01 pm

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d

My extensions in marketplace. [ security | flexibility | speedup ]


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:44 pm
Location - San Diego

Post by OpenCustomer » Sat Jul 30, 2022 11:10 pm

halfhope wrote:
Sat Jul 30, 2022 11:01 pm
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
Thanks but it didn't help.

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:43 am

Post by halfhope » Sun Jul 31, 2022 1:53 am

You need to remove this line from the .htaccess of main site.

My extensions in marketplace. [ security | flexibility | speedup ]


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:44 pm
Location - San Diego
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 107 guests