Post by Qphoria » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:44 am

FOR THOSE USING OPENCART 1.4.8 OR LATER, YOU NEED TO USE THE VQMOD SCRIPT VERSION OF THIS MOD FURTHER DOWN THIS THREAD. THE ORIGINAL METHOD NO LONGER WORKS AS OF OPENCART 1.4.8 SINCE I MOVED THE AJAX ADD SCRIPT TO ITS OWN FILE IN THE CORE

For those who want to have a "Please Select..." option in dropdown on product options, you can use this simple script to add the line and force the user to select an option. Do NOT add a please select option via the option page in the admin. This mod will add it for you.

1. EDIT: catalog/view/theme/YOURTHEME/template/module/cart.tpl

2. FIND:

Code: Select all

$('#add_to_cart').click(function () {
3. BEFORE, ADD:

Code: Select all

//Q: Add Please Select... and force choice before add to cart
	defaultMsg = "<?php echo $this->language->get('text_please_select');?>";
	warningMsg = "<?php echo $this->language->get('text_select_warning');?>";
	$('#product select').each (function(i, select) {
		$(select).prepend('<option value="0">'+defaultMsg+'</option>');
		$(select).val(0);
	});

	$('#add_to_cart').click(function (event) {
		$('#product select :selected').each (function(i, select) {
			if ($(select).text() == defaultMsg) {
				alert(warningMsg);
				event.stopImmediatePropagation();
				return false;
			}
		});
	});
	//Q: EOF
4. EDIT: catalog/language/english/module/cart.php

5. FIND:

Code: Select all

?>
6. BEFORE, ADD:

Code: Select all

$_['text_please_select']    = 'Please Select';
$_['text_select_warning']   = 'You must choose an option for each dropdown box';
[/s]

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by zollgut » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:26 am

Do you know how I can add this to the Regions List on Signup/Delivery Address Pages, so if region isnt in the list the user can leave this blank?

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:00 am

Post by Qphoria » Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:15 am

There already is a Please select on the zones list in 1.3.4 and 1.4.0
But you could modify it slightly to add "Not Listed" or something like that.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by espc » Mon Feb 15, 2010 5:29 pm

how to translate alert message and the text "please select" and at same time keeping english language ?

God, give me courage to do what I can,
humility to admit what I can't,
and wisdom to know the difference.

Opencart mods (search suggestions and so on):
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?p=71588#p71588" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:40 am

Post by Qphoria » Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:25 am

Updated to have support for multiple languages. Repaste the main code as some of the varialbles have changed

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by espc » Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:49 pm

you're simply the best

God, give me courage to do what I can,
humility to admit what I can't,
and wisdom to know the difference.

Opencart mods (search suggestions and so on):
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?p=71588#p71588" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:40 am

Post by keclap » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:11 pm

I'm using v1.4.9 and this didn't quite work for me. Although not sure whether due to version mismatch or my existing modifications.
Anyway, I got it working with v1.4.9 by editing this file:

catalog\view\javascript\jquery\ajax_add.js
(instead of Q's proposal: catalog/view/theme/YOURTHEME/template/module/cart.tpl)

All other changes are the same.

If script won't be able to pull the language strings, here is a quick and dirty fix:
when copying Q's portion of code (step 3.), replace:

Code: Select all

   defaultMsg = "<?php echo $this->language->get('text_please_select');?>";
   warningMsg = "<?php echo $this->language->get('text_select_warning');?>";
with

Code: Select all

   defaultMsg = "Your replacement for please select";
   warningMsg = "Your replacement for warning message";
Thanks Q!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:54 pm

Post by visnetmedia » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:29 am

Hi what if you want to add dropdown option bu it isn't required?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:17 am

Post by keclap » Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:15 pm

Well I did achieve something similar to this. I didn't want a specific option to be replaced with 'Please Choose', but just to be default value. First two options are therefor required (alert pops up) and third is filled with default.
Example:
Option 1: --Please choose--
Option 2: --Please choose--
Option 3: Yes

To make it work you have to modifiy Q's code in step 3 and catalog/view/theme/default/template/product/product.tpl.
In Q's step 3 replace this line:

Code: Select all

$('#product select').each (function(i, select) {
with this:

Code: Select all

$('#test select').each (function(i, select) {
in product.tpl find parent <td> of this line:

Code: Select all

<select name="option[<?php echo $option['option_id']; ?>]">
Sorry I can't tell you exact line number as my product.tpl is highly modified.

and then change this <td> to:

Code: Select all

$id = "test";
<td<?php echo $id; ?>>
Of course if you visit your store front at this point, nothing will change. But it gives you an ability to add an if statement in product.tpl which will rewrite id="test" to lets say id="test2" and therefor Q's mod will not add --Please choose-- to this specific option.

Example:
If you want option not to be required, you must find its unique value and then you can add an if statement like this:

Code: Select all

$id = "test"; // required
if ($option['option_value'][0]['name'] == 'Ne') { $id="test2"; } // defines the option which is not required
And make sure you add this if statement before the

Code: Select all

<td<?php echo $id; ?>>
I hope this helps! :)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:54 pm

Post by marc_cole » Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:09 am

I was able to get this mod to work with OpenCart 1.4.9.3. Here it is as a vqmod file. It would be nice if this was a setting in the admin where we could turn it on or off by product, but in the meantime, this works just fine.

Marc

Attachments


OpenCart v1.4.9.4
VQMod | Categories Home | Cleaner By Default - 2 Column | Speak Good English


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:26 am
Location - Seattle, WA

Post by Qphoria » Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:06 am

Ahh you beat me to making this one a vqmod :) Nice work

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by tommyz » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:56 pm

exactly what I needed, thanks Qphoria and Marc for making the vqmod file for this mod :} I wish all the mods will go this direction! 8)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:28 am

Post by tommyz » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:56 am

hi again :P

I'd like to use this mod on a store which uses a custom theme. What ever I try to do, I cannot get it working. The cart.tpl is modified in this theme, and even if I make the adjustments to the file path in the vqmod file, or if I try to manually insert this mod, it is just not working :/

Would anyone be so kind to look at the cart.tpl code and see what might be throwing it off?

Code: Select all

<?php ob_start(); ?>
<div id="module_cart">
  <div class="az_cart">
    <a href="<?php echo $view?>"><img src="<?php echo TMPL_IMAGES ?>/az_cart_icon.png" alt="cart_icon"/></a>
    <span>
        <span class="_title"><?php echo $heading_title ?></span>
        <br />
        <span class="_items">
        <?php 
            if ($products) {
                $prod_quantity = 0;
                foreach($products as $prod){
                    $prod_quantity += (int)$prod['quantity'];
                }
                echo sprintf(AZ_HEADER_NOW_IN_CART, $prod_quantity);
                echo " - ";
                echo $totals[sizeof($totals)-1]['text'];
            }else{
                echo $text_empty;
            }
        ?>
        </span>
    </span>
  </div>
  <div class="middle">
    <?php if ($products) { ?>
    <table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" style="width: 100%;">
      <?php foreach ($products as $product) { ?>
      <tr>
        <td align="left" valign="top" style="width:1px"><span class="cart_remove" id="remove_<?php echo $product['key']; ?>">&nbsp;</span></td><td valign="top" align="right" style="width:1px"><?php echo $product['quantity']; ?>&nbsp;x&nbsp;</td>
        <td align="left" valign="top"><a href="<?php echo $product['href']; ?>"><?php echo $product['name']; ?></a>
          <div>
            <?php foreach ($product['option'] as $option) { ?>
            - <small style="color: #999;"><?php echo $option['name']; ?> <?php echo $option['value']; ?></small><br />
            <?php } ?>
          </div></td>
      </tr>
      <?php } ?>
    </table>
    <br />
    <?php if ($display_price) { ?>
	<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="right" style="display:inline-block;">
      <?php foreach ($totals as $total) { ?>
      <tr>
        <td align="right"><span class="cart_module_total"><b><?php echo $total['title']; ?></b></span></td>
        <td align="right"><span class="cart_module_total"><?php echo $total['text']; ?></span></td>
      </tr>
      <?php } ?>
    </table>
	<?php } ?>
    <div style="padding-top:5px;text-align:center;clear:both;"><a href="<?php echo $view; ?>"><?php echo $text_view; ?></a> | <a href="<?php echo $checkout; ?>"><?php echo $text_checkout; ?></a></div>
    <?php } else { ?>
    <!--<div style="text-align: center;"><?php echo $text_empty; ?></div>-->
    <?php } ?>
  </div>
</div>
<?php
$cart_string = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

$infobox = new azInfoBox();
//$infobox->azSetBoxHeading($heading_title);
$infobox->azSetBoxHeading();
$infobox->azSetBoxContent($cart_string);
$infobox->azSetBoxFooter();
$infobox->azCreateBox('box2');
?>

<?php if ($ajax) { ?>
<script type="text/javascript">
$(document).ready(function () {
	$('#add_to_cart').removeAttr('onclick');

	$('#add_to_cart').click(function () {
		$.ajax({
			type: 'post',
			url: 'index.php?route=module/cart/callback',
			dataType: 'html',
			data: $('#product :input'),
			success: function (html) {
				$('#module_cart .middle').html(html);
			},	
			complete: function () {
				var image = $('#image').offset();
				var cart  = $('#module_cart').offset();
	
				$('#image').before('<img src="' + $('#image').attr('src') + '" id="temp" style="position: absolute; top: ' + image.top + 'px; left: ' + image.left + 'px;" />');
	
				params = {
					top : cart.top + 'px',
					left : cart.left + 'px',
					opacity : 0.0,
					width : $('#module_cart').width(),  
					height : $('#module_cart').height()
				};		
	
				$('#temp').animate(params, 'slow', false, function () {
					$('#temp').remove();
				});		
			}			
		});			
	});	
    $('#add_to_cart').click(function () {
    	$.ajaxq("add_queue",{
    		type: 'post',
    		url: 'index.php?route=module/az_cart/callback',
    		dataType: 'html',
    		data: $('#product :input'),
    		success: function (html) {
    			$('.az_cart ._items').html(html);
    		},	
    		complete: function () {}
    	});
    });

    $('.az_add').each(function(){
        $(this).removeAttr('href');
        $(this).click(function(){
            
           var img = $('.image IMG', $(this).parents('.az_pbox_new')[0])[0];
           var holder = $('.image', $(this).parents('.az_pbox_new')[0])[0];
           
    		$.ajaxq("add_queue",{
    			type: 'post',
    			url: 'index.php?route=module/cart/callback',
    			dataType: 'html',
    			data: '&product_id=' + this.name + '&quantity=1',
    			success: function (html) {
    			    $('#module_cart .middle').html(html);
                 
			    	$.ajaxq("add_queue",{
                		type: 'post',
                		url: 'index.php?route=module/az_cart/callback',
                		dataType: 'html',
                		data: '&product_id=' + this.name + '&quantity=1',
                		success: function (html) {
                			$('.az_cart ._items').html(html);
                		},	
                		complete: function () {}
                	});
    			},	
    			complete: function () {  
    				var image = $(img).position();                  
    				var cart  = $('#module_cart .az_cart').offset();
    	
    				$(holder).after('<img src="' + img.src + '" id="temp" style="z-index: 999; position: absolute; top: ' + image.top + 'px; left: ' + image.left + 'px;" />');
    	
    				params = { 				    
    					opacity : 0.0,
    					width : $(img).width()*1.25,  
    					heigth : $(img).height()*1.25
    				};		
    	
    				$('#temp').animate(params, 'slow', false, function () {
    					$('#temp').remove();
    				});
    			}
    		});
        });
});
		
});
</script>
<?php } ?>

<script type="text/javascript"><!--

function getUrlParam(name) {
  var name = name.replace(/[\[]/,"\\\[").replace(/[\]]/,"\\\]");
  var regexS = "[\\?&]"+name+"=([^&#]*)";
  var regex = new RegExp(regexS);
  var results = regex.exec(window.location.href);
  if (results == null)
    return "";
  else
    return results[1];
}

$(document).ready(function () {
	$('.cart_remove').live('click', function () {
		if (!confirm('<?php echo $text_confirm; ?>')) {
			return false;
		}
		$(this).removeClass('cart_remove').addClass('cart_remove_loading');
		$.ajax({
			type: 'post',
			url: 'index.php?route=module/cart/callback',
			dataType: 'html',
			data: 'remove=' + this.id,
			success: function (html) {
				$('#module_cart .middle').html(html);
				if (getUrlParam('route').indexOf('checkout') != -1) {
					window.location.reload();
				}
			},
            complete: function(){
            	$.ajaxq("add_queue",{
            		type: 'post',
            		url: 'index.php?route=module/az_cart/callback',
            		dataType: 'html',
            		data: $('#product :input'),
            		success: function (html) {
            			$('.az_cart ._items').html(html);
            		},	
            		complete: function () {}
            	});
            }
		});
	});
});
//--></script>
Thanks in advance

tom

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:28 am

Post by tommyz » Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:40 pm

anyone :/?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:28 am

Post by sneha » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:21 pm

@tommyz : if you want I can do install of this mod for you

Social Sing in - for any CMS

Auto Publish to Social network - using our tSocial extension

Boonex Dolphin Mods - chose from already available or order a custom based on your req


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:20 pm

Post by mberlant » Sat Apr 02, 2011 8:02 am

keclap wrote:Example:
If you want option not to be required, you must find its unique value and then you can add an if statement like this:

Code: Select all

$id = "test"; // required
if ($option['option_value'][0]['name'] == 'Ne') { $id="test2"; } // defines the option which is not required
And make sure you add this if statement before the

Code: Select all

<td<?php echo $id; ?>>
I hope this helps! :)
This does, indeed, help. I wonder, though, if it is possible to make modifications to reverse this logic. Could we test for the presence of "option value 0 = ----Please Choose----", and if this is true, then invoke marc_cole's script? If the value does not match, then we proceed as normal in OpenCart as a non-required option.

My client stores have products with both required and non-required options, so I have been making do with "Please Choose" in option 0 and having that option be Out of Stock.

Please use proper English at all times, so that all members may understand you.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:33 pm

Post by Daz1847 » Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:59 pm

Just a little note!...

I have been using this little vQmod on my website and I have noticed that the Please select option is not automatically selected when browsing with IE9 unless you use IE9 in compatibilty mode.

hmm strange.

Hope this will not effect all vQmod scripts ?...

I'm using it on both
Opencart 1.4.9.3 & 1.4.9.4

Unlimited Everything Hosting + Anytime Money Back Guarantee
Only£1.95pm - Limited Time Offer
- http://shortlink.info/?cda56b00


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:33 pm

Post by Qphoria » Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:23 pm

The fact that people use IE9 after the history of IE to date amazes me. I recommend adding a redirect script that checks if the user has IE9 then redirect to Chrome or Firefox and tell them that if they don't get a good browser, God will kill a kitten.

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by Daz1847 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:23 am

Lol yes I agree Qphoria but sadly lots of people do still use IE.

Now Micro$oft have released the official IE9 update through windows update I would imagine a lot of new users will be installing it as they think it will be better Lol!...


I figured out a little meta tag trick that seems to do the job by forcing IE9 to run in compatibility mode.

Open your templates common folder and edit header.tpl

Find

Code: Select all

<meta name="description" content="<?php echo $description; ?>" />
Then add this on a new line underneath

Code: Select all

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE8" />
Save the file then restart IE9 browser.

Works with all themes and is a commonly used method all over the net especially since IE9 and even IE8 it can solve quite a lot of compatibility problems with newer IE versions in general.

Sorry I don't know how to make a vQmod version of it shouldn’t be to difficult though maybe.
Or maybe its not realy worth it not sure but it is nice to have a website fully cross platform compatible I guess.

Unlimited Everything Hosting + Anytime Money Back Guarantee
Only£1.95pm - Limited Time Offer
- http://shortlink.info/?cda56b00


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:33 pm

Post by s31teg » Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:55 pm

hello

i have the issue that with the 2 options chosen it added x2 products instead of 1 product with all the options listed below

show in this example: http://www.wehaveanysticker.com/index.p ... duct_id=49

thanks, steven

New member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:39 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests