Page 12 of 15

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:58 am
by rph
JNeuhoff wrote:
SelfMan wrote:What really bugs me is that this problem has already been fixed in march in github BUT the fix wasnt applied in the 1.5.5.1 branch. The code is too complex to hunt for such small bugfixes :-(
I think that the new 1.6.x version (or what ever it will be named) has so many enhancements, that it will be a very difficult upgrade process if you have customized modules.
(P.S.> sorry to be a bit off topic...)
This has been an ongoing problem with the OpenCart project, it's all about managing the source code repositories. There are probably a number of bugfixes which have not been back-ported from Opencart 2.0 to 1.5.5.1. Qphoria used to do something like this in the past, e.g. with the 1.4.9.x series of OpenCart, but I doubt any of the 1.5.x.x releases are 100% bugfree. I used to maintain a number of my own bugfixes in the form of VQmod XML files in past OpenCart releases. It would be nice if each new OpenCart release could be supported with security and bug fixes for a guaranteed amount of time, just as is done with e.g. Ubuntu Linux releases.
I agree. I have a 1.5.4 fork on github just for bug fixes at https://github.com/opencarthelp/opencart_stable. Unfortunately I never had time to start 1.5.5 and the official bug fix fork seems to have been dead for quite a while now.

There are a lot of talented developers in the community. Why not delegate out some of the low-level maintenance work to a group? The alternative is nothing being done at all.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:06 pm
by ADD Creative
I too maintain bug fixed versions for my own use for 1.5.2, 1.5.3 and 1.5.4. I've not had need to use 1.5.5 yet, but may have a project in the near future, so will likely being doing the same. Maybe we need come up with a 1.5.5.2 community version.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:29 am
by SelfMan
@JNeuhoff
+1 from me

R: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:57 pm
by madimar
Great idea!

M

Sent from my DesireHD.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:36 pm
by RadicalDad
JNeuhoff wrote:
tomsworkshop wrote:no font and font size for product edit ? ???
can't minimize after pressing the maximize button, i'm using firefox v19.0
Already fixed by Daniel, see https://github.com/opencart/opencart/issues/405
That link doesn't seem to relate to this problem. Even if it did, there is no indication of where the code exists that fixes the problem. As near as I can tell, the problem with failure to minimize (and then no way to save your work) is NOT FIXED.

Some store names improperly written to From field of emails.

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:35 am
by pjneese
Store names with HTML encoded characters are not properly decoded before email sends

If the Stores name is "J&J" it is stored in the DB as "J&J" and thus appears as such in the email from field.
It is decoded properly in other places hover.

affiliate.php, return.php, voucher.php, customer.php and forgotten.php are a few of the affected files.

Currently is:
$mail->setSender($this->config->get('config_name'));

Should be:
$mail->setSender(html_entity_decode($this->config->get('config_name')));

Thank you for your hard work.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 3:49 am
by hillfish
RadicalDad wrote:
JNeuhoff wrote:
tomsworkshop wrote:no font and font size for product edit ? ???
can't minimize after pressing the maximize button, i'm using firefox v19.0
Already fixed by Daniel, see https://github.com/opencart/opencart/issues/405
That link doesn't seem to relate to this problem. Even if it did, there is no indication of where the code exists that fixes the problem. As near as I can tell, the problem with failure to minimize (and then no way to save your work) is NOT FIXED.
Yup I agree - I found several 'patches' for this problem on the forum but they just make the entire description field vanish (ckeditor included !). So ... still no font size / colour / minimize - this bug is not solved at all. (1551 default black)

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:41 pm
by Daniel
it has been fixed because its working on my version. everything to fix it was committed. try ctrl f5 or empty your browsers cache

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:01 am
by SelfMan
I'll hep whenever I can.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:12 pm
by rph
The more the merrier! I'm finishing up the announcement now. I'll post a link here when the thread is up and we can move discussion there.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:14 pm
by i2Paq
rph wrote:The more the merrier! I'm finishing up the announcement now. I'll post a link here when the thread is up and we can move discussion there.
OK, can't wait to start!

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:49 pm
by bwingwing
rph wrote:The more the merrier! I'm finishing up the announcement now. I'll post a link here when the thread is up and we can move discussion there.
Thank you so much!! I am looking forward to starting time!! I just couldn't figure it out all the fixes in the GitHub in which the fixes are really for v1.5.5.1 or for master.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:36 am
by garuda
New bug filed, "OC1551 Filemanager hangs for first call on page", http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=161&t=104878.
Completely clean install of 1.5.5.1. Linux hosted. All directories 755 permissions.

Filemanager loads, then hangs up without any images listed - but only fails for the FIRST javascript call to "image_upload" on the page. Works just fine anywhere the javascript function to open the file manager is called after that on the page.

For example, it will fail on Catalog->Products->edit-product for the "Image" field on the Data tab, but works fine for all the additional images under the "Image" tab. Likewise, it fails on System->Settings->edit-store for the "Store Logo" field on the "Image" tab, but works fine for the Icon field right below it! Furthermore, it fails on all other admin pages for the first call to the "image_upload" javascript function (Catalog, Manufacturers, etc.).

This must be a 1.5.5 issue, because it does not exist on a clean install of 1.5.4.1 on the same server with same permissions.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:14 am
by butte
Good software takes time, the new one will be here when it's here. Meanwhile, many of us would probably be happy with both the Bentley and the Rolls versions of the already best.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 5:27 am
by TiaID
When I make an oder I get this in my error log:

Error: Table 'customer_ip_blacklist' doesn't exist<br />Error No: 1146<br />SELECT * FROM `customer_ip_blacklist` WHERE ip = 'MY IP' in /public_html/system/database/mysql.php on line 50

I have done a clean instal of 1.5.5.1 so it was no upgrade.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:44 pm
by ADD Creative
There is no reference to 'customer_ip_blacklist' in the 1.5.5.1 code. Try downloading again and make sure you extract to a clean directory and don't install any extensions.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 2:21 am
by TiaID
solved the issue with creating the exact same table as customer_ban_ip but then offcourse with the name customer_Ip_blacklist

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 2:57 am
by TiaID
Now I do get the error :

PHP Notice: Use of undefined constant HTTP_IMAGE - assumed 'HTTP_IMAGE' in /public_html/catalog/model/checkout/order.php on line 285

And the line is :

$template->data['logo'] = HTTP_IMAGE . $this->config->get('config_logo');

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:30 pm
by ADD Creative
That's not in 1.5.5.1 you seem to have a mix of files from different versions. Re-download and to a clean install.

Re: OpenCart 1.5.5 Bug Thread

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:47 am
by JeffroDH
Not sure if this is a bug or not: The behavior for the 'free shipping' option in the coupon code is a little strange. It simply removes the cost of any shipping option the customer chooses, so that the customer is able to choose a $30 shipping option on a $10 order and get it for free. Strange and undesirable behavior.

How it should work: When the 'free shipping' option is checked for a coupon code and the code is used, the Free Shipping module should be enabled so that the customer has the option to choose free shipping or to pay for an expedited shipping method. In a perfect world, there would also be an option to hide a particular shipping method (say USPS first-class package when you normally offer first-class, priority and expedited) so that the customer doesn't pay for the shipping method you were going to use for the 'free shipping' option anyhow.

Also, when I insert a coupon code with a 95% or 100% discount, it doesn't work. I've checked the dates and set uses to unlimited, and it just doesn't work. (Probably not too critical for production, but handy for testing.)

I'm brand new to OC, just migrated from osCommerce. Have to say, this environment has everything I wanted. Really impressed so far.