Post by jmk13c » Sat Mar 31, 2018 4:41 pm

So i got a new client and his shopping cart does not have a method for editing quantities in his shopping cart with this theme. I have switched to the default theme for testing purposes and it can do it. My question is, since i am new to opencart, is there a reliable method to allowing for this functionality? I could try to create something myself but i would like to see if there is already a tried and true method already out there that i am missing

TIA

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:10 am

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:38 pm

Well, better add a link to the shop, so someone can see, how it looks,
and if only some mis-alignement prevents the Fields from displaying correctly.
Anything else would only be esoteric guessing...
Ernie

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by straightlight » Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:21 pm

Despite the guesses that could be involved, contact the extension developer to resolve this issue.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by IP_CAM » Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:13 am

Well, if could be a simple size value of the Form Window, in some cases
shrinking the visual window to a size, where the Quantity no longer can
be seen. I usually change this line in the ...theme/template/checkout/cart.tpl file
from:

Code: Select all

<div class="input-group btn-block" style="max-width: 200px;">
to:

Code: Select all

<div class="input-group btn-block" style="min-width:150px; max-width: 200px;">
to avoid this potential problem. There are more complex matters,
handled here, without the need to always contact the Creator...
Ernie

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by jmk13c » Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:29 am

IP_CAM wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:38 pm
Well, better add a link to the shop, so someone can see, how it looks,
and if only some mis-alignement prevents the Fields from displaying correctly.
Anything else would only be esoteric guessing...
Ernie
Sorry about that, i thought i included it. but here ya go
https://www.safetyvest.com/

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:10 am

Post by IP_CAM » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:19 am

Well, in your .../wide2/template/checkout/cart.tpl
File, the fellows have made sure, that this function will not be visible, since it's additional
width requirement would have influenced visibility in a negative way on smaller
Screen Resolutions, on that very nice, but OLD STYLE made responsive Theme. ;)

On your Cart Page, the HTML Page Source, as shown in a Browser, looks like this:

Code: Select all

<td class="quantity">4<!--<input type="text" name="quantity[260]" value="4" size="1" />-->
and as you can see, that FORM FIELD Code Line is embedded in <!-- ....... --> HIDING Command Tags, kind of! :D
And this is, how it looks in v.1.5.6.x Default Code, to show the editable QTY-form-field. plus the REFRESH Button:

Code: Select all

<td class="quantity"><input type="text" name="quantity[<?php echo $product['key']; ?>]" value="<?php echo $product['quantity']; ?>" size="1" />
             &nbsp;
             <input type="image" src="catalog/view/theme/default/image/update.png" alt="<?php echo $button_update; ?>" title="<?php echo $button_update; ?>" />
             &nbsp;<a href="<?php echo $product['remove']; ?>"><img src="catalog/view/theme/default/image/remove.png" alt="<?php echo $button_remove; ?>" title="<?php echo $button_remove; ?>" /></a></td>
and this is how it looks in a responsive Bootstrap Theme File:

Code: Select all

<td class="quantity">
            <input type="text" name="quantity[<?php echo $product['key']; ?>]" value="<?php echo $product['quantity']; ?>" size="1" />
            <div class="btn-group">
                <button class="btn btn-info" alt="<?php echo $button_update; ?>" title="<?php echo $button_update; ?>"><span class="glyphicon glyphicon-refresh"></span></button>
                <a class="btn btn-danger" href="<?php echo $product['remove']; ?>"><span class="glyphicon glyphicon-remove"></span></a>
            </div>
        </td>
So just look for any other instance of <!-- and --> on that CART.TPL file,
to find and solve your problem. Possibly at least, because if the Creator also removed the
auto-update Script Routine, usually placed in the bottom Section, then, it would not work.
But I am not a J-Scripter, so I cannot say, if it still exists.

Good Luck! ;)
Ernie

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by jmk13c » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:05 am

thank you so much

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:10 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 329 guests