Post by drebosio » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:33 am

Hi all,

So we are on OC 2.3.0.2 and i wanted to know if it's possible to take my site and create a replica of it on a new url.

I know i can copy the files via ftp, but what i'm not sure of is how the database works.

I plan on using my site exactly as it is, just at a new url and reskin it but is this possible?

Once i copy over all the files, can one db be used on 2 diff sites?

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:51 am

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:32 am

Well, this depends, if you have the other Site hosted by the same Hoster, and
if you are able to MANAGE both Sites from the same Host Admin Panel, then,
you have to create another DB, and copy the entire Content of the existing Shop
Database into the newly created and still empty Shop2 Database, as shown on
the image below.

Also clean out all your CACHE Directories, including the entire
system/extension/modification/...
Section. I would also clean out the image/ CACHE Sections,
to make the transfer a little faster. Also, VqMod Cache Files
should also be removed, if VqMod exists.

And if you want to make REAL sure, you could de-install all your OcMod DB-placed
Extensions, because some of them could eventually contain HARD CODED Links to your
Site, and so no longer function in another Setup. You can always re-install them again after.

Then, upload the entire Content, after rewriting the config.php Files, and eventually changing
the REWRITE ENGINE Shopdirectory Name in the .htacess file, and call the new Shop and
Admin Section, to re-install/re-activate formerly de-activated Module and OcMods.
And if you have VqMod as well, initialize it also again by calling
http: yourshop/shop/vqmod/install/index.php
---
But if you moved your Shop to another Hoster, then, you need to download a FULL COPY of
your existing Database, downloaded by use of the HOST Built-in SQL-Manager, INCLUDING
all Tables and everything, not only the Data, as done by the default ADMIN Backup-Function.
And you have to re-import this DB into a clean new DB on your New Server.
Everything else, as mentioned above, should be done the same way.
Good Luck ;)
Ernie
---

Attachments

copy_database.png

copy_database.png (425.29 KiB) Viewed 304 times


For Sale: Top URL's, including an OpenCart V-Pro Shop!
A wide range of matching Designs can be seen here: http://www.opencart.li
For Information on URL's offered, please contact me at: jti@jacob.ch
Hundreds of Mods in 380+ Repositories for OC v.1.5.x - v.2.3.x
to be found on my Github Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
Image


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by drebosio » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:00 am

Thanks for this Ernie!

Very much appreciate your detailed instructions.

Will see if i can manage this, or if i need to reach out to someone as it may be beyond my knowledge :)

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:51 am

Post by IP_CAM » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:12 am

Well, it's not as complicated as it sounds, it basically only means,to
better SWITCH OFF everything, added before, in order to 'reach' a kind
of DEFAULT Software Status and Setting again, before getting it to work
in another place and/or environment again.

It's not required, and I don't do it either, but only, to find out, what else needs
to be changed/modified, to possibly avoid any such problems in the next Upload.
But I also did it a few hundred times already, in contrary to you, so, it's better, to
invest a little time ahead, to possibly save it later, by trying to find out... :choke:
Good Luck! ;)
Ernie

For Sale: Top URL's, including an OpenCart V-Pro Shop!
A wide range of matching Designs can be seen here: http://www.opencart.li
For Information on URL's offered, please contact me at: jti@jacob.ch
Hundreds of Mods in 380+ Repositories for OC v.1.5.x - v.2.3.x
to be found on my Github Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
Image


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by victorj » Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:14 am

if you want 2 websites on 1 single database, you should use multistore for that.
if you have hosting on cpanel its stupid easy to do.

Koeltechnische deurrubbers eenvoudig online op maat bestellen.
Alle niet stekplichtige onderdelen zoals scharnieren, sloten, randverwarming en verlichting voor alle typen koelingen en vriezers.
https://koelcel-onderdelen.com

Koeltechnische deurrubbers eenvoudig online op maat bestellen.
Eigen productie en snelle levering.
https://123-deurrubbers.com


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:09 am
Location - Alkmaar Holland
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 80 guests