Post by rph » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:58 am

I don't think there's a feasible way for Dependent Options to know which options should count to stock level.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by OctoberM » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:14 pm

I need some advice. After purchasing Dependent Options, I discovered that I could not create forks or multiple path chains as I was hoping. At least, I don't see how to do so. I'm hoping someone will see a solution.

Some of the products I am working with have a chain of options 5 levels deep, and the problem is that some of the lower links in the chain depend on more then one of the previous options.

This first two options are always available: "Note" and "Size". The next two are where the problem begins: There will be some "Type" with some "Gauge" available for every "Note" and "Size" but not all "Type" and all "Gauge" for every size.

Type is Chrome, Steel, Synthetic/Aluminium and Synthentic/Silver
Gauge is Light, Medium, Heavy.

Not all combinations of Type and Gauge are available for all Sizes of all Notes.

For example:
In size 4/4, all Gauges are available with at least one Type for all sizes and Notes
In size 3/4, Type Chrome is only available in Gauge:Light for Note:E whereas Types Steel, Synthetic/Aluminium and Synthentic/Silver are available in Gauges Medium and Heavy for certain other notes

To make matters worse, there is one more dependency beyond that: the "Ending" option (Ball or Loop)

The problem is there is always multiple dependencies in both directions. It seems it would work if one of the following were true:

) Multiple parent options were available for selection: or
) If it was possible to exclude certain sub options from certain parent options, i.e. no "heavy" gauge under E > 3/4 > Chrome (excludes, like negative keywords in Google AdWords); or
) Combinations of parents could be made into pairs and then child options assigned to those pairs.
) Duplicate size option "grids" could be created in parallel that had the same name and similarly named values but different collections of child options applied to those values, i.e. Size_A for for Note_E, Size_B for Note_E, and Size_A and Size_B have different Types assigned.

I'm sorry if my explanation is not clear, it's a simple problem but seems difficult to describe. Out of 5 options, not all combinations of Options 3, 4 and 5 are available for all combinations of 1 and 2.

I'm attaching a screenshot of the table that dictates what combinations of child options go together.

It's almost like I need IF / AND statements. Show Gauge:Heavy if Type = Chrome AND Size=4/4 AND Note = E . . .

Any recommendations welcome, and I would consider commercial support as well.

Attachments

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 3.52.24 AM.png

Multi-combo-dependant-options-needed - Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 3.52.24 AM.png (166.47 KiB) Viewed 5431 times


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:50 pm

Post by rph » Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:35 pm

The trick is to create new option values with similar names and group them together that way.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by OctoberM » Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:53 pm

I almost get what you're saying but not quite. I guess I'm too dense to figure it out so I need some support on this, would you considering making me at least one working option set via commercial support?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:50 pm

Post by rph » Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:48 am

I don't think there's much I could do since Dependent Options doesn't use conditionals in the way you're thinking.

Create a diagram of how the options are supposed to be laid out and send it to the support email address and I'll see if I can give you some suggestions.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by localseven » Tue May 07, 2013 4:32 am

First off, thank you rph for releasing this extension. I definitely need the functionality that this extension provides but I also need the ability to swap images based on the selected option that Options Boost provides. Do you know of any other extensions that are compatible with your extension that provide that functionality? And if Options Boost is my only option do you know what version of that extension I would need so its compatible with your dependent_options_oc151x_v1.1.6-options_boost.1.DISCONTINUED-UNSUPPORTED version? Thank you!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:52 am

Post by rph » Tue May 07, 2013 2:32 pm

It likely doesn't work anymore. I added it back up because I was getting complaints.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by localseven » Tue May 07, 2013 10:32 pm

rph wrote:It likely doesn't work anymore. I added it back up because I was getting complaints.
But if I use an old version of OpenCart coupled with your extension and a previous release of OptionsBoost wouldn't that essentially be the same setup as when the two were compatible? I'm just looking for the capability to image swap, I don't care about the additional SKU fields etc. How difficult is it to make those two functionalities play nice with each other? Thanks.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:52 am

Post by rph » Wed May 08, 2013 12:19 am

Hypothetically, if you could find an old copy of boost. If you want to try it it's all on you. I won't provide any support.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by dazthephot » Thu May 09, 2013 7:38 pm

Just to check.

You offer a download for OC 1.5.1 but you stipulate compatibility for OC 1.5.1.3 or later - is it compatible with my 1.5.1?

also

Is there a way to hide the (+£1.00 etc) from the options drop down?

thanks in advance

daz

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:31 pm

Post by rph » Fri May 10, 2013 5:51 am

Yep, it will work. I backported it around a year ago but must have forgotten to update the description. Option pricing is more of a theme issue. You can find directions on the forum at:

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 62#p349662

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by dazthephot » Fri May 10, 2013 4:37 pm

Thank you.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:31 pm

Post by boreddoug » Fri May 17, 2013 3:39 am

Hi there,

I am so grateful that I have found your extension its nearly what I am looking for. I just have two questions.

1. Is it possible to have your extension but based on QTY rather than on the parent option?
2. Would it still work if I removed the qty box, if so how would I remove it?

Kind Regards,
Doug

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat May 04, 2013 5:03 pm

Post by rph » Fri May 17, 2013 10:15 pm

Hi Doug. It's only option based.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by boreddoug » Sat May 18, 2013 5:51 pm

rph wrote:Hi Doug. It's only option based.
Thank you for your reply. That is fine. But would you be able to install Dependent Options for me and also remove the QTY box?

Kind Regards,
Doug

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat May 04, 2013 5:03 pm

Post by rph » Sat May 18, 2013 10:48 pm

I'm not quite sure what you mean.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by boreddoug » Sat May 18, 2013 10:59 pm

What I mean is that people will not be able to input the qty they want. But will only be able to chose the product qty from a dropdown option box.

Like mod
http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... rch=remove quantity

Hope this helps?

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat May 04, 2013 5:03 pm

Post by rph » Sun May 19, 2013 12:24 am

Okay. Well that shouldn't have any effect on the functionality of Dependent Options. But like I said, you can only use product options for dependencies.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska

Post by matteoraggi » Mon May 20, 2013 8:28 am

I can't understand this error:

Code: Select all

A required option must have at least 2 different parent option values!
I need to set a different price for each parent option so I can't have 2 parent options, ..
For example I need that for every size, chaing color every price will change.
Medium red = 9
Medium yellow = 10
MEdium white= 11
Small red= 8
Small red = 6
smalle white= 13
all prices are continuosly changing. is that possible?
Like filling a table of prices.

http://www.restaurantsupplies.eu Restaurant Supplies
Opencart 1.5.6.4 VQMOD 2.4.1
Languages: Italian, French, German, Hungarian, English, Russian, Polish and Spanish


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:16 pm

Post by rph » Mon May 20, 2013 8:55 am

The error means you are constructing your option dependencies in a way that is extremely likely to break. If there is only one parent then consolidate the child options upward.

-Ryan


rph
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am
Location - Lincoln, Nebraska
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests