Post by DannyG » Tue Jul 03, 2018 10:25 am

I recently installed 3.0.2 fresh and everything works as it should for a new install.

I imported my old database tables over the top of the new install database using phpmyadmin.

Everything appears to be in the tables as you would expect (all my existing customers, orders etc etc) but in the fresh installs admin nothing is showing, it is still just a fresh install.

Why is that? Am I missing something here?

I tried to point my new install to my old database but it didnt like that at all.

Thanks for any help.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:29 pm

Post by DannyG » Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:06 am

Just to clarify something. My old database is using a different prefix so thats why the new install wasnt seeing it.

However if I point the new install to use the proper prefix it simply doesnt work. Is the old database even compatible with the latest version?

Am I going to have to do a lot of manual editing to my new database to get the old information in there? Seems a bit clunky if that is the case?

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:29 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:27 am

Seems a bit clunky if that is the case?
You're right, it is a bit funny, to get something new, but expect it to be,
look, and work the same as the old one did. ::) But unfortunately, life
is not quite that easy! :-\
Ernie

For Sale: Top URL's, including an OpenCart V-Pro Shop!
A wide range of matching Designs can be seen here: http://www.opencart.li
For Information on URL's offered, please contact me at: jti@jacob.ch
Hundreds of Mods in 380+ Repositories for OC v.1.5.x - v.2.3.x
to be found on my Github Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
Image


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by DannyG » Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:32 am

IP_CAM wrote:
Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:27 am
You're right, it is a bit funny, to get something new, but expect it to be,
look, and work the same as the old one did. ::) But unfortunately, life
is not quite that easy! :-\
Ernie
I agree and I certainly do not expect the fresh install to work as the old one did without some time spent, but thanks for the life lesson ;) .

So are you telling me that the database is not compatible at all? Am I able to import some of the old data at all in some way?

Thanks for any help in getting this sorted.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:29 pm

Post by kestas » Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:25 pm

I think the best way to not ruin your online shop is ask for the help in the commercial support section.

Cheers

Custom OpenCart modules and solutions. Just PM me... Extensions you can find here and here


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:23 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests