Post by elmstreet » Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:54 pm

To All Shop Owners,

If you would like to get more accurate shipping estimates or offer cheaper shipping solution to your customers, you can now download a free shipping extension (Weight3D) that calculates shipping by dimension and weight. The extension is applicable to store operators anywhere in the world. The extension uses The e-Commerce Shipping Calculator provided by http://www.solvingmaze.com.

By including dimension of products and packaging containers in shipping estimation, you get more realistic results than by using weight or volume alone. For example, a pair of skis and a pair of sneakers may have the same weight and volume but very different dimension. The cost to ship large items is likely more than to ship smaller ones. The new shipping extension saves you from under-estimating or over-estimating shipping fee to your customers. There is no need to pad extra shipping and handling fee to customers just because you are not sure how much shipping will be exactly.

With Weight3D, you may now also offer cheaper shipping options to your customers that weren't possible previously. For example, in the U.S. where the post office offers Priority Mail Flat Rates, you can ship for a fixed low fee as long as your merchandise fits into their specified containers. The only way you could tell for sure if a set of products will fit into the containers is by actually trying to package them virtually. This is exactly what Weight3D does for you. It tells you whether the products will fit into the containers or not, and how many containers are needed.

For more information, please check out the accompanying blog.

http://solvingmaze.blogspot.com/2011/03 ... g-for.html

I'll also try to respond to this thread if you have any questions.

Cheers,
Davin

P.S. It has been a pleasure diving into OpenCart to develop this extension. Thanks for the good quality software!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:11 am

Post by daledude » Fri Mar 18, 2011 12:18 am

Does this integrate at all with the current FedEx Live Rates module, or is it separate? We need to be able to split packages into separate boxes, and the customer also gets a discount through their FedEx account is why I'm asking. Thanks!

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:30 am

Post by elmstreet » Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:59 am

Hi daledude. Weight3D is really meant as a replacement for the default Weight module and like Weight, it doesn't talk live to FedEx or any courier. However, as a simple temporary solution, if you know roughly the discounted FedEx shipping rates of your client and the packaging containers they use, you can hardcode them into Wegiht3D. Perhaps that will buy you some time until a permanent fix is found. Their FedEx rates shouldn't change too frequently anyway so you should have plenty of time to seek alternative. I read that qphoria might be releasing a newer version of FedEx Live Rates soon?

Well, if you do plan to use Weight3D, I could try to walk you through though I'm over in the Finnish timezone so I may collapse to bed in the middle of discussion. :)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:11 am

Post by thegeekz » Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:37 pm

Hi there,

I just downloaded your module and its great except we do not know our packing box size till the last minute of the shipment processing..

We actually prefer to use the module without the dimensions at all times.. is that possible?

If not then, can you guide me on how to create a similar module without the dimensions?

Its not a problem without the dimensions as we usually estimate higher and then rebate back to our customers when the estimated is much higher than what is the actual charge.

Thank you.

Regards

Faustine

No more using Apsona, as they are not updated.

  • Every upgrade -- rem. 2 reinstall vqmod & mindful of modules w/ VQmod -- E.g Import / Export Tool by MHC


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:24 am

Post by elmstreet » Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:31 am

Hi Faustine,

Yes, you could use the module without dimensions. It will default to weight based shipping based on the price table you defined for each delivery service and zone.

Br,
Davin

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:11 am

Post by thegeekz » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:33 pm

Thank you.. that's fantastic!!

I do not need to get troubled of duplicating the weight modules anymore!! Its just so hard to do it as well ..

Your module is really a saver!! TRULY!!


But just a small question, am I still able to use the handling fee in one of the 'dimensions of container' line?

Thank you.

No more using Apsona, as they are not updated.

  • Every upgrade -- rem. 2 reinstall vqmod & mindful of modules w/ VQmod -- E.g Import / Export Tool by MHC


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:24 am

Post by elmstreet » Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:25 am

No problem.

The handling fee of a container is ignored if any of the container specification is missing (e.g. length, width, height and weight). The purpose of the handling fee for each container is to add surcharge to the postage to cover costs of handling, packaging materials and the container itself. A bigger box may require more handling fee than a smaller box which is why each container has its own handling fee field.

Since you're not using the dimension feature of the module, you should leave the container fields blank. You can include handling fee in the rates table instead.

-Davin

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:11 am

Post by ktutu » Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:21 am

elmstreet,

I was very excited to learn of this program, however, after installing the module I tried to edit it, and received an error.

Fatal error: Cannot access private property Document::$title in /hermes/bosweb25a/b452/sl.kdhorton/public_html/kim/admin/controller/shipping/weight3d.php on line 8

I'm using 1.5. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:14 am

Post by mberlant » Sat Jul 02, 2011 8:43 pm

Did you confirm prior to installation that the extension you were downloading and installing is specifically designed to be compatible with version 1.5? As you well remember from having been reading the forum postings, virtually none of the extensions that work with version 1.4 will work with 1.5, and you must check first to see if the extension you seek has been ported yet to be compatible with 1.5.

Please use proper English at all times, so that all members may understand you.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:33 pm

Post by ktutu » Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:51 am

mberlant wrote:Did you confirm prior to installation that the extension you were downloading and installing is specifically designed to be compatible with version 1.5? As you well remember from having been reading the forum postings, virtually none of the extensions that work with version 1.4 will work with 1.5, and you must check first to see if the extension you seek has been ported yet to be compatible with 1.5.
How would I confirm this? I'm sorry, but I'm completely new to PHP and webdesign. I'm trying to teach myself, but it obviously helps when you have others to point you in the right direction.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:14 am

Post by mberlant » Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:45 pm

My mistake. I saw that you joined the forum eight months ago and just assumed that you had been reading the threads that talked about features and services you were planning to implement, so that you could benefit from others' mistakes and avoid duplicating them. Though it was a long shot to believe that you could have missed all of those warnings against installing a 1.4 extension on a 1.5 store, it was the only possibility I could think of, so I mentioned it.

Please use proper English at all times, so that all members may understand you.


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:33 pm

Post by thegeekz » Mon Jul 04, 2011 1:16 pm

So Elmstreet, is there any news about porting of this extension to OC 1.5? I seriously hope you are on the way to doing it! Will love to have your extension ready for 1.5, when eventually I'm going over to OC 1.5 as well... For now, have to stick to 1.4.9.4...

No more using Apsona, as they are not updated.

  • Every upgrade -- rem. 2 reinstall vqmod & mindful of modules w/ VQmod -- E.g Import / Export Tool by MHC


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:24 am

Post by ktutu » Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:40 pm

mberlant wrote:My mistake. I saw that you joined the forum eight months ago and just assumed that you had been reading the threads that talked about features and services you were planning to implement, so that you could benefit from others' mistakes and avoid duplicating them. Though it was a long shot to believe that you could have missed all of those warnings against installing a 1.4 extension on a 1.5 store, it was the only possibility I could think of, so I mentioned it.
Whenever I have a question, I do search the forums before posting, but I don't have endless amounts of free time to read post after post hoping to find exactly what it is I'm looking for. I took this to be a learning community and have seen that most people are generous and kind about helping those out who, like myself, are new to web design. I'm so sorry for making you take time out of your precious schedule to respond to a simple question that would probably have taken a lot less time to respond to than what you took. Thanks for the response anyway.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:14 am

Post by ironband » Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:18 am

This module is great! Very helpful for using multiple flat rate boxes. I had a bit of trouble with it because my product is fluid and fills the shape of the box, but I got around that by reducing all of my dimensions to a common footprint and sizing the boxes that way as well. Now I get a very accurate estimate of how much stuff fits in a given box.

My problem, however, is that for USPS, the flat rate boxes have a maximum weight allowance. This is not a problem for domestic shipping in the US (where the weight limit is 70 lbs no matter which box is used - my products aren't *that* dense), but for global shipping (where a small box is limited to 4 lbs and a medium/large box is limited to 20 lbs). I could go strictly weight based in this case, but I have products of varying densities such that 4 lbs of one product easily fits in a small box while 4 lbs of another does not and would need the medium box.

Is there a way to assign a weight limit to a given box? In looking at the API it seems that this is an option...I'm just not good enough at the whole PHP thing yet to figure out how to make that happen.

Andre

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:10 am

Post by jomeza001 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:06 pm

thegeekz wrote:So Elmstreet, is there any news about porting of this extension to OC 1.5? I seriously hope you are on the way to doing it! Will love to have your extension ready for 1.5, when eventually I'm going over to OC 1.5 as well... For now, have to stick to 1.4.9.4...
X2.. is this compatible with 1.5?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue May 17, 2011 10:55 am

Post by thegeekz » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:49 am

Elmstreet - AWOL?

No more using Apsona, as they are not updated.

  • Every upgrade -- rem. 2 reinstall vqmod & mindful of modules w/ VQmod -- E.g Import / Export Tool by MHC


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:24 am

Post by rasahydro » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:22 am

I have modified the code for use on 1.5.3. Upload the file that is compatible for the 1.4 version
1. replace the file in admin/controller/shipping/weight3d.php
with the weight3d.pdp file below.

2. replace the file in admin/view/template/shipping/weight3d.tpi
with the weight3d.tpi file below.

Thats its!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:07 am

Post by rasahydro » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:23 am

here is the other file

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:07 am

Post by rasahydro » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:25 am

I cant upload the file so just replace the code in the tpl file with this code:

Code: Select all

<?php echo $header; ?>
<div id="content">
  <div class="breadcrumb">
     <?php foreach ($breadcrumbs as $breadcrumb) { ?>
     <?php echo $breadcrumb['separator']; ?><a href="<?php echo $breadcrumb['href']; ?>"><?php echo $breadcrumb['text']; ?></a>
     <?php } ?>
     <?php if ($error_warning) { ?>
     <div class="warning"><?php echo $error_warning; ?></div>
     <?php } ?>
  </div>
  <div class="box">
      <div class="heading">
         <h1><img src="view/image/shipping.png" alt="" /> <?php echo $heading_title; ?></h1>
         <div class="buttons"><a onclick="$('#form').submit();" class="button"><span><?php echo $button_save; ?></span></a><a onclick="location = '<?php echo $cancel; ?>';" class="button"><span><?php echo $button_cancel; ?></span></a>        </div>
         </div>
      <div class="content">
         <div class="vtabs"><a href="#tab-general"><?php echo $tab_general; ?></a>
          <?php foreach ($geo_zones as $geo_zone) { ?>
          <a href="#tab-geo-zone<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id']; ?>"><?php echo $geo_zone['name']; ?></a>
          <?php } ?>
         </div>
         <form action="<?php echo $action; ?>" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data" id="form">
             <div id="tab-general" class="vtabs-content">
                 <table class="form">
                   <tr>
                     <td><?php echo $entry_tax; ?></td>
                     <td><select name="weight3d_tax_class_id">
                         <option value="0"><?php echo $text_none; ?></option>
                         <?php foreach ($tax_classes as $tax_class) { ?>
                         <?php if ($tax_class['tax_class_id'] == $weight3d_tax_class_id) { ?>
                         <option value="<?php echo $tax_class['tax_class_id']; ?>" selected="selected"><?php echo $tax_class['title']; ?></option>
                         <?php } else { ?>
                         <option value="<?php echo $tax_class['tax_class_id']; ?>"><?php echo $tax_class['title']; ?></option>
                         <?php } ?>
                         <?php } ?>
                     </select></td>
                  </tr>
                  <tr>
                    <td><?php echo $entry_api_key; ?></td>
                    <td><input type="text" name="weight3d_api_key" value="<?php echo $weight3d_api_key; ?>" size="30" /></td>
                  </tr>
                  <tr>
                    <td><?php echo $entry_status; ?></td>
                    <td><select name="weight3d_status">
                        <?php if ($weight3d_status) { ?>
                        <option value="1" selected="selected"><?php echo $text_enabled; ?></option>
                        <option value="0"><?php echo $text_disabled; ?></option>
                        <?php } else { ?>
                        <option value="1"><?php echo $text_enabled; ?></option>
                        <option value="0" selected="selected"><?php echo $text_disabled; ?></option>
                        <?php } ?>
                    </select></td>
                  </tr>
                  <tr>
                    <td><?php echo $entry_sort_order; ?></td>
                    <td><input type="text" name="weight3d_sort_order" value="<?php echo $weight3d_sort_order; ?>" size="1" /></td>
                 </tr>
               </table>
           </div>
           <?php foreach ($geo_zones as $geo_zone) { ?>
           <div id="tab-geo-zone<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id']; ?>" class="vtabs-content">
            <?php for ($j=0; $j<MAX_SHIPPING_SERVICE_CLASSES; $j++) { ?>
            <table class="form">
              <tr>
                <td><?php echo $entry_status; ?></td>
                <td><select name="weight3d_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j; ?>_status">
                    <?php if (${'weight3d_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j . '_status'}) { ?>
                    <option value="1" selected="selected"><?php echo $text_enabled; ?></option>
                    <option value="0"><?php echo $text_disabled; ?></option>
                    <?php } else { ?>
                    <option value="1"><?php echo $text_enabled; ?></option>
                    <option value="0" selected="selected"><?php echo $text_disabled; ?></option>
                    <?php } ?>
                  </select></td>
              </tr>
              <tr>
                <td><?php echo $entry_name; ?></td>
                <td><input type="text" name="weight3d_name_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j; ?>" value="<?php echo ${'weight3d_name_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j}; ?>" size="50" /></td>
              </tr>
              <tr>
                <td><?php echo $entry_rate; ?></td>
                <td><textarea name="weight3d_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j; ?>_rate" cols="80" rows="5"><?php echo ${'weight3d_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j . '_rate'}; ?></textarea></td>
              </tr>
              <?php for ($k=0; $k<MAX_SHIPPING_CONTAINERS; $k++) { ?>
              <tr>
                <td><?php echo $entry_container; ?></td>
                <td>
                  <?php echo $entry_currency_symbol; ?>
                  <input type="text" name="weight3d_handling_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j.'_'.$k; ?>" value="<?php echo ${'weight3d_handling_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j . '_' . $k}; ?>" size="4" /> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
                  <input type="text" name="weight3d_length_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j.'_'.$k; ?>" value="<?php echo ${'weight3d_length_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j . '_' . $k}; ?>" size="3" /> x 
                  <input type="text" name="weight3d_width_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j.'_'.$k; ?>" value="<?php echo ${'weight3d_width_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j . '_' . $k}; ?>" size="3" /> x 
                  <input type="text" name="weight3d_height_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j.'_'.$k; ?>" value="<?php echo ${'weight3d_height_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j . '_' . $k}; ?>" size="3" /> <?php echo $entry_length_class ?> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
                  <input type="text" name="weight3d_weight_<?php echo $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'].'_'.$j.'_'.$k; ?>" value="<?php echo ${'weight3d_weight_' . $geo_zone['geo_zone_id'] . '_' . $j . '_' . $k}; ?>" size="3" /> <?php echo $entry_weight_class ?>
                </td>
              </tr>
              <?php } ?>
            </table>
         <?php } ?>
        </div>
        <?php } ?>
      </form>
    </div>
  </div>
</div>
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
$('.vtabs a').tabs(); 
//--></script>
<?php echo $footer; ?>

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:07 am

Post by tamez11 » Wed Nov 16, 2011 1:56 pm

I need to install this shipping extension on my store, but I am using Version 1.5.1 can someone tell me what can I do?

That will be really helpfull
Thanks a lot

Fernando Tamez

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:58 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests