Post by reynierpm » Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:13 am

Hi every:
I need to put two different stores in one single OC installation. I read the chapter 4 (OpenCart 1.4 Begginers Guide) and following every step but doesn't work. I have the main store at http://mydomain.info and the second point to http://subdomain.mydomain.info but the same template and products appear on both stores. Also I get a redirection to http://mydomain.info when I type http://subdomain.mydomain.info in my browser. What I'm doing wrong? Can any help me to solve this problem?

Cheers and thx in advance
Last edited by reynierpm on Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by jty » Fri Oct 15, 2010 3:15 pm

Do you have a trailing / in the store URL.
Xsecrets will be along shortly to tell you that you need a trailing /
http://patoge.info/
not
http://patoge.info

In Admin > Stores > Settings > Store URL:

jty
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:19 am

Post by reynierpm » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:55 pm

jty wrote:Do you have a trailing / in the store URL.
Yes, I have a trailing slash / in both stores. :(

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by reynierpm » Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:55 am

Well aparently it works but with a lot of problems. For example the two stores have different names and when I change between one and two the name remain.
Store 1 -> Name: eShop1
Store 2 -> Name: eShop2
When I access Store 1 all is fine the name is setup as eShop1 but when I change to Store 2 the name doesn't change and still eShop1. Can any help me here?

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by seanmichael » Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:03 am

I am really sorry no one got back to you yet. I don't think anybody here has it working the way you might want ti working. I have looked all over the forums and there is no tutorial for this sort of thing. I have been having the same issues myself and I am working on it now.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:02 am

Post by reynierpm » Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:00 am

Well I'll precious if you want to share the results because I'm stucked at this point.
Cheers

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by david25 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:13 pm

Try to delete your cached cookies of your browser. It should then work. I am using subdomains for multistore with success.

New member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jun 01, 2010 1:49 am

Post by seanmichael » Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:52 pm

How did you accomplish this ? I don't seem to see any straight forward way to do it. Same hosting company with shared hosting test environment and two completely different domains.

What steps did you follow.?

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:02 am

Post by reynierpm » Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:57 pm

Well seems to work now for me. What I'm doing? Nothing just create two stores and point them to differents domains. It takes two days, really I don't know why, but it works now. See it at http://mydomain.info/ and http://subdomain.mydomain.info/. I need to test if it works correctly but aparently it could ;) Cheers and lucky
Last edited by reynierpm on Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by seanmichael » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:32 pm

did you alter your .htacess file? or upload two installs? or did you change you DNS? anything?

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:02 am

Post by reynierpm » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:39 pm

Nop, I don't do any of this. Just create a subdomain in my hosting and point them to the same OC dir. For example: http://mydomain.info point to /public_html/opencart_dir/ and http://subdomain.mydomain.info point to /public_html/opencart_dir/ so both stores point to the same place. ;)
Last edited by reynierpm on Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by seanmichael » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:13 am

what do you mean 'point to' ...how did you accomplish that?

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:02 am

Post by reynierpm » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:19 am

"Point to" means that when I open, for example, http://mydomain.info the content will be locking in /html_public/opencart_dir and then index.php or other files reside in that directory, understand now? Maybe my english isn't enough :(
Last edited by reynierpm on Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by seanmichael » Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:00 am

your english is fine and I thank you very much for your replies. I was just wondering how you told one to 'point to' the other. what steps did you follow?

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:02 am

Post by reynierpm » Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:13 am

Well this happen in your hosting or your domain admin. You need to create a subdomain. For example at GoDaddy when you create a new subdomain they ask for subdomain name and folder where this subdomain point. In my case:
Subdomain Name: subdomain
Domain: mydomain.info
Folder: /html_public/opencart_dir/
So when I call http://mydomain.patoge.info the page served by Apache is looking in /html_public/opencart_dir/ directory. Understand now?
Last edited by reynierpm on Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:51 pm

Post by seanmichael » Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:14 am

ok so it was DNS stuff. Thank you very much for all of your help. That worked like a charm!!

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:02 am

Post by MelanieJ » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:33 pm

Is not solved!
_______________________________

the subdomain shows the same as the domain, changing the store theme has no effect. subdomain.store.com/admin send me back to store.com/admin
settings for the subdomain:
--------------------
Subdomain
subdomain.store.com
Domain
store.com
Document Root
public_html
-----------------------------
OpenCart is installed in the root!

OpenCart setings --> new store -->http://subdomain.store.com/ ( SSL URL : http:/subdomain.store.com/ )
-->Default Layout: Subdomain
In Layout settiings --> New Layout --> Name: Subdomain --> Route: common/home ( i tried with the default Layout also )
Theme: Revo for OpenCart and multimerch modul
Theme settings: Subdomain - layout, header, footer - no changing anything ( new layout dosn't change the theme for the subdomain )

SOLUTION?

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:31 pm

Post by FrankM » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:22 am

I have mine setup as store1.com and the subdomain as store1.com/store2. When at store2.com, and any link or product is clicked, the shopper is immediately taken to the product or category in store1.com. You wouldn't notice, if you didn't look at the url.

Any solutions? Do I need a seperate OC instance for each domain?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:15 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 40 guests