Post by SoftDux-Rudi » Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Hi,

Does anyone know how to move the "Description" box which is below the product image, to be next to the product image instead?

Something like this: http://www.net-a-porter.com/product/312969

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:10 pm


Post by anung » Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:25 am

Open product.tpl
In catalog-->view-->theme--Yourtheme-->template-->product
find and sellect this code

Code: Select all

div id="tabs" class="htabs"><a href="#tab-description"><?php echo $tab_description; ?></a>
    .........
	......
    <div class="buttons">
      <div class="right"><a id="button-review" class="button"><?php echo $button_continue; ?></a></div>
    </div>
  </div>
  <?php } ?>
Move in line 58
After

Code: Select all

<div class="discount">
          <?php foreach ($discounts as $discount) { ?>
          <?php echo sprintf($text_discount, $discount['quantity'], $discount['price']); ?><br />
          <?php } ?>
        </div>
        <?php } ?>
      </div>
      <?php } ?>
Before

Code: Select all

<?php if ($options) { ?>
      <div class="options">
        <h2><?php echo $text_option; ?></h2>
        <br />
        <?php foreach ($options as $option) { ?>
Result
desc move.png

desc move.png (62.02 KiB) Viewed 33186 times


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32 am
Location - Indonesia

Post by mrjave » Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:46 pm

thanks Anung.

it is useful

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by mrjave » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:48 pm

good day Anung and Open Cart community,

anyway to have such (similar) layout as per below screenshot?
the main "product info" would be in one of the tab as well.
this would really save some space.

appreciate your assistance.

thank you
Jave

Image

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by labeshops » Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:44 pm

The product.tpl is pretty much html with the <?php...> calls in it so you can really arrange this page any way you want. Just be sure to grab complete sections of code, div sections, etc. If you can follow basic html, you should be able to do it anyway you want....or hire someone who can.

Running Opencart v2.2 with multi-stores from http://www.labeshops.com which has links to all my stores.

Image


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:41 am
Location - Florida, USA

Post by anung » Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:12 am

Move this code

Code: Select all

<div class="description">
        <?php if ($manufacturer) { ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_manufacturer; ?></span> <a href="<?php echo $manufacturers; ?>"><?php echo $manufacturer; ?></a><br />
        <?php } ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_model; ?></span> <?php echo $model; ?><br />
        <?php if ($reward) { ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_reward; ?></span> <?php echo $reward; ?><br />
        <?php } ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_stock; ?></span> <?php echo $stock; ?></div>
In this code

Code: Select all

<div id="tab-description" class="tab-content"><?php echo $description; ?></div>
Result

Code: Select all

<div id="tab-description" class="tab-content">
  <div class="description">
        <?php if ($manufacturer) { ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_manufacturer; ?></span> <a href="<?php echo $manufacturers; ?>"><?php echo $manufacturer; ?></a><br />
        <?php } ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_model; ?></span> <?php echo $model; ?><br />
        <?php if ($reward) { ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_reward; ?></span> <?php echo $reward; ?><br />
        <?php } ?>
        <span><?php echo $text_stock; ?></span> <?php echo $stock; ?></div><br />
		<span><?php echo $description; ?></span></div>
Desc.gif

Desc.gif (27.81 KiB) Viewed 33139 times


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32 am
Location - Indonesia

Post by mrjave » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:13 am

good day Anung,

i have this following error:

Code: Select all

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /home/myfather/public_html/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_default_template_product_product.tpl on line 541
any idea on how to fix as i went into there and find nothing 'fishy'.
please advice.

many thanks.
kind regards,
Jave

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by TomC » Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:01 pm

GREAT IDEA and AWESOME Community assistance !!!!


;D

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:32 am
Location - California (USA)

Post by sadie901 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:06 am

Hi all,

I've followed the above instructions and got it to work, but the 'Add to Cart' button is right at the bottom of the page and below the fold as all of my product descriptions have to be quite long, where would I place the description to get it just below the Add to Cart button? I've tried in lots of different places but can't seem to find the right one.

Thanks!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed May 02, 2012 8:20 pm

Post by anung » Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:40 am

mrjave wrote:good day Anung,

i have this following error:

Code: Select all

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /home/myfather/public_html/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_default_template_product_product.tpl on line 541
any idea on how to fix as i went into there and find nothing 'fishy'.
please advice.

many thanks.
kind regards,
Jave
attach your product.tpl, may i can help you.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32 am
Location - Indonesia

Post by MrTech » Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:34 am

In case you want a pre-made solution, I have two products that do just what you ask:

Moves the description next to images.

Check out Product Promotion Plus in the extension store:
http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... on_id=6013

As well as the more advanced, multi language version of Profitable Product Pages in my signature below.

~
Install Extensions OR OpenCart Fast Service! PayPal Accepted
I will professionally install and configure any free or purchased theme, module or extension.

Visit http://www.mrtech.ca if you need an OpenCart webmaster
~


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:39 pm
Location - Canada, Eh!

Post by mrjave » Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:53 am

anung wrote:
mrjave wrote:good day Anung,

i have this following error:

Code: Select all

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /home/myfather/public_html/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-catalog_view_theme_default_template_product_product.tpl on line 541
any idea on how to fix as i went into there and find nothing 'fishy'.
please advice.

many thanks.
kind regards,
Jave
attach your product.tpl, may i can help you.
Hi Anung,

thank you for assisting me.
please find attached my poroduct.tpl as requested.
is it possible to dump every single info into the tab (pricing, options, etc) except for the social tool bar perhaps?

i look forward to your reply.

many thanks!

kind regards,
Jave

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by anung » Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:03 pm


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32 am
Location - Indonesia

Post by mrjave » Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:57 pm

many thanks anung!

much appreciated such good contribution from the community.
one last thing, anyway to make it work with this Vqmod (additional tabs) as it seems like it cant work with your revised product.tpl. :'(

many thanks!!

Jave

Attachments


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by anung » Thu Aug 16, 2012 8:04 am


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32 am
Location - Indonesia

Post by TomC » Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:24 am

MrTech wrote:In case you want a pre-made solution, I have two products that do just what you ask:

Moves the description next to images.

Check out Product Promotion Plus in the extension store:
http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... on_id=6013

As well as the more advanced, multi language version of Profitable Product Pages in my signature below.
LOVE your Product Promotion Plus - Product Page - extension . . . NICE WORK !!!

;D

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:32 am
Location - California (USA)

Post by MrTech » Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:28 am

Thank you for the kind words TomC

~
Install Extensions OR OpenCart Fast Service! PayPal Accepted
I will professionally install and configure any free or purchased theme, module or extension.

Visit http://www.mrtech.ca if you need an OpenCart webmaster
~


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:39 pm
Location - Canada, Eh!

Post by mrjave » Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:48 am

anung wrote:Try now.
vqmod_additional_product_tabs_.xml
thank you Anung.
much apprecicated your effort and assistance.

Jave

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by fxtattoo » Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:37 am

sadie901 wrote:Hi all,

I've followed the above instructions and got it to work, but the 'Add to Cart' button is right at the bottom of the page and below the fold as all of my product descriptions have to be quite long, where would I place the description to get it just below the Add to Cart button? I've tried in lots of different places but can't seem to find the right one.

Thanks!
I noticed this too. Just look for this code near the bottom:

Code: Select all

<div class="cart">
        <div><?php echo $text_qty; ?>
          <input type="text" name="quantity" size="2" value="<?php echo $minimum; ?>" />
          <input type="hidden" name="product_id" size="2" value="<?php echo $product_id; ?>" />
          &nbsp;<input type="button" value="<?php echo $button_cart; ?>" id="button-cart" class="button" />
          </div>
        <div><span>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<?php echo $text_or; ?>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></div>
        <div><a onclick="addToWishList('<?php echo $product_id; ?>');"><?php echo $button_wishlist; ?></a><br />
          <a onclick="addToCompare('<?php echo $product_id; ?>');"><?php echo $button_compare; ?></a></div>
        <?php if ($minimum > 1) { ?>
        <div class="minimum"><?php echo $text_minimum; ?></div>
        <?php } ?>
      </div>
And move it above the description code you just moved from the steps above. Place it right before:

Code: Select all

   <div id="tabs" class="htabs"><a href="#tab-description"><?php echo $tab_description; ?></a>

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:33 am

Post by estateP » Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:01 am

I would be grateful if someone could help me. I do not know how to code and when I tried to change the .tpl file using the instructions, I ended up with a blank page on the store products page. I changed the .tpl file to the one provided by OP above and products are displaying again.

Here is a link to product in the store:

http://estatepipes.co.uk/ocart/James-Up ... e-Freehand

I would appreciate if anyone could make changes to this .tpl file to do the following:

1. Move Price, Quantity and Add To Cart button above the Description just under "Availability".
2. I had a vqmod which was disabling the "Compare" link which is now showing again in the new template. Is it possible to remove the "Compare" link and just leave the "Add to Wishlist".
3. Move the Specifications to display under the pictures the full width of the window as it would have before just above the tabs? (I am using a vqmod to explode the tabs to display under each other rather than tabbed)

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I feel the current layout of the product page could cost sales. Many thanks :)

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:41 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests