Post by Qphoria » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:59 am

edvers wrote:hello,

works this module only with the English version? In the German version nothing changes, but when I switch to the English version - everything works perfectly. When I switch back to the German version everything works too, but only until the cache in vQmod is not deleted.

thanks

Pavel
It isn't language dependent.
The only language call in the xml looks for the closing ?> tag in the file
But it has wildcards to work with any language
So as long as your admin/language/german/sale/coupon.php file has a closing tag at the bottom "?>" it should work.
But check the vqmod/logs folder for any errors

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by amit123 » Sat Jul 27, 2013 12:48 am

It was really helpful.. Thank you?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 27, 2013 12:44 am

Post by updateyourbody » Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:26 am

Doesn't worked for me but i dont know why..

I tried it with opencart version 1.5.1.3 and with the newest but nothing works.
I am very sad about it because i need to add 500 coupons manually now.
The code box doesn't expand. I tried it also with two different vqmod versions.

Please when somebody knows what the problem is, help me !!!! :'(


Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:39 am

Post by OSWorX » Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:24 pm

Qphoria wrote:The only language call in the xml looks for the closing ?> tag in the file
....
So as long as your admin/language/german/sale/coupon.php file has a closing tag at the bottom "?>" it should work.
But check the vqmod/logs folder for any errors
I know this thread is rather old.
But:

1. german is not called german, it is de_DE (since now nearly 3.5 years)
2. closing ?>
a. relying in the closing ?> tag is stupid - better to use the opening <?php
b. also some of the new language files of OC 1.5.6 are not using a closing ?>
c. from a coders perspective it is a bad practice to use closing php.tags when NO html and php is mixed inside the same file

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by Qphoria » Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:02 am

OSWorX wrote:
Qphoria wrote:The only language call in the xml looks for the closing ?> tag in the file
....
So as long as your admin/language/german/sale/coupon.php file has a closing tag at the bottom "?>" it should work.
But check the vqmod/logs folder for any errors
I know this thread is rather old.
But:

1. german is not called german, it is de_DE (since now nearly 3.5 years)
2. closing ?>
a. relying in the closing ?> tag is stupid - better to use the opening <?php
b. also some of the new language files of OC 1.5.6 are not using a closing ?>
c. from a coders perspective it is a bad practice to use closing php.tags when NO html and php is mixed inside the same file

1. ok.. but the foldername is still german.. or deutsch, though I would be in favor of using the locale codes for the foldernames instead of "english", "spanish", "german"
use "en", "es", "de"

2. a. well that isn't always an option if you need something to appear at the end of the file. In this case I chose not to use <?php because in notepad++, it grays out the rest of the xml file because it thinks the syntax is not closed. Probably a notepad++ bug but annoying to view.
b. Then people should learn english if they want good working mods :laugh:
c. Yea..it is considered good practice to omit them to avoid whitespace errors... but it's debatable.. mostly a preference thing.. in general its bad practice to leave an opening tag with no closing tag, regardless of language... but php is the exception to the rule. But personally I think it's just best to follow the precedence that OpenCart sets so that we are all following the same guidelines.... this way we are all on the same page and less error prone. But you are right.. I typically try not to use the closing tag for an anchor point.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by OSWorX » Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:26 am

Just a few 'final' remarks:

1. it is a bug in Notepad
2. OC should begin to use correct language names (e.g. english is not only english, the far I know there are 7 or 8 possible different english (dialects / locales) - same goes to German, French and a few more)
3. most of the errors users having are coming from
3.a white spaces after the final closing tag ?> (still some OC 1.5.6 files has them)
3.b saved files with BOM
3.c saved files NOT UTF-8

Generally - from my point of view and customer experience - users should learn what a editor is, what can be done with it and which editor to use!

And to learn that MS WORD is NO editor.

And if they are using a correct editor, to define correct settings (e.g. save file WITHOUT BOM, save AS UTF-8, and some more like indents [tab or spces] and how many of them).

I for myself working now since many years with the phpDesigner (http://mpsoftware.com) and had never not one problem with the files I have written (and there are many after 14 years ...)

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by corinth » Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:41 am

I followed the installation instructions exactly but can't seem to get it to work. When I insert a new coupon, the coupon code line is still just one line tall. Any idea what could be causing issues? Using version 1.5.6

Thanks!!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:37 am

Post by Qphoria » Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:09 pm

I'd guess vQmod isn't installed or you have a vqmod/logs error file

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by flockapocka » Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:23 am

Thanks a lot for this! It's super useful :)

If anyone's having trouble using this, first check if you have your /admin/ renamed to something else like /secret/ and if you do then just open up xml file included in the plugin archive called "vqmod_batch_coupon.xml" and rename all instances of /admin/ to /your_directory_name/

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:34 am

Post by Qphoria » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:18 am

flockapocka wrote:Thanks a lot for this! It's super useful :)

If anyone's having trouble using this, first check if you have your /admin/ renamed to something else like /secret/ and if you do then just open up xml file included in the plugin archive called "vqmod_batch_coupon.xml" and rename all instances of /admin/ to /your_directory_name/
No do not do that.
Use the pathReplaces.php file and setup a proper alias for your admin folder. That will ensure that all scripts work without needing to edit the scripts individually. More Info

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Qphoria » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:55 pm

Added version for OpenCart 2.x

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Ashi2592 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:09 pm

Thank you very much for your extra ordinary contribuion

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:08 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests