Post by luckyb333 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:28 am

I just did a clean install of v1.5.0
This is my first time using opencart and I'm loving it but I've got one huge problem. I sell downloadable videos and the files are all very large. Anytime I try to download one it stops at around 100MB. Splitting them up is not an option BTW. Researching the problem here it was clear it was an issue with my host so i contacted their support. Below is the message I received.
You might want to consider looking into initiating your downloads with
the Apache module mod_xsendfile.

Right now, your downloads are piping through a php script as you may
already know. The php script's memory consumption increases exponentially
as the script is left open. Once the download is held open for a while,
the script hits our shared server's memory limit and is killed off. The
memory limit is in place to keep our shared servers happy and stable for
you and other customers, so it's not something I can circumvent for you.

Utilizing mod_xsendfile in your download script will initiate the
download via HTTP, then close the php script so memory isn't run up. It
also allows masking of the file location.

Here's some more information on how to implement mod_xsendfile in your
download script:

http://codeutopia.net/blog/2009/03/06/s ... e-and-php/

Just follow the instructions under the "Sending files" section. If this
is something you'd like to implement for your domain, please let me know
in a reply to this email, as there are a few things I have to do from
this end.
I'm not completely clueless when it comes to this stuff but I'm in over my head here. Can anyone tell me if this is a possible fix for me and if so, give me fairly simple instructions on what I need to change in opencart to make it work?

Thanks in advance for helping the noob(even if it is just to tell me I'm screwed),

Keith

Post by marcelwoo » Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:59 pm

bump:)

"We help each other to grow". That's the opencart community!