Post by billfryer » Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:56 pm

BTW I'm not a techie, I'm someone who runs several eCommerce websites, all on Opencart.

I've been looking through the extensions store to see if there is anything I could add to my site. And my overwhelming feeling is that there is too much stuff, too many irrelevent extensions and too many competing offerings for the more popular mods. For example SEO modules - there seem to be hundreds of them. And the way the extensions are presented makes it very difficult to differentiate one from another.

We've kind of got the Android approach to an app store - throw everything in and see what floats. However the Apple app store has a habit of 1. producing better apps and 2. being much more successful. What Apple do is they are a lot more strict in terms of what apps they will allow into the store and they give developers pointers in how to improve their apps.

I've also been burned in a past when I bought an OC extension off some Indian guy, it was loaded with bugs and didn't do what he said it would do and he refused to give me my moneyback.

I think the extensions store needs:

- stricter controls over inclusion - with extensions needing to meet high standards for both functionality and quality of programming, especially if they are going to be charged for.
- some kind of moneyback guarantee policy.
- more categories/sub categories so it is easier to find what you want.
- better presentation of product offerings.

Also, another thing that needs to be addressed is that some extensions should really be brought into the main coding of the software.

http://www.billfryer.com - the direct marketing agency
http://www.billfryercopywriter.co.uk - the copywriter

Location - Warminster, UK

Post by rph » Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:22 am