Post by jemfashion » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:32 pm

Hey everyone
I am totally new to Opencart but having done some research it seems to be popular. I have a few questions I am hoping the community can help me with

What are the real benefits of Opencart over other similar cart scripts?
Any particular pro's/con's I should be aware of?

Where can I get a professional template for Opencart?

What type of hosting will I need?

Really appreciate any tips, tricks and advice as this will be for a new business website so I can keen to make sure it is right

Post by JAY6390 » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:34 am

Hi Jem

Welcome to the forums. The main benefits of OpenCart are that it's lightweight (in terms of coding) so it's fast, has a good community and developer following so there's lots of help and additional extensions to allow you to change your cart as much as you want pretty much

For professional themes, none beat the ones at themeforest visually, though be aware that the more fancy the theme, the more likely you'll have issues with third party extensions

Hosting is really tricky, though the best I've found and recommend is WX Hosting (see signature link) due to its performance

Kind regards
Jay

Guru Member

Location - United Kingdom

Post by oc_1 » Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:08 am

Hi jemfashion
Here my 5 cents.
I tested abantecart and prestashop for a couple of months. They both look
very sexy on the outside, lots of features to make it all shine.
But, and here comes the but:
Both are slow, and not easy accessible for client and shopholder.
2 things are very important these days for a webshop.
It has to be fast, easy to handle by the shopholder and easy to access/navigate
by a visitor/client. This is exactly what is under the hood of OpenCart.
Another important point is the inner architecture of OpenCart.
If you know something about html, css, php and tpl files you can maintain
your OpenCart Shop your self. Or else a coder can do it in a fraction of time