Post by lunja » Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:04 am

thanx for answ :) i love this community!
hm, i will actually try to use both methods... :) :crazy:

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:15 am

Post by thysm00 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:17 am

Another quick tip, if you have vQmod extensions, don't forget to change all of the occurences of admin to the new name ;) otherwise they won't show up.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:53 am

Post by dialdin » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:12 am

Changing the folder name, adding .htaccess/.htpasswd, AND adding a false admin folder also with the .htaccess and .htpasswd works for me... but don't forget to update your robots.txt to disallow your new admin folder too!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:22 am

Post by uksitebuilder » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:42 am

you should not put your admn folder name in your robots.txt file

It will probably be one of the first files a kiddie hacker will look to see what to attack

ImageImageImageImageImage

For Friendly Professional Support - Click Here


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:37 pm
Location - United Kindgom

Post by Marcopolo » Fri May 18, 2012 4:42 pm

Hello guys, i have installed vqmod too , so what i need to modify to rename/ protect my admin folder?
thanks in advance

my version is 1.5.2.1


best regards
Marco

i solved, i didn't modified on admin folder config.php

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:42 pm
Location - Brasov

Post by indy0077 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:35 pm

iHandler wrote:I think you can set "Password Protected" area for the admin login. You can do it in cPanel.

1st Login - Password Protected area
*Username & Password can be saved so next time you entry the site.

2nd Login - http://www.yoursite.com/store/admin/index.php

Personally, I like this way since you don't need to rename the original folder, even if you rename to another folder, the "hacker" can use "scan script" to scan which one the admin folder is.
This doesn't work - I get an error (it appears in the front area skin) "The page you requested cannot be found!"

OpenCart Hosting - SSL Certificates - VPS Servers - http://www.martfox.com


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:01 pm

Post by Antoni4 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:52 am

What about changing define('HTTP_ADMIN', 'http://yoursite.com/admin/'); in the main .config file? Does this affect anything?

"EDIT: in version 1.5.6 this line of code is no longer present in main .config file."
Last edited by Antoni4 on Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 29, 2012 7:03 am

Post by futureclient » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:18 pm

Hi,

I read in the opencart instructions to modify the admin file to something else which I have done. Also change the config files and VQMOD.

I have other extensions which when you upload during ftp. the files and code assume the folder is still called admin. So before you upload any files such as these do you need to rename them accordingly. Seems like hell of a long winded process changing the admin folder.

Cheers.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:09 pm

Post by femo » Mon Oct 14, 2013 5:42 pm

babaloo wrote:to change the admin name go to config.php in admin and change the name "admin":

// HTTP
define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://localhost/upload129/HERE/');
define('HTTP_CATALOG', 'http://localhost/upload129/');
define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://localhost/upload129/image/');

// HTTPS
define('HTTPS_SERVER', '');
define('HTTPS_IMAGE', '');

// DIR
define('DIR_APPLICATION', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/HERE/');
define('DIR_SYSTEM', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/system/');
define('DIR_DATABASE', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/system/database/');
define('DIR_LANGUAGE', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/HERE/language/');
define('DIR_TEMPLATE', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/HERE/view/template/');
define('DIR_CONFIG', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/system/config/');
define('DIR_IMAGE', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/image/');
define('DIR_CACHE', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/cache/');
define('DIR_DOWNLOAD', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/download/');
define('DIR_CATALOG', 'C:\wamp\www\upload129/catalog/');


and if you want you can still change the .htaccess
This works,
Thanks for the clear tutorial

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:36 am

Post by jgsw » Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:02 pm

thysm00 wrote:Another quick tip, if you have vQmod extensions, don't forget to change all of the occurences of admin to the new name ;) otherwise they won't show up.
Just a heads up, it is no longer necessary to edit each of your vQmod files to replace all occurrences of 'admin'.

In newer versions of vQmod just open up vqmod/pathReplaces.php and add something like this to the end of the file. Where 'admin123' is your new admin folder... don't use admin123 ;)

Code: Select all

// START REPLACES //

$replaces[] = array('~^admin\b~', 'admin123');

// END REPLACES //
jgsw

Quick Edit Admin Panel (40% off!) - CSS Unique (only $10!)
Sticky Admin Menu (Free) - Add Scripts & Styles to head (Free)


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:13 am

Post by cdpritchard » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:53 am

I'm new to OpenCart and saw in the documentation to change the admin folder name ( http://docs.opencart.com/display/openca ... +interface ). It states:
Changing the name of the admin folder to another name is important for improving an online shop's security. The config.php file needs to be edited to indicate the correct file path and location.
I don't see any mention of the admin folder in either config file. Am I missing something or is this documentation simply incorrect?

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:01 am


Post by OSWorX » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:00 pm

cdpritchard wrote:I'm new to OpenCart and saw in the documentation to change the admin folder name ( http://docs.opencart.com/display/openca ... +interface ). It states:
Changing the name of the admin folder to another name is important for improving an online shop's security. The config.php file needs to be edited to indicate the correct file path and location.
I don't see any mention of the admin folder in either config file. Am I missing something or is this documentation simply incorrect?
And what about these 3 (admin/config.php):

Code: Select all

define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://yourshop/admin/');
define('HTTP_CATALOG', 'http://yourshop');

// HTTPS
define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'http://yourshop/admin/');
define('HTTPS_CATALOG', 'http://yourshop');

// DIR
define('DIR_APPLICATION', 'some/root/admin/');

Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by cdpritchard » Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:14 am

Ah, thanks! It's working now.

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:01 am


Post by saltiestcracker » Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:49 am

As a extra tip after that, it is good to make new catalog, called admin (empty), and put there 2 files:

.htaccess

Code: Select all
AuthUserFile /home/user/opencart/admin/.htpasswd
AuthGroupFile /dev/null
AuthName "Username:"
AuthType Basic

<limit GET POST>
require valid-user
</limit>


And second,
.htpasswd (empty)

Code: Select all



Nice litle suprise for hacker. While he try hack empty folder ur real admin catalog is by still safe, bicouse he dont looking for it ;-]
How can we create an isolated fake version of the original admin log-in page with crippled functionality as described here?


Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:38 am

Post by sweet.p » Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:41 am

Hi

I changed my admin folder and the config file using the instructions but I get the errors:

Code: Select all

/home/store/public_html/Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/store/public_html/StoreManager/config.php:1) in /home/store/public_html/system/library/session.php on line 21Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/store/public_html/StoreManager/config.php:1) in /home/store/public_html/system/library/session.php on line 21
When i login i get the following:

Code: Select all

/home/store/public_html/Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/store/public_html/StoreManager/config.php:1) in /home/store/public_html/system/library/session.php on line 21Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/store/public_html/StoreManager/config.php:1) in /home/store/public_html/system/library/session.php on line 21Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/store/public_html/StoreManager/config.php:1) in /home/store/public_html/system/library/response.php on line 12
I am using the latest version of opencart.

??? Please help!!!!!!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:12 am

Post by OSWorX » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:00 am

sweet.p wrote:Hi

I changed my admin folder and the config file using the instructions but I get the errors:
..
As it reads, you have made an error while storing the config.php, because it sends something ..
Guess you stored the file with BOM.

Which editor have you used?

Image


User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by chrisnasah » Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:33 am

hi all

need some help when I change the folder name for some reason I cant save changes under settings - store. When I click save it says page cannot be found. I did update the config.php and also updated vqmod.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:32 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests