Post by escrocu » Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:16 pm

Hello fellow Opencart users,

I am new to opencart. I use version 2.0.2.0 with a custom theme (pav_wine from pavothemes). Let's say I have a category called Computers with 2 sub-categories named Laptops and Desktops. When I click the Computers category in the menu I am taken to its page which is blank. I want to see there the Laptops and Desktops categories in a thumbnail with their category image (just like you see the products). How can I do that?

Thank you

Post by cyclops12 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 12:41 am

Try searching the marketplace for subcategory images

Expert Member

Post by ZombieDude666 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:02 am

You'll need to create 3 categories in your admin. "Computers", "Laptops" & "Desktops". Then edit "Laptops", click the data tab and in the "Parent" section, put "Computers". Then do the same for "Desktops". You should now have Computers as your main category and Laptops/Desktops as your subcategory. You can also add an image for the 2 categories on the Data section if you scroll down.

Post by escrocu » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:38 am

ZombieDude666 wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:02 am
You'll need to create 3 categories in your admin. "Computers", "Laptops" & "Desktops". Then edit "Laptops", click the data tab and in the "Parent" section, put "Computers". Then do the same for "Desktops". You should now have Computers as your main category and Laptops/Desktops as your subcategory. You can also add an image for the 2 categories on the Data section if you scroll down.
I know that much. And this is what I did. But if you click on Computers you are taken to an empty page (the page that holds the description field front the General tab of the category. I want to display the subcategories on columns with their image (like the products are displayed).

Post by IP_CAM » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:03 am

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM