Page 1 of 3

[vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:14 pm
by affect
Here's a free vQmod that removes step 3 (delivery details) on the checkout page.

Unlike "Requires shipping = no", this module doesn't remove shipping as such, it just makes it impossible for customers to choose different addresses for billing and delivery. The reason for that is that some consider it a fraud risk to separate addresses. This vQmod prevents users from doing that.

Tested on 1.5.x. For custom themes replace /default/ with /themename/. May not work with heavily modified themes. Downloadable here, on OpenCart Extensions or in our store. Comments welcome :)

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:31 am
by Xciso
I dont understand.
Do the products need to have "Requires shipping" = yes?
Or must the products be set to no?

Thanks! And i think this mod can be great!

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:41 am
by affect
It doesn't really depend on "Requires shipping" value, it just removes step 3 for all products so your customers will always have same billing and delivery addresses.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:30 am
by DragonJ
THANK YOU for this excellent mod!

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:45 am
by MrTech
Small addition for improvement. If you add this code before </modification> in the .xml file, it will re-number all the steps so that it becomes a 5 instead of 6 step checkout. I just thought customer would probably wonder where step 3 went?

Code: Select all

	<file name="catalog/language/english/checkout/checkout.php">
		<operation>
			<search position="replace"><![CDATA[$_['text_checkout_shipping_method']  = 'Step 4: Delivery Method';]]></search>
			<add><![CDATA[$_['text_checkout_shipping_method']  = 'Step 3: Delivery Method';]]></add>
		</operation>
		<operation>
			<search position="replace"><![CDATA[$_['text_checkout_payment_method']   = 'Step 5: Payment Method';]]></search>
			<add><![CDATA[$_['text_checkout_payment_method']   = 'Step 4: Payment Method';]]></add>
		</operation>
		<operation>
			<search position="replace"><![CDATA[$_['text_checkout_confirm']          = 'Step 6: Confirm Order';]]></search>
			<add><![CDATA[$_['text_checkout_confirm']          = 'Step 5: Confirm Order';]]></add>
		</operation>
	</file>

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:58 pm
by tacke87
How to remove step 4 Delivery method?

Anyone know how to?

Phuong Tran

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:22 pm
by coen1234
I'm not able to but the addition code in for renumbering the steps. can someone help me with this?

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:42 pm
by coen1234
The above is solved! I just changed the steps in the checkout.php directly. Maybe helpfull for someone else! ;D

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:13 pm
by coen1234
step 3 is gone. (thanks) but after completing step 2 the cart is not going to step 4. Can someone help me and tell me what to do?

Thanks!

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:27 pm
by affect
What OpenCart version is this? If you have a working link for me to see, I could try debugging it.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:13 pm
by coen1234
@affect

the url of my site is http://mysite.com/
I use OC 1.5.2.1

Is did what you need?

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:21 pm
by affect
Looks like it doesn't allow non-registered users to browse the store, I only see the Connect using Facebook page. Since I can't reach the checkout itself, I'm unable to debug it.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:24 pm
by coen1234
@affect

That's correct!
Do you mind to login for just ones?

I will delete your account afterwords. Because If i have to shut that off i have to do a lot of work.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:46 pm
by affect
Looks like element naming in templates has changed in 1.5.2.

Try changing

Code: Select all

$('#shipping-address #button-address').click();
to

Code: Select all

$('#button-shipping-address').click();
in the step3checkout.xml and seeing if it works.

I didn't have time to update the vQmod to work with 1.5.2 yet.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:22 pm
by coen1234
@affect

Thanks man! That did the trick!
I also deleted, as promised, your account at http://www.mysite.com

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:23 am
by Demon5
Thanks this will be very helpful. is there a way to make the mod work for all themes? say like one theme is in default and another in default*. right now I just copied the mod and have 2 of the mod running to do it.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:17 am
by affect
If both of your themes have the same code and work with the module out of the box, you should be able to use a wildcard instead of theme name to apply same changes to both of them, i.e. substitute "/default/" with "/*/" in <file> tags in the xml.

If your second theme needs a modified xml file, you can copy all three <file> tags to the same file within the <modification> tag, adjust their contents and substitute "/default/" with "/themename/" for these three <file> tags. That way you'll have one xml for two themes.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 4:22 am
by Demon5
I did not realize a star worked for that in vqmod.... Thanks Now my last thing is to figure why delivery methods take so damn long to load. only have ups and fedex.

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:32 am
by Klimskady
Hi, will you be updating this to 1.5.2.2 soon? Thanks

Re: [vQmod] Remove step 3 in checkout

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:43 pm
by affect
I finally found time to update it so it should work with 1.5.2.x now too.