Post by swguy » Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:57 am

I have a vqMod for the file admin/controller/common/column_left.php. It worked fine in 2.3, and the line of code it is searching for is still there. When I paste the change into the file admin/controller/common/column_left.php, but the vqMod doesn't work by itself.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<modification>
   <id>Install mod</id>
   <version>1.2</version>
   <vqmver>2.6.0</vqmver>
        <file name="admin/controller/common/column_left.php">
                <operation error="log" info="Show Menu Item">
                        <search position="before"><![CDATA[
      if ($catalog) {
                        ]]></search>
                        <add><![CDATA[
... some code ... 
                        ]]></add>
                </operation>
        </file>
</modification>
What's wrong?

Better Together: Buy one product, get another at a discount.
Discount Chooser: Buy a group of products, get another group at a discount.


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:13 am

Post by straightlight » Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:41 am

What's wrong?
No OC version posted.
... some code ...
is not very explicit on what you're trying to do exactly. In addition, I would suggest to use the VQMod Manager to track the source of the errors whenever an XML file is not executed with VQMod.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by swguy » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:21 am

Version is 3.0.2.0.
Is vQMod manager a mod? Link?

Better Together: Buy one product, get another at a discount.
Discount Chooser: Buy a group of products, get another group at a discount.


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:13 am

Post by straightlight » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:49 am

It's a free extension on the marketplace: https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=32203

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by swguy » Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:23 am

What a rookie mistake! The issue was that I had neglected to run the install procedure (http://yoursite.com/vqmod/install). All is well - the same XML that worked in 2.3 works in 3.0 for my change. Thanks for pointing me to the manager - that helped me track it down (since the manager *also* didn't show up - because it uses vQmod!).

Better Together: Buy one product, get another at a discount.
Discount Chooser: Buy a group of products, get another group at a discount.


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:13 am

Post by Sjonnie2017 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:18 am

I don't want to hi-jack this thread but I have an issue with vqmod that might be similar to OP.

Working with OC 3.0.2.0 on a Synology server with Apache 2.2, PHP 5.6 and MariaDB 5

I downloaded latest version on github (2.6.3), unzipped and uploaded to my server (root folder of the site). Set permissions to 777 (for the time being) and went to [my_sites_url]/vqmod/install. The module reported that it had installed without problems. Went to the admin panel -> modifications and refreshed the modules section. It did not appear. Went back to [my_sites_url]/vqmod/install and vqmod stated it had already been installed on my site.

Tried to install vqmod manager as per instructions from @straightlight but the manager also does not show up. I must be missing here something (and I am short of "bright moments" for this year ;) )

Any help greatly appreciated!

EDIT: No entries in the error log

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:26 pm

Post by straightlight » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:36 am

VQMod is NOT OCMod. The modifications you refresh is specifically and only for OCMod. VQMod is a stand-alone third-party library that can still provide your extension to be executed globally throughout the platform based on the route locations from each XML files.

OCMod also centralizes extensions but with the use of the outside location of the public_html folder - > storage/modification folder.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Sjonnie2017 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:43 am

Hmm.. bit confused now but that's probably because I am new. I followed this step by step where this part specifically does not work:
go to extension/extension/module and install
.

I must be doing something wrong but for the life of me....

I need vqmod to use two extensions that are needed to modify the footer and the header. So it would be nice if vqmod manager would be available to manage the extensions

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:26 pm

Post by straightlight » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:45 am

In nowhere in the specified extension page is the refresh button mentioned on the instructions. Although, since your inquiry is about an installed extension, contact the extension developer to resolve this issue.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming.

Regards,
Straightlight


Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Sjonnie2017 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:47 am

Wow! You're fast! ;)

Will contact the developer and do some more research.

Tx!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:26 pm

Post by Sjonnie2017 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:18 am

Well, did some more research and took a leap of faith. The downloaded extension (vqmod manager) has two folders in the main branche (admin and vqmod). Created a zip, uploaded it to the root folder and unpacked. Set permissions right and refreshed the admin panel. There was the extension and after enabling that there was a shortcut in the admin menu. Was a bit scary though ;)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:26 pm

Post by swguy » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:46 pm

Thanks for confirming that all is well.

Better Together: Buy one product, get another at a discount.
Discount Chooser: Buy a group of products, get another group at a discount.


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:13 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests