Post by stevemills » Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:36 am

The pulldown menu has options I would like to remove. Where can I edit this? I don't find it under any layout option.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:19 am

Post by Selective555 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:28 am

In your Admin panel, in the menu to the left, go to

Catalog > Catagory

There you can edit, delete, and create Categories and Subcategories.

Only the ones with the option "Top" selected, in the "Data" tab, will appear in the main menu on the shop.

Categories are seen on the main menu bar, while Subcategories are seen in the drop down menu from that main menu bar.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:29 pm

Post by stevemills » Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:47 am

No, I'm talking about the box that appears on category pages. It just says "Sort by:", and has a pull-down menu. including Default, Name, Price, Rating and Model. I can't find a way to edit these options, or even to eliminate that pull-down.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:19 am

Post by Selective555 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:51 am

Oh....

You can just disable that whole thing.

In your Admin panel, go to

Extensions > Modules

In your Module list, look for "Category", then click the red button next to it that says "UNINSTALL"

You can then Install it later if you want to mess with it again later.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:29 pm

Post by fido-x » Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:00 am

In the category template file (catalog/view/theme/default/template/product/category.tpl), you will find the following block of code at around lines 74 to 77:

Code: Select all

<div class="col-md-2 text-right">
  <label class="control-label" for="input-sort"><?php echo $text_sort; ?></label>
</div>
<div class="col-md-3 text-right">
  <select id="input-sort" class="form-control" onchange="location = this.value;">
    <?php foreach ($sorts as $sorts) { ?>
    <?php if ($sorts['value'] == $sort . '-' . $order) { ?>
    <option value="<?php echo $sorts['href']; ?>" selected="selected"><?php echo $sorts['text']; ?></option>
    <?php } else { ?>
    <option value="<?php echo $sorts['href']; ?>"><?php echo $sorts['text']; ?></option>
    <?php } ?>
    <?php } ?>
  </select>
</div>
Either remove it or comment it out.

Image
Modules for OpenCart 2.3.0.2
Homepage Module [Free - since OpenCart 0.7.7]
Multistore Extensions
Store Manager Multi-Vendor/Multi-Store management tool

If you're not living on the edge ... you're taking up too much space!


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:09 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by stevemills » Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:15 am

fido-x,

I did just that. On my first attempt (!) it went away, but the result was a slightly jumbled set of boxes for my items. The rows were disordered. That was because the grid/row/compare thing was still there. With that edited out, now it defaults to a list. That's fine. Thanks!
Last edited by stevemills on Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:19 am

Post by fido-x » Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:24 am

OK, put the following lines in place of what you took out:

Code: Select all

<div class="col-md-2 text-right"></div>
<div class="col-md-3 text-right"></div>

Image
Modules for OpenCart 2.3.0.2
Homepage Module [Free - since OpenCart 0.7.7]
Multistore Extensions
Store Manager Multi-Vendor/Multi-Store management tool

If you're not living on the edge ... you're taking up too much space!


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:09 am
Location - Tasmania, Australia

Post by stevemills » Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:29 am

fido-x wrote:OK, put the following lines in place of what you took out:

Code: Select all

<div class="col-md-2 text-right"></div>
<div class="col-md-3 text-right"></div>
That still leaves the list/grid thing gumming up alignment. Can I insert those lines below it, too?


edit.... I found the right text, it was above. Edited out the grid/list option and the choice for how many listings to a page, now it defaults to a list of 15. That is just fine.

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:19 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 340 guests