Post by 18s1fc » Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:20 pm

OpenCart 2.3, nginx 1.1{0,2.1}, FreeBSD {9.3,11.1}, VirtualBox.
the value of the currency is not updated for a month already
what to do?
Thanks.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun May 21, 2017 9:25 pm

Post by straightlight » Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:49 pm

Yahoo Finance has been abolished since the past few weeks. You rather need to use an extension from the marketplace or use the Github Master Files.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by 18s1fc » Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:54 pm

straightlight wrote:
Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:49 pm
Yahoo Finance has been abolished since the past few weeks. You rather need to use an extension from the marketplace or use the Github Master Files.
Straightlight,
thanks for the answer.
Those currencies that are by default (EUR and GBP) are updated, but the added Ukraine Hryvnia (UAH) is not updated even on the Github Master Files (OpenCart Version 3.0.2.0).

Just now - the added Canadian Dollar (CAD) is updated, but Hryvnia is not. :o

Regards,
18s1fc

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun May 21, 2017 9:25 pm

Post by straightlight » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:53 pm

That's what happens when developers provides a solution with range of currencies when being captured. Some might be missing in the range as these being skipped to be converted on the next batch since the abolition of Yahoo Finance. :-\

The best suggestion would be the use of a webservice that may provide all the lists of all currencies in one-time check day-per-day to resolve this issue compared to all the free solutions provided out there. Otherwise, there are no accurate solutions on how to definitely resolve this issue, unfortunately.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by 18s1fc » Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:03 am

hm...
www.ecb.europa.eu
Europe does not yet know Hryvnia... :(
https://www.ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_ ... ex.en.html

Where is it written which file to edit to solve this problem with another webservice?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun May 21, 2017 9:25 pm

Post by straightlight » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:06 am

Where is it written which file to edit to solve this problem with another webservice?
It isn't, unfortunately, It has to be searched through Google in order to use a reliable service at this point.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by 18s1fc » Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:35 pm

straightlight wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:06 am
It has to be searched through Google in order to use a reliable service at this point.
I meant where I can read how to write my module for currency, which will do something (only on PHP) reminding it:

currency=uah
response=`xmllint --xpath "string(//div[@class='vk_gy vk_sh'])" https://www.google.com.ua/search?q=1+usd+to+$currency`
echo ${response/%\ */} # <- value of currency
27.7623542

Let for me a web service will search Google once a day. :)
( Instead XPath div[@class='vk_gy vk_sh'] can put it XPath html/body/div[6]/div[3]/div[10]/div[1]/div[2]/div/div[2]/div[2]/div/div/div/div[1]/div/div/g-card/div/div/div/div[2] )

Thanks,
18s1fc

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun May 21, 2017 9:25 pm

Post by straightlight » Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:34 pm

But Google does not search multi-currencies with a single query but rather search for a single currency in the URL string. ;)

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by 18s1fc » Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:28 pm

straightlight wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:34 pm
But Google does not search multi-currencies with a single query but rather search for a single currency in the URL string. ;)
:laugh:
Yes, yes :)
Typically, the site has 2, a maximum of 3 currencies. Therefore, temporarily one server can make 2-3 requests per day to Google, until Europe adds the Hryvnia.

Ok, thanks, Straightlight.
May the Force be with you! (c) ;)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun May 21, 2017 9:25 pm

Post by straightlight » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:27 pm

Typically, the site has 2, a maximum of 3 currencies.
During the day, worldwide financially, with currency exchange changes, it can be changed to a maximum of 4 which means you'd still be missing one count everyday. Granted, 3 times is better than the 1 time only with the Yahoo Finance API we used to have unless manually refreshing the count from the Opencart admin. Although, the maximum changes of currency exchange is 4 throughout paid webservices.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests