Post by musicofthehart » Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:04 pm

I am using opencart v1.4.8b

Can anyone tell me how to increase the character limit on reviews? The current cap is at 1000.

I tried to change the code in food\admin\controller\catalog\review.php

I edited the lines
Line 480: if ((strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 25) || (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) > 1000)) {

Line 484: if ((strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 25) || (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) > 1000)) {

By increasing the "1000" entry, but that didnt work.
I am guessing that I need to change something in the mysql database? Can anyone help me with this step?

Will it break anything if I want to increase it to say... 6 or 7k?

Thanks for any help

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:42 pm

Post by JAY6390 » Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:50 pm

From what I can tell the reviews don't have a limit to them (in the front end anyway)
As for the back end you will need to remove the second one of those as it's a duplicate line that shouldnt be there. It should be

Code: Select all

        if ((strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 25) || (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) > 1000)) {
            $this->error['text'] = $this->language->get('error_text');
        } 
On it's own. You will then need to change the 1000 to whatever you want. I think the max a text field will hold is aroud 65535 characters which is well above your limit you want (the field is a TEXT field type and as such doesn't have a length attribute to set constraints on it)

ImageImageImage

SEO MEGA KIT PLUS - Get your site ranking higher in the search engines
Better Product SEO URL's - Perfectly structured product links
SEO URL's Route Editor PRO - Make ANY url on your site have clean keywords - even third party extensions (remove index.php)


Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location - United Kingdom

Post by musicofthehart » Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:46 pm

Thanks for your help. I followed your instructions and removed the duplicate entry, and changed the "1000" to "17000" but I still receive the error

Error: Review Text must be between 25 and 1000 characters!

I am definitely under "17000" characters.
There has to be a setting or a bit of code somewhere that I am missing. Have any other ideas?

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:42 pm

Post by Qphoria » Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:04 pm

a bit ridiculous to force the admin to have any type of min or max. I'll change to:

Code: Select all

if (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 1) {
            $this->error['text'] = $this->language->get('error_text');
        }
 
in the next version

OpenCart 2.0.x Mod Update Info

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by musicofthehart » Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:46 pm

That worked Qphoria. For anyone else that may be looking to do the same thing, I had to change the fields in

\admin\controller\catalog\review.php
AND
\catalog\controller\product\product.php

and replace to the code that Qphoria provided.

Qphoria you are my coding God, and I worship you... a little.

New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:42 pm

Post by Qphoria » Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:51 pm

It still be good to leave that check on the catalog side. At least the min check to prevent smacktards from posting reviews like "balls!!!!!".

OpenCart 2.0.x Mod Update Info

Image
Donate!|OpenCart Basics|GeoZones
Image


User avatar
Administrator

Posts

Joined
Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:02 am

Post by SteveSherry » Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:55 pm

Could all of the limits not be set in the admin side, maybe as part of localisation?

My Website ¦ Summer Madness Special Offer ¦


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:47 am
Location - Wirral, UK

Post by barnesnet » Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:12 am

Trying to increase the review text limit on 1.4.9.1 but not having any luck. None of the above appears 100% relevant to the newer version.

Any help appreciated

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:18 am


Post by fatpora » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:03 am

This didnt work for me, i keep getting the error and did above. Keeps saying i need between 3 - 64 characters and i type more than 3 all the time, i have tried with symbols, with numbers etc nothing working ....

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm

Post by x2p » Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:35 pm

any can help, didnt work

x2p
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:16 pm

Post by OCMaster597 » Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:58 am

Here's how to do it and it works this way 100%.
-------------------------------------------------------
Find this file:
\admin\controller\catalog\review.php
AND
\catalog\controller\product\product.php
-------------------------------------------------------
In this file once you have it open> review.php
Search for: error_text
Replace the entire line of code in that file with (and save):
if (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 1) {
$this->error['text'] = $this->language->get('error_text');
}

NEXT

In this file once you have it open> product.php
Search again for: error_text
Once you find the 'error-text' part of the code
Change '1000' to '5000' and save

That's it.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:53 am

Post by Burt65 » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:53 am

OCMaster597 wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:58 am
Here's how to do it and it works this way 100%.
-------------------------------------------------------
Find this file:
\admin\controller\catalog\review.php
AND
\catalog\controller\product\product.php
-------------------------------------------------------
In this file once you have it open> review.php
Search for: error_text
Replace the entire line of code in that file with (and save):
if (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 1) {
$this->error['text'] = $this->language->get('error_text');
}

NEXT

In this file once you have it open> product.php
Search again for: error_text
Once you find the 'error-text' part of the code
Change '1000' to '5000' and save

That's it.
In future you may want to check the date of the previous post before reply to it.... :D This question was asked in 2012...

Over 95% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair...


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:23 pm
Location - Oz

Post by OCMaster597 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:08 am

Burt65 wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:53 am
OCMaster597 wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:58 am
Here's how to do it and it works this way 100%.
-------------------------------------------------------
Find this file:
\admin\controller\catalog\review.php
AND
\catalog\controller\product\product.php
-------------------------------------------------------
In this file once you have it open> review.php
Search for: error_text
Replace the entire line of code in that file with (and save):
if (strlen(utf8_decode($this->request->post['text'])) < 1) {
$this->error['text'] = $this->language->get('error_text');
}

NEXT

In this file once you have it open> product.php
Search again for: error_text
Once you find the 'error-text' part of the code
Change '1000' to '5000' and save

That's it.
In future you may want to check the date of the previous post before reply to it.... :D This question was asked in 2012...


The question was unsolved, there are still people looking for this to work and no one stepped up to give a solid answer, so i did. But thanks for your post anyways.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:53 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests