Post by xds » Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:21 pm

ON HOLD FOR NOW! Hopefully the new version of opencart will be released next month containing this feature!

Since I have yet to find a reward points / customer loyalty system for opencart, I figured I would try my hand at developing one myself. As I am new to opencart and have not fully gone through it, I thinks its best to share my workings with the community and hope for other users input throughout the development process. Since it is me doing the majority of this work, it will most likely end up as one hell of a hack job, but I have hopes that my works will provide some more experienced developers with everything they need to create a proper module.

The goals:
- Create method of inserting points changes into database.
- Create a master value in admin to configure the base rate of store credit to award per default currency unit (USD, euro, pound etc)
- Create fields in Admin > Edit Customer section to show credit balance, and add / remove credit.
- Create page in admin to view credit history for a customer.
- Create front end page for customer to view their current as well as their credit history.

Overview:

I reviewed what little code was available on the forums in this post: http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=10420 and noticed this user was setting up an individual credit value per product. In essence this would be nice to have, but it causes issues when a customer places an order with points + cash when you want to total up how much credit they should be awarded. I am open to solution suggestions for this problem, but I think for now I will just focus on doing a credit per order total. A future idea was to implement a toggle per product to not allow specific products to eligible for store credit awards (gift vouchers maybe?).

Database Table oc_customer_credit_pending:

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `oc_customer_credit_pending` (
  `id` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,