Post by Boppe » Thu May 18, 2017 10:17 pm

OC 2.3.0.2
Yesterday I changed some text and images on my site. Today I noticed 19 error messages in the error log, all the same.

I've been RTFF trying to understand the meaning of the message, but I don't get it.

The message is: 2017-05-16 19:38:48 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: placeholder in /storage/content/65/xxxxxx/mysite.com/public_html/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-system_storage_modification_admin_view_template_catalog_information_form.tpl on line 121

When I look at line 121 it looks like this: <div class="col-sm-10"><a href="" id="thumb-background-image" data-toggle="image" class="img-thumbnail"><img src="<?php echo $background_image; ?>" alt="" title="" data-placeholder="<?php echo $placeholder; ?>" /></a>

What does this message mean, and is there a way to solve it?

Can I delete the content of vqcache?

Thanks!
Last edited by Boppe on Wed May 24, 2017 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Fri May 19, 2017 12:30 am

Well before you get too far into looking for this problem i would empty your vqmod/vqcache folder as this could be an old error that has already been fixed.
Then click refresh in extensions/modifications and try your site again.
If the error reappears then you will need to start looking into it.

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Fri May 19, 2017 1:16 am

cyclops12 wrote:
Fri May 19, 2017 12:30 am
Well before you get too far into looking for this problem i would empty your vqmod/vqcache folder as this could be an old error that has already been fixed.
Then click refresh in extensions/modifications and try your site again.
If the error reappears then you will need to start looking into it.
Thanks, cyclops12.
I've emptied the vqcache and lets see if the error turns up again.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by Boppe » Fri May 19, 2017 1:52 pm

Yesterday I emptied vqmod/vqcache. Did a refresh.
This morning I worked with the site and the same error message appears in the error log a dozen of times this far:
2017-05-19 7:45:27 - PHP Notice: Undefined variable: placeholder in /storage/content/65/XXXXXXX/mysite.com/public_html/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-system_storage_modification_admin_view_template_catalog_information_form.tpl on line 121

I still can't figure out the meaning of the error message.

cyclops12 or anybody else have a clue about the error message?

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Fri May 19, 2017 2:24 pm

Well this looks like a vqmod you have installed that is altering the information_form.tpl but not setting the variable properly in thr controller file.
Is this vqmod compatible with your version of oc?

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Fri May 19, 2017 2:40 pm

cyclops12 wrote:
Fri May 19, 2017 2:24 pm
Well this looks like a vqmod you have installed that is altering the information_form.tpl but not setting the variable properly in thr controller file.
Is this vqmod compatible with your version of oc?
In October last year i made a clean install of OC 2.3.0.2. I only installed vqmods working on version 2.3.0.2.
I've made no new install of vqmods the last 4 months and this error messages started just 2 days ago.

The error occurs when I edit the information pages.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Fri May 19, 2017 10:54 pm

Well then it depends on what you are trying to do to the .tpl file

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Fri May 19, 2017 11:31 pm

cyclops12 wrote:
Fri May 19, 2017 10:54 pm
Well then it depends on what you are trying to do to the .tpl file
The only thing I've done is changing some text in the information pages.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Sat May 20, 2017 12:33 am

Boppe wrote:
Fri May 19, 2017 11:31 pm
The only thing I've done is changing some text in the information pages.
That doesnt really help anyone help you......
What EXACTLY are you doing

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Sat May 20, 2017 3:21 am

cyclops12 wrote:
Sat May 20, 2017 12:33 am
Boppe wrote:
Fri May 19, 2017 11:31 pm
The only thing I've done is changing some text in the information pages.
That doesnt really help anyone help you......
What EXACTLY are you doing
OK, I've edit pages like Delivery Information, About us, Terms & Conditions and some other information pages.
I've made changes to text in Titles, Descriptions, Meta Tag Description.

After those changes the error message turns up. ???

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by Boppe » Sun May 21, 2017 8:46 pm

cyclops12 wrote:
Sat May 20, 2017 12:33 am
Boppe wrote:
Fri May 19, 2017 11:31 pm
The only thing I've done is changing some text in the information pages.
That doesnt really help anyone help you......
What EXACTLY are you doing
To be more precise what I EXACTLY do to get the message.
I enter in a information file e.g Delivery Information and do a change in a text. It's enough I add one letter and the error message turns up:
PHP Notice: Undefined variable: placeholder in /storage/content/65/xxxxxx/mysite.com/public_html/vqmod/vqcache/vq2-system_storage_modification_admin_view_template_catalog_information_form.tpl on line 121

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Sun May 21, 2017 9:33 pm

If you are trying to change the text of "Information Title" for example then you should be editing the language files

hope this helps

Attachments

Title.JPG

Title.JPG (53.27 KiB) Viewed 461 times


Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Sun May 21, 2017 9:37 pm

cyclops12 wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 9:33 pm
If you are trying to change the text of "Information Title" for example then you should be editing the language files

hope this helps
That's not what I'm doing. I only edit text in the text fields. Just adding information in the proper fields.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Sun May 21, 2017 9:49 pm

Sorry i cannot replicate the error when adding any information into the text fields in admin catalog information then editing Delivery Information.
I take it you are changing the texts in admin and not in the actual files ?

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Sun May 21, 2017 10:08 pm

cyclops12 wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 9:49 pm
Sorry i cannot replicate the error when adding any information into the text fields in admin catalog information then editing Delivery Information.
I take it you are changing the texts in admin and not in the actual files ?
Yes, that's right, text in the admin and not in the actual files. I've not been messing with codes, just added information.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Sun May 21, 2017 11:21 pm

Boppe wrote:
Thu May 18, 2017 10:17 pm
When I look at line 121 it looks like this: <div class="col-sm-10"><a href="" id="thumb-background-image" data-toggle="image" class="img-thumbnail"><img src="<?php echo $background_image; ?>" alt="" title="" data-placeholder="<?php echo $placeholder; ?>" /></a>
Are you sure you have no mods installed that are altering the code of information_form.tpl as the above code is not default code in any information_form.tpl files as far as i can see

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am

Post by Boppe » Sun May 21, 2017 11:56 pm

cyclops12 wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 11:21 pm
Boppe wrote:
Thu May 18, 2017 10:17 pm
When I look at line 121 it looks like this: <div class="col-sm-10"><a href="" id="thumb-background-image" data-toggle="image" class="img-thumbnail"><img src="<?php echo $background_image; ?>" alt="" title="" data-placeholder="<?php echo $placeholder; ?>" /></a>
Are you sure you have no mods installed that are altering the code of information_form.tpl as the above code is not default code in any information_form.tpl files as far as i can see
Thanks cyclops12 for helping out.

I have an extension called "Selected information pages, links in top menu-Many combinations."
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=17575
I don't know if this extension effects the information_form.tpl. I've tried, without success to get in contact with the developer.
I tried disabling this extension, made a small change in information (admin), but the same error message turned up.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by Boppe » Wed May 24, 2017 7:32 pm

Problem solved.

Nobody except cyclops12 were interested in helping out so propably nobody else might be interested to know what caused the error message? (Btw, in general it seems to be the norm in this forum that helping noobs are only interesting when there is a chance for the developer to sell his extensions.) Anyway, it might be helpful to other noobs, what caused the error message was a extension called Background Image Change. The developer of the extension fixed the problem so now that error is history.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:09 pm

Post by cyclops12 » Wed May 24, 2017 7:59 pm

Glad you evetually got it sorted out and well done to the developer for assisting in getting this matter resolved.
Happy selling 😁

Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:10 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests