Post by SparxGroup » Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:24 am

Can we increase this, 66 characters is really small for a meta description!! :)

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:53 am

Post by Daniel » Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:29 am

its the recommend size for the search engines.

User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by SparxGroup » Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:46 am

Really, seems a bit small! Will the new version of OpenCart have more SEO fields for Title, and Keywords for at least the index page?

Cheers Dan

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:53 am

Post by Daniel » Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:05 am

it already has titles. keywords are not really used any more.

User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:57 pm

Post by craig22 » Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:19 pm

i thougth 66 was for titles not descriptions is it possible to make it bigger

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:55 pm

Post by julianlockhart » Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:54 am

Yes this is correct:
i thougth 66 was for titles not descriptions is it possible to make it bigger
Meta tag titles are limited in displaying in search engines to 66(google) I think yahoo is a little bigger.

Meta Tag Description can be much longer.

You can edit the string length in the admin/controller/setting/setting.php

HTH


Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:15 am

Post by yuwenlong126 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 4:47 pm

julianlockhart wrote:Yes this is correct:
i thougth 66 was for titles not descriptions is it possible to make it bigger
Meta tag titles are limited in displaying in search engines to 66(google) I think yahoo is a little bigger.

Meta Tag Description can be much longer.

You can edit the string length in the admin/controller/setting/setting.php

HTH

how to chang, your help wil be appreciated

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:26 pm

Post by codeweaver » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:06 am

Daniel wrote:it already has titles. keywords are not really used any more.
Title is still used Daniel.

Also, it is important that we need to be able to be able to create a title that has a call to action.

e.g.

Product Name :: Store Name
This looks pretty... but pretty pedictable too.

FInd The Best Priced Product Name & Other Pioneer Products :: Shop Name
Now this will get 1/3 more clicks in the SERPs.

Image
Open Cart Customisation


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 15, 2009 11:17 pm

Post by yuwenlong126 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:32 pm

hi Daniel

I am a SEO enginner, the title and meta descripition also is usefull for Page rank!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:26 pm

Post by codeweaver » Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:55 pm

Daniel wrote:its the recommend size for the search engines.
Daniel,

I have just had to adjust categories, products etc in the database and the categories.php and product.php files to allow longer meta descriptions.

Could you PLEASE change it back to at least 150 chars?

Also, I cannot upgrade a client from an earlier version, becuase if I do, your new database schema will cut off all their meta descriptions.

Sorry Daniel, opencart is a create product, but this was a mistake. Meta descriptions should be at around 150.

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 15, 2009 11:17 pm

Post by codeweaver » Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:03 pm

How to change this back:

Loginto your database using phpMyAdmin:

Find the table "category_description" edit the field "meta_description" and change the length from 66 to 150.
Do the same with the "product_description" table.

Next edit the following files:

Open this file:
admin / controller / catalog / category.php
Find line number 248 or just look for this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 66) {
Replace with this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 150) {
Next open file:
admin / controller / catalog / producct.php
Find line number 715 or just look for this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 66) {
Replace with this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 150) {

Image
Open Cart Customisation


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri May 15, 2009 11:17 pm

Post by yuwenlong126 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:52 pm

codeweaver wrote:How to change this back:

Loginto your database using phpMyAdmin:

Find the table "category_description" edit the field "meta_description" and change the length from 66 to 150.
Do the same with the "product_description" table.

Next edit the following files:

Open this file:
admin / controller / catalog / category.php
Find line number 248 or just look for this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 66) {
Replace with this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 150) {
Next open file:
admin / controller / catalog / producct.php
Find line number 715 or just look for this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 66) {
Replace with this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 150) {
thanks for your solution,after i did it as you said ,but failed!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:26 pm

Post by adokilla » Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:47 am

Hello everyone, i am trying to increase 24 to 100 characters for models, i cannot seem to find the model in phpmyadmin since it is only from 3 to 24 characters i would like to to 100 this is the code i modified

if ((strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['model'])) < 3) || (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['model'])) > 100)) {
$this->error['model'] = $this->language->get('error_model');

Thank you.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:17 am

Post by iloveopencart » Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:53 am

The 'model' field is stored in the 'product' table. It is set as varchar(24) - change it to varchar(100).

User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:15 pm
Location - Phoenix, AZ

Post by adokilla » Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:01 am

i found the char24 but i am not sure how to edit it if you could please let me know i would really appreciate the support thank you.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:17 am

Post by iloveopencart » Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:16 am

Here's a screenshot of where to find it and what field to edit. Click on the 'product' table, select the Structure tab, click the pencil icon (circled), then enter 100 for the Length/Values (also circled).

Image

User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:15 pm
Location - Phoenix, AZ

Post by adokilla » Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:52 pm

Thank you i found it, i have changed both fields but now i can insert up to 100 characters and it doesnt give me that warning but the problem is on the website it only shows up to 24 characters? do i have to do any re alignment with the layout?

here is some screen shoots in related to what i mean. and again thank you very much for the support i really appreciate it.

Image

Image

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:17 am

Post by iloveopencart » Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:49 pm

There's only so much room for so many characters. I'm not sure why you are using the model number to display what the part is used for. I would have just put that in the description. You could, at this point, edit the product.tpl file and move it to the description area. Then you'd have enough space. As for the admin side, I would suggest you just remove the model column alltogether. 100 characters just takes up too much room.

User avatar
Global Moderator

Posts

Joined
Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:15 pm
Location - Phoenix, AZ

Post by nlgordaz » Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:48 am

The meta description is not a significant factor for SEO.
SE's are programed to mimic users. Make your description any reasonable size. What's important is whether it accurately describes the th web page.

bulldog breeders aquariums Cat Furniture carpet cleaning tucson


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:20 am

Post by blueantz » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:20 am

yuwenlong126 wrote:
codeweaver wrote:How to change this back:

Loginto your database using phpMyAdmin:

Find the table "category_description" edit the field "meta_description" and change the length from 66 to 150.
Do the same with the "product_description" table.

Next edit the following files:

Open this file:
admin / controller / catalog / category.php
Find line number 248 or just look for this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 66) {
Replace with this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 150) {
Next open file:
admin / controller / catalog / producct.php
Find line number 715 or just look for this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 66) {
Replace with this:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($value['meta_description'])) > 150) {
thanks for your solution,after i did it as you said ,but failed!
You also need to edit setting.php file in /admin/controller/setting folder
if (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['config_meta_description'])) > 66)

Replace 66 with 150 and you should be good to go.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:42 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests