Post by Avvici » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:55 am

MarketInSG wrote:i2Paq has a point here. I will say go with redirecting to the product page, just like how options work. The customer will then see that there's a minimum order of xx amount. So he knows that he has to pick the right quantity.

Looking from daniel's point of view, he makes a point too. We won't know how many quantity the customer wants. There's many permutation to this. So I would say checking for minimum quantity OR forcing minimum quantity at the category page is a 'no good'. I will say i2Paq idea is better :D it solves both sides of a problem
Successful procedures are built upon many visions...and many ideas especially the general public and how to make it pliable for them. No, there isn't more than one point of view on this one. There is only one, and it's the people that actually have to use the shopping cart. It's not fair to ALLOW someone to shop around on 30 category.tpl pages, adding to cart "incorrectly and inaccurately if there is a minimum set" only to discover on product.tpl and/or cart.tpl that there is a minimum. It's counter intuitive..counter productive and a waste of time. I find this silly to even debate, or rebut.

User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:09 pm
Location - Asheville, NC

Post by i2Paq » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:50 pm

@Daniel, could we please come to an agreement on this. :)

Otherwise we, the shop owners that do not agree with the way it is currently set up, can work on an alternative to offer to users that want it to work like the Options does.

Thanks! :D

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by k2tec » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:39 pm

I changed the category.tpl so the buy now button is info button which redirect to the product.tpl, because I work with a lot of options

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:06 pm

Post by Avvici » Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:20 pm

k2tec wrote:I changed the category.tpl so the buy now button is info button which redirect to the product.tpl, because I work with a lot of options
This is only necessary if your options are not "required" otherwise the system already does that.

User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:09 pm
Location - Asheville, NC

Post by k2tec » Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:35 am

I have both and then the customer can the stock for each option

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:06 pm

Post by robster » Mon Aug 13, 2012 4:20 pm

@k2tec

Can you share the code you used to redirect to the product page please?

Thanks

robster

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by Daniel » Wed Aug 15, 2012 1:06 am

i will sort something tomorrow.

thinking of adding an attention message when they add to the cart with the minimum order qty listed.

OpenCart®
Project Owner & Developer.


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by i2Paq » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:47 pm

Daniel wrote:i will sort something tomorrow.

thinking of adding an attention message when they add to the cart with the minimum order qty listed.
I believe, like most people in this topic, it should work like the way options work; redirect to the product page and a warning message.

That would be the most beautiful solution.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by robster » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:10 pm

+1

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by k2tec » Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:57 am

Sorry for my late post
org. 1.5.2.1 round line 94 catalog\view\theme\default\template\product\category.tpl
this also in manufactor, feathered, bestseller, and special.tpl

Code: Select all

<input type="button" value="<?php echo $button_cart; ?>" onclick="addToCart('<?php echo $product['product_id']; ?>');" class="button" />
to

Code: Select all

<div class="cart"><a href="<?php echo $product['href']; ?>" class="button"> <?php echo $button_info; ?></a></div>

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:06 pm

Post by robster » Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:34 am

.... and I apologize for the delay in replying to your post but thanks for the code - I am happy that this sorts things out for me. Simple and straight forward. Working fine on 1.5.3.1 also for those of you who are curious.

I also added this code change to latest and search and to some addon modules I had installed - I made the button say 'View & Purchase' and all is good! :)

Rob

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by robster » Sat Aug 25, 2012 7:50 pm

Can I ask, is there going to be an official fix for this issue? I notice a suggestion to this effect from Daniel a few posts above and was hoping that 1.5.4.1 might address this issue but it still remains.

Thanks

robster

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by i2Paq » Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:00 pm

robster wrote:Can I ask, is there going to be an official fix for this issue? I notice a suggestion to this effect from Daniel a few posts above and was hoping that 1.5.4.1 might address this issue but it still remains.

Thanks

robster
Not that I'm aware of.

Norman in 't Veldt
Moderator OpenCart Forums

_________________ READ and Search BEFORE POSTING _________________

Our FREE search: Find your answer FAST!.

[How to] BTW + Verzend + betaal setup.


User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:00 pm
Location - Winkel - The Netherlands

Post by robster » Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:07 pm

@i2Paq

...so you can get on and do one now :)

robster

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by robster » Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:50 pm

As the comments in this post has confirmed this as a real issue, are we going to see an official fix for this please?

robster

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by pijio » Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:21 pm

Are there any updates on this issue. I run a wholesale cart, and it's a tedious task for my wholesale customers to have to go to each product's product page before they can 'add to cart'.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Amrit » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:59 pm

So... Will there be a fix on this?

I have a client that exclusively have 5-10 as minimum amount.
product.tpl is rarely used and is only for customers that want extra information or want to write a review.

This basically means I can't use category.tpl, which is a serious problem.

Is there any other temporary fix for this so it atleast can be used with OC 1.5.4.1?

Cheers
Amrit

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:33 pm

Post by robster » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:06 pm

ditto

I know my place...!


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:08 pm
Location - North Yorkshire, UK

Post by raymanj » Fri May 09, 2014 8:24 am

I was reviewing this flaw since one of our customers complained. Mentioning they avoid our web site for this very reason, unless they cannot find the same item somewhere else. Disturbing.

So I have noticed the problem still exist in version 1.5.6.3, even after 2 years since I originally posted this discovery.

Will the flaw carry over to OpenCart 2.0? Has anyone come up with a fix that enters the correct minimum quantity from any page that has a add to cart button on it, side bars etc?

Thanks for all the hard work out there.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 13, 2010 9:33 am

Post by joakimaolsson » Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:09 pm

I'm a newbie but isn't it possible to somehow copy the code from the product.tpl that makes it show the min q from the start into .tpl's for search, category, manufacturer and featured etc. ??

I found an extension that does the job in category so it should be possible?!

http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... _license=0

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:59 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests