Post by akerbeltz » Thu Jul 11, 2013 7:01 am

I'm boldly assuming new people are tired of having to guess around how to translate into a new language and that admins are tired of answering the same questions around this issue again and again.

I would therefore like to propose that the localization of OpenCart be officially moved to a site like Transifex (which incidentally is free for OS projects). Yes, I know that I could just set up a project myself but that would be tricky as I'm not a developer and ideally, there would be some process by which an admin grabs the translations from such a site and commit them.
- It would be a lot faster and less prone to errors and admins could be sure that no bad langpacks are released on the public.
- Translation would also go faster because it has a translation memory and you can use po files for translating offline.
- New/Updated strings would be *a lot* easier to find

It's win-win but it would need a little help from the developer team. Thoughts anyone?

Do, or do not. There is no try.

Post by akerbeltz » Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:22 am

Seriously? No response from any admin?

Post by akerbeltz » Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:45 am

Hm seems like the/a Swedish translator has put it on Transifex here

Would be good if we could find a way of pulling them off there and building the packs automatically though. Thoughts anyone?

Post by rbuelund » Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:43 pm

Well - I have now created a project at webtranslateit.com which I think is better than transifex and also free for opensource. I pull the files directly from the github repository and they are updated daily. I can download a zip which I can extract directly language folder ind admin and site. I can add your language too if you like.

Post by rbuelund » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:46 am