Post by twpe » Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:55 am

Hi esteemed colleagues! Forum and Google searches completed with no luck.

Standard install of 1.5.1.x with small changes (all documented in a change log).

Have enabled the specials module to show my special offers etc. I now want to add a new category to the top level menu bar that is always present (default template) that will link to a page showing the specials. i.e. Equivalent to selecting the specials link from the 'Extras' section on the homepage. http://www.yoursite/index.php?route=product/special

Any help appreciated. Happy to hack some files, but prefer not to use addon modules or make major code changes if it can be avoided.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by twpe on Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Performance Parts for Drag Racing and Prostock.


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:49 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:24 am

One small code change

edit: catalog/view/theme/default/template/common/header.tpl

find

Code: Select all

  </ul>
</div>
<?php } ?>
<div id="notification"></div>
add before

Code: Select all

<li><a href="index.php?route=product/special">Specials</a></li>

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by twpe » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 am

Marvellous my old chap :-)

Worked like a charm. I also utilised your other post to add the Specials to the side menu too!

Many Thanks!

Performance Parts for Drag Racing and Prostock.


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:49 am

Post by YorkshireInteriors » Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:33 pm

Hi,

You mentioned that you'd "also utilised your other post to add the Specials to the side menu too!". How did you achieve this?

Cheers, Johnny


Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:22 pm

Post by uksitebuilder » Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:55 pm

Very similar change but in catalog/view/theme/default/template/module/category.tpl

find

Code: Select all

      </ul>
    </div>
  </div>
</div>
add before

Code: Select all

<li><a href="index.php?route=product/special">Specials</a></li>

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by nodric » Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:56 pm

To add the specials link to the side bar menu.

File Edited
category.tpl

File Location
yoursite.com/catalog/view/theme/default/template/module

Edits Made
before the closing </ul>
add the folowing
<li><a href="index.php?route=product/special">Specials </a></li>

Credit for this goes to uksitebuilder

The Best 4x4xfar


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Post by YorkshireInteriors » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:19 pm

Thanks for your prompt response (and also to uksitebuilder). Great help. Works perfectly. Cheers!!


Posts

Joined
Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:22 pm

Post by Jamppe » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:57 am

uksitebuilder wrote:One small code change

edit: catalog/view/theme/default/template/common/header.tpl

find

Code: Select all

  </ul>
</div>
<?php } ?>
<div id="notification"></div>
add before

Code: Select all

<li><a href="index.php?route=product/special">Specials</a></li>
Hi UKSITEBUILDER
How do the code change, if you put language code in it instead of "Specials"
Br Jamp

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:01 pm
Location - Helsinki

Post by Shark » Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:19 am

How do you set an 'active' class when the selected page = specials?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:43 pm
Location - Haarlem

Post by sqwireless » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:20 am

Hi, i have the same problem, and thanks to all the guys, i'm getting 50% problem solved.

This Special offer page doesn't have multi-pages of product, (page1, page2), i have more than 25 products in this page, and only the first 25 is showing, and i don't see "page2". I have to click show100 to see the rest. This is very inconvenient.
Is there a solution please ?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:49 am

Post by evakotsi » Tue Sep 23, 2014 3:02 am

sqwireless wrote:Hi, i have the same problem, and thanks to all the guys, i'm getting 50% problem solved.

This Special offer page doesn't have multi-pages of product, (page1, page2), i have more than 25 products in this page, and only the first 25 is showing, and i don't see "page2". I have to click show100 to see the rest. This is very inconvenient.
Is there a solution please ?
Try this one:
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=125582

It worked like a charm for me ;)

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:07 am
Location - Greece

Post by znuky.ro@gmail.com » Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:51 pm

SOLVED:
In Catalog->Category
Add a new category "SALES" and in SEO tab add the link: index.php?route=product/special .
Set it to be shown in Menu.


Posts

Joined
Wed May 09, 2018 2:28 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests